We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HIDDEN GEM GREAT REPUTATION WELL DESERVED”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Agios Georgios
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Costas Golden Beach
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Agios Georgios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2009

We have not booked a "package holiday" for about 8 years prefering to go it alone and book 4&5 star hotels around the world this year we have traveled allot Sri lanka, Maldives various cityc breaks so looking for inspiration and relaxation we consulted trip advisor for top rated greek hotels and Costas Golden Beach kept coming only 3 star but we took the plunge and booked it through thomsons. WHAT A REVELATION after a fantastic transfer through the mountains with great views we was droped of at a small village to change to a minibus as the large coaches cannot get down the mountain roads to Agios Giorgios. The moment we arrived the owners Demitros and Dina made us welcome the room although basic had fantastic views across the bay and soon became a home from home. The hotels setting mountains out back sea out front was perfect the resort was very quite at night but during the day there was plenty going on Boats for hire. Jet skis, Diving centre.banna and ring pulls. Great walks upto the local mountain villages (all walks in red folder at reception) do not miss the walk to Afionas around 1hour what spectacular views and great tavernas when you get up there. At night the resort has about 8-9 resturants no loud music or drunken yobs but the food at the hotel was superb with quiz nights, magic shows ect.
The hotel is immaculatly clean with great garden areas superb sun trap pool and jacuzi great views and only a few steps across a quiet narrow road and beach to the sea The Owners and staff (mainly family) are fantastic the hotel dogs good company with only around 40 rooms you soon get to know everyone.
We had such a great time we have already booked to go again. As we said at the begining of this review this hotel is a gem and knocks spots of some of the 5 star hotels we have stayed in and thomsons was great as well (no transport to sort out or flight confirmations to worry about) so bring on the package holiday

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

651 - 657 of 714 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2009

My 11 year old daughter and myself spent 11 days at the Costas Golden Beach. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel totally relaxed and comfortable. It was certainly the most relaxing enjoyable holiday we have ever enjoyed - possibly the one that all our previous holidays could never compete with. The location was perfect,,,a beautiful bay, sandy beach, quiet, laid back. The hotel itself exceeded my expectations- even after reading the reviews on here. Our room looked over the beach and pool, I couldn't help smiling whenever i looked out from the terrace. The food was excellent and very good value. The service was second to none. Well deserved praise to all the staff. The owner, Dimitrios,and his family could have done no more to improve things.
Although there were not many children (I admit to being pleased about this) my daughter absolutely loved it, I found it very difficult to get her out of the pool most of the time. She wants to return as soon as we can!
I left this trip feeling like i had really been on holiday and can not wait to return next year with my 2 teenage daughters as well.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenandgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

Just returned from a week at Costas Golden Beach. What can I say about the hosts, Dimitri, Dina and Spiros that hasnt been said already. It is like staying with the best people in your own family. The hotel is beautifully situated overlooking the bay, and all areas were immaculately clean. If there is a negative (and it's a really minor one), I felt the bathroom was rather small and looked as if it could do with updating.
Everything else made this pale into insignificance, as the initial welcome was renewed every day by the hosts, and the staff were some of the friendliest we have ever come across in our travels. As Dimitri kept saying, I quote "we don't like goodbyes", we found it very hard to say goodbye at the end of a brilliant week. Will we return? Yes. Will we recommend it? Yes, we are recommending it already. Can't wait to go back.........

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RafflesKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

We arrived pretty late at the hotel at about 2:30 on tuesday morning. But as our little bus pulled up outside the front doors, Demetri was sat outside the front door waiting to greet us. They took is to our room and gave us a free complemetary drink. The rooms were very nice and cleaned daily. we had a superb view of the swimming pool and the beach.
In our rooms we also had a mosquito net which didnt cost anything, a safe which was also free of charge and an air conditioning unit which was free of cost too. The meals were absolutely brilliant and the staff really really friendly. You could talk to anyone. They had a laptop set up with the internet so you could talk to people, and also they gave you the code so you could use your own computer. There was entertainment on every night, be it singers genral d.js, karioki night, bingo night, quiz night, or greek party night, there was always summet to do. The pool was brilliant, you had sunbeds and a conopy over every one. you could eat inside or out. There is also wind surfing lessons 2 minutes away on the beach, you can rent out a pedlow, or a speed boat for the day. I couldnt have asked for any more and i am going to return again, because it would be a realy shame not too.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spooneybabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

We’ve just returned from a brilliant 2 week holiday at the Costas Golden Beach Hotel. If you are looking for peace and tranquillity, friendliness, cleanliness and a place that is close to a lovely golden sandy beach, then this is the place for you!

As the other reports state, Dmitri, Dina and Spiros are such a lovely warm family, very hospitable, and helpful and all their staff are very friendly and can’t do enough for you. Car Hire is available through reception with preferential rates for visitors of CGBH. The Hotel is opposite a bus stop to take you to Corfu town, fare E3.10.

The food at the hotel is fabulous and very reasonably priced; every night is a different ‘specials board’ to choose from.

Please try Restaurant Delfini (just down the road) for their superb seafood Spaghetti Delfini, totally scrummy! Also the fish restaurant around the bay, where you can eat freshly caught fish whilst watching the beautiful sunset.

Helpful hints: The coach transfer from the airport to the hotel is approx 1.5 hours, so be prepared and get some water before you board the coach.

Also, the journey is on very windy roads with hairpin bends, two people were sick on our coach so therefore if any of your party suffers from travel sickness, please go prepared!

Unfortunately the Greek mosquitoes are out to get you!! I suggest a spray repellent called Autan which did the trick for us. In the supermarket down the road, you can buy some mozzie bite gel (in a white tube) this is very good at taking the itch out and much better than the uk stuff we took with us.

There is NO ATM in Ag Georg, the closest ones are in Corfu or Sidari, the hotel reception can change sterling for a 2% charge.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Wernons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

Hotel
We whole heartly agree with previous remarks regarding the lovely Costas Golden Beach hotel and have just addded a few hopefully useful tips. Rooms are very well cleaned and bed linen and towels are frequently changed. The rooms have extra pillows and blankets if needed and there is a hair dryer for the ladies. Iced Drinking water, safety deposit boxes and mosquito screens are all inclusive. Food is of good quality and portions are generous. Entertainment is varied and the owners put a lot of thought into provding something for everyone. All staff and owners extremely helpful and make you feel that nothing is to much trouble, they are very friendly but if you wish to be left alone they respect your wishes. Pool and Jacuzzi excellent (we are not pool lovers normally) but atmosphere around the pool area is very relaxing and there appeared to be no shortage of sunbeds etc.
Beach
Directly infront of hotel, plenty of sun beds and umbrellas (approx. 8 euros all day). Beach is sandy but bathing is negotiated over shingle and stones (if you have tender feet take swimming shoes).
Surrounding Area
If you like walking and want to eat freshly caught fish by turning left out of hotel and following beach up into the hills you will come across a most delighful restaurant built into the hill. Wonderful views enjoyed whilst eating a beautiful meal and if you go during late afternoon you will still be able to walk back in daylight (wouldn't recommend this trip in the dark, get a taxi back). Apart from this gem there are few other restaurants, bars and supermarkets nearby.
A most relaxing holiday and would most definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aimely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

Stayed at CGB for 2 weeks in July ,what can I say that hasn't already been said? Dimitri ,Dina & Spiros are the best hosts one could wish to have ,add to it that all the rest of the staff are absolutely brilliant then a good holiday is almost guaranteed.
From the moment we arrived till the Monday when we left nothing was too much trouble for the owners & staff of this wondeful hotel. Free air-conditioning ,free chilled water , free internet access ,plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas around the gorgeous pool area ,the reasons to stay here are too numerous to mention ,food was excellent ,rooms well above standard for Corfu ,sheets & towels changed regularly , I won't overstate it but the fact is that this was one of the best holidays we've had in years.

When I said it was "Almost" the perfect holiday I have to explain that the reason it wasn't had nothing to do with the hotel ,the staff or the amenities ,basically this hotel is based in a gorgeous location which is very very peaceful ,there are no bars ,disco's etc and for the first 10 days the noisiest thing that you heard around the pool was someone turning the page of the book they were reading! This to us was idyllic as it was exactly what we wanted and exactly how it was portayed in the reviews and comments posted before. This peace unfortunately was spoiled by the arrival of quite a few children towards the end of the holiday ,I have to ask why would someone bring young children to a hotel that ,apart from the swimming pool,has no ameneties to cater for children ,the end result was that we gave up lying by the pool as the noise just got too much ,I'm not trying to sound like a "miserable old git" just that people should ensure that the accomodation they book is suitable for their requirements.
CGB is a peaceful hotel in peaceful surroundings and should be kept that way ,all said and done ,we will be returning as all in all it was a great holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bluemoon13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Georgios
3.1 mi away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
644 reviews
19.7 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,481 reviews
11 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
San Antonio Corfu Resort
17.7 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Studios
10.2 mi away
Art Hotel Debono
Art Hotel Debono
#1 of 17 in Gouvia
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costas Golden Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costas Golden Beach

Address: Pagi, Agios Georgios 490 81, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Georgios
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Agios Georgios
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Costas Golden Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Costas Golden Beach Hotel
Costas Golden Beach Agios Georgios
Hotel Costas Golden Beach Corfu/Agios Georgios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing