We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel”
Review of Sandy Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandy Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Agios Georgios
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Returned from the Aquis Sandy Beach on 6th June 2014 with our daughter, partner and grand-daughter. Transfer took about 45 mins on coach - wouldn't have liked to drive it, very winedy and narrow roads to manoeuvre!

Check in was very quick - given room entry cards (also use these to get electricity in room) & a map of the complex and shown where everything was on the map, also given stickers with room numbers on and told to put on luggage as the suitcases would be taken to our room in the next 10 minutes. We were allocated rooms in block 5 - went to rooms and on entry you could smell a damp musty smell in there. We believed we were probably the first guests to use the rooms this season. We were not happy with the rooms so went to reception to complain - within 30 minutes we were both moved to block '1' which was practically next to reception, shop and just around the shop to the pool & pool bar. These rooms were fine - they were clean and well maintained. We had a 1 bedroom apartment (2 X single beds in the bedroom and 2 X settee/bed in the living room. Rooms cleaned every day & towels changed when left on the floor by the shower. There are NO 'self-catering' facilities in the room, apart from a fridge - so if you like a cuppa as soon as you get up in the morning, you'll need to bring/purchase a travel kettle.

The TV was nothing to write home about - English channels were 'Sky News', there was also 'Eurosport' in English but overspoken by German. Other channels were on there in many different languages - not sure what they were as we only had the TV on 'in the background' when getting ready to go out to eat.

We only used the pool by the reception so can't comment on the others - it was a nice temperature and clean. There are a number of slides on this pool which is great for the kids, they're not to high or scary rides - had a go myself!! We didn't get down to the pool until mid-day(ish) on a number of days and found it difficult to get sun loungers - not sure what it will be like n high season.

The bar next to the pool is pretty much the same as the other bar near the other 2 smaller pools. The spirit measures are good as was the beer. They also have a number of cocktails which you can choose from - my missus favourite was the 'Jellybean', made with Ouzo, some blue colouring liquid and lemonade(sprite).

The restaurant(s) is located halfway between the beach and reception - about a 5 minute walk in total. The food was good - some of it was really nice. They say that both restaurants serve the same menu, however after using both, we didn't believe this was the case - the larger one is better and has more choice away from the main menu. There is plenty of variety of meats to choose from as there is vegetables. The salads are also very nice, the Feta cheese is excellent! The desserts however were a bit of a let down - so the missus says. Very repetitive - but don't let that put you off - they were still very nice. They had 2 very similar tasting desserts pretty much every day - 1 was shaped like a 'snail shell' the other just in a block - they tasted like Christmas mince pie with cinnamon and some sort of sugary thick moistening liquid - lovely!!

As mentioned previously, the restaurants are about halfway between the reception and beach - if you want to get to the beach keep walking past the restaurants and you'll find it. Its not a big beach (we only used it once) but it was clean and tidy. There are sunbeds on the beach, but you have to pay to use these - we were also told that guests used the bottom 'pool bar' to take drinks out onto the beach.

The shop is pretty much a mini-market with normal holiday stuff on sale. If you want newspapers they normally arrive about 2pm daily in the mini-market, although that said when we arrived NO shops had newspapers for the previous 2 days and didn't get any in for the next 2 - was told that it was not just the area where the hotel is which was affected but the whole of Greece.

The entertainment is OK. The animation team work very hard and do try to encourage participation in the dances, etc. Although, there are many different languages spoken at the hotel and the entertainment tries to cater for this, a lot of it is visual which certainly entertains the kids. There is a kids club run by the hotel by the big pool which our grand-daughter tells us was really good. There are also the normal hotel activities (beach volleyball, football, boules and table tennis) which the animation team try to get you involved in. The magic show is quite good also.

We ventured into Corfu town for the day and caught the bus from inside the hotel grounds - there is only 1 per day that comes in the complex. It leaves the hotel at 1020am and leaves the bus station at the other end at 4:30pm - I believe it cost about 5 euros return - 2 singles (can't remember exactly). If you miss these buses there are other bus options but this will entail quite a lengthy walk to the main road out the front of the hotel - there is always the taxi's of course, but wouldn't know how much these were as we didn't use one.

If you come out of the rear of the hotel (beach entrance) and turn left, you will pass a number of restaurants and shops. Newspapers seem to be here a little earlier than the shop on site, although not much earlier. We used a number of the restaurants/pubs for a variety of reasons - sports coverage (football & boxing), WiFi and of course eating and the Greek beer - Mythos. Both Zooplas (about 1/4 mile up on the left side of the road) and a sports bar (can't remember its name but just before Zooplas - but on the beach side of the rood) were very good for sport on TV, WiFi and of course Mythos. We didn't eat in these places so can't comment on that. We did however eat in a restaurant called 'Sunset' which is on the beach side of the road about 2-3 establishments before the sports bar. The food here was excellent as was the welcome. It is run by a Greek fella and his English wife - nothing was too much trouble. If you do go here you have got to try the homemade apple pie and homemade custard - they are lovely!! It also has a nice sea/beach view from the garden terrace.

If you need to use an ATM you will only find one next to a mini-market called Anna's which is a good 15 minute walk from the hotel. Anna's is situated past Zooplas, you go about 200 yards past it and take the 1st left turn - Anna's is situated about 200 yards on the right side of the road.

All in all a very enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike_Sue2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis_Quality_team, Quality Team at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2014

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your positive feedback. We pay attention to all comments and we always try to meet our guests’ expectations,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,547 - 1,553 of 3,253 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

We returned to Sandy Beach and were again happy with our holiday. Check in was efficient , the rooms were cleaned daily and the food was more than adequate. Staff were very cheery and willing to meet our needs.
The complex has 3 main bars - at reception, at the first pool near the outdoor entertainment area and down near the beach. All are open until 11pm for all inclusive after that you may have to pay.
There are 2 swimming pools, both very clean with plenty of loungers and parasols to be had plus a children's pool with all the usual amenities for youngsters.
The beach is one of the best in Corfu and is very clean. Water sports are offered at a fee. Two sun loungers and a parasol can be hired for 6 euros a day.
The self-service in the main restaurant can be very noisy and busy at peak times. Guests however, can dine at the smaller Olive Tree Restaurant, where it is less frantic. However, the Olive Tree has a slightly more limited menu but provides a more relaxed dining experience. We would also recommend dining at the Seaside Restaurant where guests have to pay a little extra to enjoy the "specials", with waiter service and watch the amazing sunsets.
Children are well catered for with a Kids Club, a water shute and bicycle hire.
There is a daily bus service to Corfu Town which leaves at 10.20am. Should it be full the company sends another one. The same for the return journey leaving at 4.30pm from the bus station. Return fare is just less than 6 euros.
All-in-all the Sandy Beach is a safe bet for holiday makers of all ages. The flat terrain makes it ideal for push-chairs and wheelchairs.
As returning customers we got our rewards - free bottle of wine, reduced rates at spa (which was very good), extended all inclusive until midnight and a free night at the seaside restaurant.
All very acceptable. Sandy Beach is certainly trying hard to please their customers by constantly upgrading and renewing. They also try to solve any problems guests may have in order that everyone may have as an enjoyable holiday as we did.

Room Tip: Corner rooms with side sea views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tomfran64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis_Quality_team, Quality Team at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2014

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your positive holiday experience at Aquis Sandy Beach Resort with TripAdvisor’s readers and we hope to welcome you to another Aquis hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We were very happy with this holiday which seemed good value for money. Don't expect 5* luxury, but overall the hotel was lovely and brilliant for families with children. The staff here work very hard to keep the hotel clean and our room was immaculate. The room was unexpectedly huge with a lounge and bedroom and two massive bathrooms. The three pools were lovely. One was more lively whereas the other two were better for relaxing. The food here is good and there is plenty of it. There is something for everyone and the traditional greek dishes were particularly good. We took a boat trip to Paxos and Anti Paxos and a bus to Corfu town, both of which were lovely trips. Corfu is beautiful.
My only (small) complaints about the hotel were that the food could have been better labelled in the restaurant and the sheets were too small for the big bed which made it uncomfortable.

Room Tip: We were in the block opposite the restaurant which seemed newer and better than other blocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annicle80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis_Quality_team, Quality Team at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2014

Dear Guest,
We are very happy to read that you had a positive holiday experience while staying at Aquis Sandy Beach Resort and even more so that you took the time to share it with TripAdvisor’s readers.It will be our pleasure to welcome you once more here in Aquis Sandy Beach and to offer you a memorable stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Spent 2weeks here in May & couldn't fault a thing. Staff were very friendly & helpful, Especially the Animation Team they were soo much fun, Samantha made our holiday...You got a good 1 there!! Would definitely return....Keep up the good work :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alyjay77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis_Quality_team, Quality Team at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2014

Dear Guest,
We are delighted to read that you had a positive holiday experience while staying at Aquis Sandy Beach Resort and even more so that you took the time to share it with TripAdvisor’s readers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

just back from sandy beach Corfu, had another great holiday, there has been another restaurant added where the shop was for those who know the hotel, they have just started a new reward for returning customers ,which is a free bottle of wine, a free session at the spar , all inclusive till 12 o'clock [normally 11] and one free meal at the tapas restaurant the tapas is not included in the all inclusive, this is for returning holidays makers only . the only down side is that a lot of the entertainment was not very good ,but over all a great hotel with very good staff. the hotel is in a very lovely location step out off the back entrance and you are on the beach where you can hire all sorts of water sports. and the local village is just a very short stroll away with restaurants, bars and shops.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wallsie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis_Quality_team, Quality Team at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2014

Dear Guest,
We are very happy to read that you had a positive holiday experience while staying at Aquis Sandy Beach Resort and even more so that you took the time to share it with TripAdvisor’s readers.It will be our pleasure to welcome you once more here in Aquis Sandy Beach and to offer you a memorable stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We have sent a letter to you re our holiday which was not good don't want to say any more here.
Hotel couldn't cope with no of visitors as only Been opened 3 weeks approx and not enough staff. Also need to inspect rooms more closely.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tadpole210134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My review is mixed as myself and 2 of my children had a really good time here, animation staff were fantastic with the girls and really tried to get everyone to enjoy themselves. Myself and daughter found food fine (it is not gourmet food but you cannot expect that at all inclusive) there was adequate choice and some of it was really nice. However my wife and other daughters are vegetarian (vegan) and there was nothing for them to eat otherwise I would of rated it a lot higher. Beer was def watered down as others have stated but this was fine as still cold,drinkable and did not leave you with a hangover lol. Rooms are a bit dated (not really 4* as described) but maids came in everyday and they were clean. There is also a fridge in room which is unusual for all inc but was very handy. Overall I had really good time and would def return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colin_nicholson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis_Quality_team, Quality Team at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2014

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your positive feedback. We pay attention to all comments and we always try to meet our guests’ expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Georgios
5.4 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,484 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bruskos
Hotel Bruskos
#14 of 15 in Agios Georgios
213 reviews
15.7 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.5 mi away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
644 reviews
26.9 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
2,241 reviews
11.2 mi away
Corfu Holiday Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Beach Resort

Address: Agios Georgios 49080, Greece (Formerly Aquis Sandy Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Georgios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Agios Georgios
Price Range: £38 - £348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandy Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aquis Sandy Beach Resort acquired by Aquis Hotels and Resorts from the summer 2009 onwards. It is an extremely family friendly property, located on the sandy beach of St George South West, Corfu. Apartments will be refurbished in order to achieve the highest standards of hospitality and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sandy Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquis Sandy Beach Hotel Agios Georgios South
Palm Beach Corfu
Hotel Aquis Sandy Beach
Palm Beach Hotel Corfu
Sandy Beach Resort Corfu/Agios Georgios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing