We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we had a great time”
Review of Sandy Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandy Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Agios Georgios
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“we had a great time”
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We had great service by staff on arrival as arrived early morning and were given sandwiches and juice while our luggage was loaded on to buggies to take us to our room which was very clean and good size comfortable beds and lcd TV and video player. restaurant although it was busy at certain times it clearly advices’ you to not go at peak times which we done usually had dinner about seven and never had a problem getting seats and they have self service for juice coffee and beer but waiter also comes to table on arrival to take your drink order, there is also had a children’s buffet seating area that my 4year old love to eat her food at it is although the complex is large it does not take long to get round it even with a four year old. Beach was nice and good for relaxing. Bar service there did seem to be queues most of the time so I think a self service juice machine like they have in restaurant would prevent this. entertainment because it catered for a few languages we did not enjoy it as time it got to British we had lost the plot but not the staff fault they put everything into it. daughter loved the mini disco as although she did not understand the language she just copied the dancing and at end of the week we ended up knowing the songs lol

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hugheshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,027 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    962
    1,030
    568
    276
    191
See reviews for
1,487
950
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (706)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2011

I've discovered many mixed reviews about 'Sandy Beach Resort' and only now, after returning I can understand why.

The friendly hotel staff greeted us at reception providing a very good first impression when we checked in. They arranged a golf buggy and driver to pick us up and escort us to our room. Our double room was large, nothing particularly special about it, but it was comfortable and had plenty of storage space. However, the so called 'garden view' proved to be rather disappointing. I would suggest picking a room with a beach or pool view. There are two pools available, one which is suited families with younger children as it's right beside the kids games rooms including pool tables, ping pong, arcade games etc. The other, where we spent most of our time was much more relaxing and was conveniently around the corner from our room. It had a lovely pool side bar where we certainly made good use of the unlimited cocktails!

I was rather excited about the all inclusive food buffet but unfortunately it didn't live up to my expectations. The food was generally bland and it didn't change from day to day. The meat was usually fatty, the vegetables tasteless the selection of deserts were poor, even the soft drinks were heavily watered down. However, we managed to find something to eat each day, but by the end of the week we were sick to death of our typical/safe choice of pasta, chips or pizza.

The evening entertainment... rather hard to explain this one. It was very interesting to say the least, the 'Animation Team' who put on these nights tried there best to entertain but the shows were simply terrible. However, we still ended up going down most evenings making use of the bar and harsh as it sounds to laugh at them rather than with them!

The hotel is in a great location, a two minute walk alongside the gorgeous sandy beach and you will come across some shops and an array of restaurants and bars. I would definitely recommend heading down there to have a wonder and take a break away from the hotel complex for a while.

Overall, it was a truly relaxing holiday, and we had a great time.
The food however, needs to be improved!

Room Tip: Ask for a beach or pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas_Matthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Just got back from staying at the Aquis Sandy Beach Hotel and it was brilliant, I have never written a review of a holiday before but really felt I should this time. The staff were superb, very friendly and eager to please. The food was really good, even if you was a fussy eater, you would definitely find something to your taste. If you are looking for a quiet, relaxed holiday then this is the place to stay, the only small downside to this place is that it is a little out of the way so there isn't too much to do of an evening, the all inclusive finishes at 11 o'clock and the bar shuts at 12.30, and the entertainment is a little poor but everyone works extremely hard to make your holiday enjoyable, I have never stayed anywhere where the staff work so hard and always seem to have a smile on their faces!!...I will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VonnieCoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

After two nights we just had to leave - it was so over crowded and noisey. A staff member told us there was over 1600 people there and the place was on a vast scale - You had to queue for everything - Buffet meals, drinks, there was a long queue if you wanted to eat on the outside terrace (wait about 20/30 minutes). - its just terrible. We had a room on ground floor near beach and it took almost 30 minutes to walk to reception. They use golf Buggy cars to help you get around. I t's probably a great place for children but not for couples. The only postiive things we can about this place is the staff - they were all very friendly and helpful and the rooms are a good size .

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travellers186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Had a lovely time here, our first trip to Corfu, would certainly return. The pool was excellent apart from lack of steps in and out of it. Not suitable for anyone with mobility problems like myself.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wellington13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We took a punt on the Aquis Corfu, with a late teletext booking and then after we'd booked my kids read Trip Advisor and told me that there were some negative reviews, but I re-checked and this was back in 2006 under previous ownership. Our fears were unwarranted. From the moment we checked in the experience was great, the staff were fantastic, they couldn't do enough for the guests. To say this is a big resort, which caters for the mass market, the quality and choice of food was outstanding , there was something for everyone. Room cleanliness and quality is also very good for Greece, although a shower head hook in the bathroom would be an improvement. We'll definitely be back, Dawn at Front Office and Petros in the restaurant are real stars!

Paul and Mandy Clark and Family

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 1066Paulc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Great holiday ... Hardworking friendly staff they could not do enough for you from the reception down to the cleaners.. The beach itself could have done with a good clean up but it was still nice.. Room was great, restaurant got a bit boring after 3 days..but it was ok .. but you only get what you pay for...I had never been to greece before and I loved it.. spent most of our time at the pool bar with all the spiro's (lol) they were funny. I wanted a cheap relaxing holiday away from all the stress of life and thats what I got...

Thank you Aquis Sandy Beach ... We enjoyed our stay...

Regards
Zoe and Will

Room Tip: I didnt need too ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zowwba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Georgios
26.9 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
2,061 reviews
5.4 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,242 reviews
9.7 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Corfu Holiday Palace
15.7 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
10.2 mi away
Mediterranean Blue Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Beach Resort

Property: Sandy Beach Resort
Address: Agios Georgios 49080, Greece (Formerly Aquis Sandy Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Georgios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Agios Georgios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandy Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aquis Sandy Beach Resort acquired by Aquis Hotels and Resorts from the summer 2009 onwards. It is an extremely family friendly property, located on the sandy beach of St George South West, Corfu. Apartments will be refurbished in order to achieve the highest standards of hospitality and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandy Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquis Sandy Beach Hotel Agios Georgios South
Palm Beach Corfu
Hotel Aquis Sandy Beach
Palm Beach Hotel Corfu
Sandy Beach Resort Corfu/Agios Georgios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing