We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday, great hotel.”
Review of Sandy Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandy Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Agios Georgios
Reviewed 20 June 2011

This holiday was booked last minute so expectations can't be too high - this can lead to a big let down. Arrived at Sandy Beach via a narrow, windy road, wondering where we Would end up - answer, a very pleasant looking hotel. We were greeted by one of the porters, he was very friendly and said hello when he saw us around the complex. Reception very smooth and friendly. We were put in what looks like the older part of the complex in block 3. It was a 2 bedroom apartment, which was very spacious but the furniture was very tired looking. It had a large veranda but sadly not much of a view. There are 2 pools, the one near reception is where the animation team operate, so quite noisy and loads of kids. After 2 days tried other pool which was much quieter and suited us perfectly. The food was excellent but restaurant is often very busy and cramped but did not bother us too much as we feasted on the very varied cuisine offered. Generally great service from waiters, odd exception. The drinks offered on all inclusive were great and included things like Gordons gin. There wasn't much around the hotel but would recommend a walk up the beach to the nearby lake. All in all a great hotel to stay at and would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marksne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis, Head of Marketing- Aquis Hotels and Resorts at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2011

I’m delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations. Thank you for your honest feedback on all the areas you found so satisfying and others that could be improved, it makes us work harder to offer every guest a memorable experience. We look forward to welcome you back in Corfu and the Aquis Sandy Beach Resort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,229 - 2,235 of 3,253 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2011

Good 3* level Hotel with very helpful receptionists. broken shower & tap was fixed within hours. We had a quiet garden room. There is no road close to the hotel, so it is relaxed and optimal for children too. nice beach with windsurfing and kite surfing station nearby. Good buffet (especially the salad and vegetables). Strong drinks, but they did not cause headaches ;-). Friendly and inexpensive car rental directly in the hotel lobby/ parking.

Room Tip: garden room in the new part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank asdfasdfasdf_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis, Head of Marketing- Aquis Hotels and Resorts at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2011

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review and for staying with us at the Aquis Sandy Beach Resort, your feedback, is highly appreciated. We were disheartened to read about the 3* level however your writings are so rewarding that we will not stay on this. Thank you so much for your preference and we look forward to welcome you back soon at any Aquis property in Corfu, Kos, Crete or Rhodes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

This hotel is really big, crowded and our holiday was quite stressfull. There are two pool areas, and the active pool was impossible to stay at. Loud music, screaming anamation team so loud we could barely talk. A shame since we traveld with a small child that liked the childrens pool, located by the active pool area. The realxed pool area was better, ok, nothing speciall, but clean. Beach was nice, but not wonderful. We took a trip to moratihika beach when we coldn´t stand Aquis anymoore, and that was lovely. Nice taverns, wonderful food, and childfriendly but peacful beach.
The room was clean and nice. Staff very friendly and helpful.
Food was ouite tasteless but lots to choose from. A visit to the ala carte restaurant was included for us, but that was just a waste of time. It felt like leftovers form the buffé spiced up with som dried herbs. And forgett about the snackline, it´s a joke, some leftover pasta and drie bread. Breakfast was good.
I would love to return to corfu, but never ever to Aquis sandy beach.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank linacindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis, Head of Marketing at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2011

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your holiday. However, we are of course disappointed as we were not able to offer you unforgettable holiday. We would like to express our deepest apologies for your stay not being satisfactory and while majority of our guests carry back a pleasant holiday experience. We will make sure to pass the compliments about the staff to the appropriate departments and we thank you on their behalf, Aquis Sandy Beach Staff work as a team, and everyone bends over backwards to exceed the expectations.

As correctly mentioned we offer two different pool areas and we are doing our best to provide alternatives according to tastes since having 562 rooms with thousands guests each week, some of them are looking for fun and excitement and others just to relax.

The comments you have raised about the food will be certainly looked at and assure you that all issues are thoroughly addressed internally with our F&B Manager.

We were dishearten to hear that your stay with us was not up to standard, although we are confident that, should you return at an Aquis that best fits your expectations, we will be able to show you why we are building a reputation for exceptional value through our friendly service, quality accommodation and prime location. We will be glad to offer you assistance in finding the right property to best fit your expectations for your holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

All the staff were excellent but a special mention for Maria on reception. The pool is the best we have ever used, and the beach is superb.
The restaurant had a canteen atmosphere and the food was plentiful though certainly not 4 star. The matresses were clearly new but really hard we woke up in pain most days (why do so few hotels seem to realise you spend more of your time with them on their bed than any other part of the premises).
If you go, notwithstanding it is all inclusive, have a couple of meals at local restaurants, they are excellent. For about 30 euros you can have 2 courses of local fresh food traditionally cooked with a couple of beers in a stunning clifftop location.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Demelza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis, Head of Marketing- Aquis Hotels and Resorts at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2011

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for taking the time to place your comments regarding your recent stay at the Aquis Sandy Beach.

We were delighted to hear that our pool was the best you have ever used and we were also happy to read that you found the beach superb. We appreciate much your positive comments about our staff and specially Maria which had been shared wit them ; they are a real credit to the Hotel however we were really sorry to hear that the new mattresses were not of your preference and that you would prefer more food variety in restaurant, rest assured that both comments are well noted.

Thank you once more for your review and we certainly hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again in any of our properties in Corfu, Crete, Kos or Rhodes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

This was our first holiday abroad as a family of four, and our first experience of all-inclusive and it did not disappoint. We have an 8 year old and a 3 year old, so it was important that the kids had fun because then we could relax. The standard of accomodation was very good - almost excellent, except the fancy shower didn't work - only the moveable shower and we had to ask for a replacement shower head for that. The rooms and beds were spacious and we had a wonderful balcony that looked out over the nature reserve. One other niggle here - in the block we were in the hotel took the lift out of action part way through the week. It hadn't broken down - they literally boarded over the doors???
The food was great for me and my partner. I'm a veggie who occassionally eats fish, if necessary, but no need here. Having read previous reviews I was a little concerned about what I would be able to eat but it would appear they have taken the comments on board. My partner is a full on meat man and he was over the moon with the range of dishes, including rabbit (yuck!). My kids were a little less happy. They loved the pancakes for breakfast but a lot of the food is in sauce which they didn't really fancy but there was enough there for them to never go hungry. The greek yoghurt and honey are sublime - I wasn't a fan of yoghurt and positively hated honey but I have been converted! If there was one thing I would change - it is the milk, it's all UHT. And when you get a cup of tea at the beach or pool bar they only really have the coffee creme type stuff.
The pools are wonderful. They appear to be cleaned every day so no worries there. When we went (half term) there was no problem getting a sun lounger by the pool/ Not that I needed it much - spent most of my time in the glorious pool! My 3 year old loved the baby pool which is 50cm deep (about 2 feet).
The beach is lovely too. It is all sandy and lovely to play on and the sea is just to die for. It was so warm and clear.
One tip - make sure you take or buy a pair of flip-flops or crocs with you as the decking around the pool and the sand gets so hot you can burn your feet in a matter of seconds!
Onto the entertainment there are 3 childrens club, one German, one Scandanavian and one British (staffed by Italians) but all the reps spoke English. I did notice that the German club did things like painiting t-shirts which didn't appear to be on offer in the British club. My son prefers to do more sports so he really wanted to join in with the adult activities. The playground is just behind the active pool (as opposed to the quiet pool where there are no organised activities) it's quite small but my daughter was more than content in there.
Evening entertainment is quite limited - there is a short kids disco at 8pm and then the reps put on some sort of entertainment at 9.30 normally for half an hour or so. After that there is very little else to do on the site, a few games- air hockey, table tennis,etc, but the local bars are not far from the resort (go out the beach gates and turn left - just a couple of hundred yards along you will find the bars). This didn't matter to us as we had to put the kids to bed and they were usually ready for bed by 10pm.
All in all we had a great time and would definitely recommend - thinking of trying one of the other Aquis resorts next.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diandjace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis, Head of Marketing- Aquis Hotels and Resorts at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2011

Thank you for taking the time to fill such detailed comments on your recent stay at the Aquis Sandy Beach Resort.

We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed so many aspects of your holiday and overall had a great time during your stay with us. It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service.

We are thrilled to hear that we will have the pleasure of being your hotel chain of choice on your next holiday, please do contact us to find the most appropriate choice for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

A well-run hotel next to a great sandy beach beach, ideal if you like relaxing holidays on a beautiful island. We stayed here two years running in early May and enjoyed good weather both times. Don't be put off by the flotsom further along the beach, it is just what's washed-up on the winter tides. The hotel clear the beach in front of the hotel which is good but we liked to walk further round the bay where it's possible to enjoy a range of watersports and if you continue further round it's possible to imagine yourselves on a desert island! On one of the days this year we never saw another person all day on the far side of the bay just past the point. I have worked in the travel industry for many years and the maître d, George Varelis, is the best I have come across around the world. Georges's team are well-organised, warm and friendly which is no doubt George's influence as that describes him too. We liked the friendly supervisors and waiters and waitresses in the restaurant and they speak good English. We also liked Dawn, an English lady who was our rep last year and is now part of the hotel's team and doing a great job. There is a wide choice of food with a different range of choices each day and a great salad bar. We enjoyed hiring a speedboat for a couple of hours from the beach for a picnic lunch off another beautiful beach near the Lake, just a little further along the coast. We also hired a quad bike from the local village and went south last year around the southern tip of Corfu and North this year along the coast and magnificent scenary. The Aquis Sandy Beach has become our home from home and we thoroughly enjoyed our two (so far!) holidays here.

Room Tip: We prefer a side sea view by the pool by the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank markpalmer9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis, Head of Marketing- Aquis Hotels and Resorts at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2011

We’re delighted to hear that this was your return trip in Aquis Sandy beach, and that it’s now your home away from home. Your faith in us is so very rewarding to our team!.

It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what the teams strive for everyday. George, Dawn and the rest of the hotel team are the greatest part of our success and we are lucky to have them. It gives me great pleasure to tell you that we also can’t wait to have you back in Corfu and the Aquis Sandy Beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

We got back last week after a 2 week stay at the Aquis sandy beach and we loved it (me my husband and 2 kids aged 17 and 15)
All the staff were really friendly and the complex was well maintained and clean.
Food was to a very high standard and there was always something to eat , there were at least 6 different dishes to choose from with chips and mashed potatoes every night and plenty of veg , the salad bar was fab. Lunch time was also very good the piza was lovely.
Out and about was very quiet but if you do wander out for a meal the ociana did very nice food .
The evening entertainment was about the same as you get in any hotel and the entertainment team were all very good and if you want you can be kept busy round the active pool all day , if you want a relax then head for the pool next to the beach .
All in all i would recomend this hotel without hesitation .

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayjaninemillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis, Head of Marketing- Aquis Hotels and Resorts at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2011

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at the Aquis Sandy Beach Resort

We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future at any Aquis property in Corfu, Crete, Kos or Rhodes!

Thank you once more for your preference!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Georgios
5.4 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,484 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bruskos
Hotel Bruskos
#14 of 15 in Agios Georgios
213 reviews
15.7 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.5 mi away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
644 reviews
26.9 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
2,241 reviews
11.2 mi away
Corfu Holiday Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Beach Resort

Address: Agios Georgios 49080, Greece (Formerly Aquis Sandy Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Georgios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Agios Georgios
Price Range: £36 - £343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandy Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aquis Sandy Beach Resort acquired by Aquis Hotels and Resorts from the summer 2009 onwards. It is an extremely family friendly property, located on the sandy beach of St George South West, Corfu. Apartments will be refurbished in order to achieve the highest standards of hospitality and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Expedia, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sandy Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquis Sandy Beach Hotel Agios Georgios South
Palm Beach Corfu
Hotel Aquis Sandy Beach
Palm Beach Hotel Corfu
Sandy Beach Resort Corfu/Agios Georgios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing