We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chill out holiday in a fantastic location.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Agios Georgios
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Costas Golden Beach
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Agios Georgios
Certificate of Excellence
Glenrothes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chill out holiday in a fantastic location.”
Reviewed 3 October 2009

A review could not possibly do this hotel justice. The owners run a tight ship delivering a professional service throughout. Their attention to detail is outstanding. If you put in to the mix the owners and the staffs genuine friendliness I think this encapsulates the magic formula. The Hotel is clean and all the facilities are maintained to a high standard. The pool area overlooks the sea and is adjacent to the dining room, all in all a magnificient setting. The food is another highlight, plentiful,tasty and varied. In addition, the hotel offers a 10% discount to residents which makes eating even better value. The hotel is really geared up for a chill out holiday, comprising mostly middle aged to older residents so bear this in mind before booking if you have youngsters. Also there are not many things for younger people in the local area. The resort comprises mostly Restaurants and Bars with the odd Supermarket thrown in. On the positive side the beach is beautiful and the their are lots of local walks, maps are to be had in a folder held at the hotel reception. Overall we had an excellent holiday and will return again at some time in the future,

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kwacker600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    38
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
112
463
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
walsall
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2009

hi all ! well were do i start ! sue and i booked the hotel because of the reviews, as soon as we landed i felt bad . as we got on the coach i started to be sick and dint stop till we arrived .tho after a few hrs i was ok ! we had a 1st floor room over looking the sea! the rooms are very nice and sue and myself dint find any problems at all,in fact our beds and room were cleaned every day, how nice is that!! we miss all the staff ,thereso cool, even the cleaners r fab!! we hired a car from the hotel next door and drove around most of the island, loved it !! dont understand why people moan about hair pin bends, what do they expect, ur on a tiny island , this is not the usa !!!! tho i think it was easy , 1 simple rule ,take ur time !!! u must hire a speed boat from just down the beach 110 eros + fuel per day , we had a fab time !! we went on a few boat trips , these were good value 4 ur money , but be aware thay ar a min 12 hrs ! we never ate out much as the food at the hotel was fab ! we also stayed in every nite as demitri had enough on to entertain us! dina i miss u blowing me kisses lol , thank u to dimitri,dina,2 spiroses,anistasia, and all the staff , u r the very best of the best !!! we love u and we will retern ! xx ps spiros, u cant please some people all of the time , some people are just born miserable!!! ur the best !!x marty n sue august 21st till sept04

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suemarwalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow
Level Contributor
190 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

Never before have we felt the need to write a review about a hotel but the HCGB is something extra special which you want to share with others. We've been to Corfu once before and weren't keen to return to Corfu again as the wife hated it the first time round. However, after working hard all year and needing a well deserved break (and a bit of sun) we booked this hotel through Thomsons purely on the reviews through trip advisor. From start to finish the holiday far exceeded our expectations. This is a beautiful, small, family run hotel where Dimitri and his family make you feel welcome from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave. Sun beds are readily available, you had the pool and Jacuzzi to yourself most of the time, ice cold water was free to top up your bottles and you could always play tennis if it wasn't too hot (we had a go but only managed to play for half an hour). We went on a Carribean cruise a couple of years ago and the service the hotel provided was equally as good. This hotel deserves to be a four star at the very least!!! The resort is fantastic and ideal for couples and small groups of friends but not ideal for young groups seeking nightlife as you would need to travel to Sidari to get this. We would recommend hiring a moped or car to see more of the island and highly recommend visiting the small village of Pagi (where the James Bond film, The Spy who loved me was filmed), the village of Makrades (on the way to Paleokastritsa) and the very beautiful village of Afionas which is a easy walk from the hotel. We only stayed at the HCGB for a week which was just not long enough and although we have always said there that we would never return to the same place twice (for fear that there is something better around the corner) just don't think this is possible after staying at this hotel. This really is a little gem of a place which leaves you feeling like you've been in a dream world where it's so perfect. Believe us - you will have a tear in your eye when you leave :(

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Spoton856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

We chose this hotel purely on the advice of trip advisor almost by chance. We have travelled over the world and stayed in some interesting, exotic and luxurious places through work and holiday. We don't usually like package holidays. However this was simply the most relaxing family holiday ever (we have two children, one of whom is a teenager who gets easily bored). What really makes this holiday is the family who run this hotel. They are exceptionally warm. friendly and hospitable. They make you feel really special and important-a true guest. I don't know how they do it. The hotel is small and all the staff are really friendly. As a result, it felt like being in one big family -all the guests were really friendly too.
The resort is beautiful-peaceful and unspoilt-no wild night clubs and bars -the sorts of things that really put us off package holidays. We didn't have to be vigilant about the children at all. I find it very difficult to switch off but we all found it really easy to relax here. The simplicity, lack of demands (not too many shops, enough choice of places to eat but not too much) were a relief. Interestingly we thought our children especially the teenager would be very bored-not many other children to run round with, hang out with in the pool etc. Also, other peaceful, scenic holidays e.g. small Italian towns that we like have bored the children. However they loved it and want to come back and our teenager to our surprise was the most relaxed ever.
We spent a lot of our time on the beach which unlike anywhere else we've been in August has plenty of space. The sea was lovely and warm, clean and calm. The pool is lovely and we used it most days too but with two energetic and noisy sons, it was more relaxing for us to base ourselves on the beach (picnicked at lunch time on supermarket bread, olive oil and cheese) where we didn't have to worry about them disturbing others and where they could borrow various inflatables and bats and balls etc from Iannis, who hires out the sunbeds.
Surprisingly the children enjoyed the hotel evenings (quiz nights, bingo especially) joining in with everyone. The evenings are peaceful with wonderful music selection by Demetri and Spiros (dancing allowed!)-again all to our taste. We loved the garden, walks in the evening and found we got to know others in Aghios Georgios too because the resort is small and friendly with many people returning. The children went jet skiing, we also hired a car which was really useful as it meant we could explore. The roads are very narrow and winding but drivers here seem to be very courteous and no-one seemed to get annoyed and impatient by our driving unlike experiences in many other places. We went to Corfu town which is interesting but reminded us that big resorts/holiday towns in August are tiring. We visited other resorts too in Corfu that are pretty similar to many other hectic (agitating for us) European holiday resorts in August, That made us really appreciate our own-peaceful, uncrowded place.
If you need to switch off, like feeling socially engaged with the place you are staying in-this really is the hotel to stay in. Demetri, Dina, Spiros and Anastasia are the warmest, most welcoming people.We are adventurous and never return to places twice, but I don't think we'll be able to resist coming back on this occasion because nowhere else in the world has been so relaxing or welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank childdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2009

I have just returned from the CGB. Everything you read is true. We travelled with our friends and have all stayed in 5 star hotels in the caribean and far east but the service here was truly 5 star. We were greeted by all the family and they really are the most hospitable people.
The flight was cramped but as its only 3 hours its not bad. The transfer was by coach then mini bus as the larger coaches cannot do the smaller roads nearer the resort. This was a bit hairy in parts but the scenery in Corfu is so stunning it soon passes. it took just over an hour which was less than the brochure time,
We had 1st floor sea view rooms and the view was amazing. This is a very attractive resort-sweeping bay with sand/shingle beach. The sea here is very still. The rooms were spotless and had all we needed. For once more hangers than we needed, a safety deposit box and air con. There is a mossie screen so you can have the doors to the balcony open without stopping the air con. Waking up to that view was brilliant. The bathroom was small but perfectly adequate. Again spotless.
The gardens here are kept by Dina and are amazing. The smell of the flowers especially at night will stay with me. Every area is tended and beautiful. The pool area is lovely and calm and overlooks the sea. Again spotless with good sunbeds and umbrellas. The beach is just across a small road. Around the back of the hotel is a shower for desanding and a water machine-serving mineral water and hot water. This is free to guests and saves a fortune on bottled water. There are so many lovely touches in this hotel from the peebles that people write messages on to the constant kindness from Dina, Dimitri, Tasia and Spiros. Anything you need they try to help you with. Tasia arranged a boat to a restaurant one night as a surprise for our friend- no trouble.
You can change pounds for euros in the hotel. There is no cash machine in the resort.
We stayed bed and breakfast and the breakfast was fresh and you could also order a cooked breakfast very cheaply. The times we ate in the hotel the food was excellent.
We ate in many restaurants, Our favourites were the three brothers in Afionas, the village overlooking the resort. This was a very steep walk that took 45 minutes - we did it in flip flops so not really a hike. The view is breathtaking and the food very good,
Delfini served good food as did Mama Mia(very reasonable).
We also loved Bennies fish restaurant across the bay-but check the price of the fish if ordering fresh because although it was great is was expensive.
It was very hot so when were there walking was not that pleasant but I would love to return and walk in June perhaps.We hired a car from Lyndsey the rep and this cost 35euros + fuel. Driving here is not for the faint hearted but our frined braved it and it was worth it as the villages in the hills are worth seeing.Pagi village also is lovely. We visited the monastery at Paleo and loved it. The views on approaching it were spectacular. We also went to Arillas and the Panorama restaurant which is a bit further up the coast for the sunset. If you are driving try to get bacik before dark as there are few sign posts and the roads to twist and turn up and down.
We did the Paxos/Pargi trip-very long day. We spent two hours in each place and seven houirs on what was really just a ferry-wouldnt bother again. The Corfu at night was just transport to Corfu town and back- nice town but so hot it was hard to walk much or shop in comfort.
The resort is really a family affair. Nice tavernas, supermarkets and the beach. We noticed it was very quiet at night and were told that the area has suffered due to the exchange rate, although the hotel was full.
Probably the only gripe here would be the airport. Its long and tedious so take water.
All in all we found everyone to be friendly and couldnt do enough for us. The hotel was brilliant and the family were so welcoming. If you have booked this-there is only one thing to say to you - ENJOY - you made a great choice.
If Dina, Dimitri, Tasia or Spiros read this-I say to you and all the staff - thank you very much.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevjane
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2009

We have not booked a "package holiday" for about 8 years prefering to go it alone and book 4&5 star hotels around the world this year we have traveled allot Sri lanka, Maldives various cityc breaks so looking for inspiration and relaxation we consulted trip advisor for top rated greek hotels and Costas Golden Beach kept coming only 3 star but we took the plunge and booked it through thomsons. WHAT A REVELATION after a fantastic transfer through the mountains with great views we was droped of at a small village to change to a minibus as the large coaches cannot get down the mountain roads to Agios Giorgios. The moment we arrived the owners Demitros and Dina made us welcome the room although basic had fantastic views across the bay and soon became a home from home. The hotels setting mountains out back sea out front was perfect the resort was very quite at night but during the day there was plenty going on Boats for hire. Jet skis, Diving centre.banna and ring pulls. Great walks upto the local mountain villages (all walks in red folder at reception) do not miss the walk to Afionas around 1hour what spectacular views and great tavernas when you get up there. At night the resort has about 8-9 resturants no loud music or drunken yobs but the food at the hotel was superb with quiz nights, magic shows ect.
The hotel is immaculatly clean with great garden areas superb sun trap pool and jacuzi great views and only a few steps across a quiet narrow road and beach to the sea The Owners and staff (mainly family) are fantastic the hotel dogs good company with only around 40 rooms you soon get to know everyone.
We had such a great time we have already booked to go again. As we said at the begining of this review this hotel is a gem and knocks spots of some of the 5 star hotels we have stayed in and thomsons was great as well (no transport to sort out or flight confirmations to worry about) so bring on the package holiday

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2009

My 11 year old daughter and myself spent 11 days at the Costas Golden Beach. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel totally relaxed and comfortable. It was certainly the most relaxing enjoyable holiday we have ever enjoyed - possibly the one that all our previous holidays could never compete with. The location was perfect,,,a beautiful bay, sandy beach, quiet, laid back. The hotel itself exceeded my expectations- even after reading the reviews on here. Our room looked over the beach and pool, I couldn't help smiling whenever i looked out from the terrace. The food was excellent and very good value. The service was second to none. Well deserved praise to all the staff. The owner, Dimitrios,and his family could have done no more to improve things.
Although there were not many children (I admit to being pleased about this) my daughter absolutely loved it, I found it very difficult to get her out of the pool most of the time. She wants to return as soon as we can!
I left this trip feeling like i had really been on holiday and can not wait to return next year with my 2 teenage daughters as well.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenandgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Georgios
3.1 mi away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
588 reviews
11.0 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
19.7 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Philoxenia Hotel Corfu
Philoxenia Hotel Corfu
#1 of 4 in Ermones
748 reviews
10.3 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#2 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
1,289 reviews
10.2 mi away
Art Hotel Debono
Art Hotel Debono
#1 of 17 in Gouvia
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costas Golden Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costas Golden Beach

Property: Hotel Costas Golden Beach
Address: Pagi, Agios Georgios 490 81, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Georgios
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Agios Georgios
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Costas Golden Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Costas Golden Beach Hotel
Costas Golden Beach Agios Georgios
Hotel Costas Golden Beach Corfu/Agios Georgios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing