We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“below average”

Ammos Seaside in Saint George
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“below average”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

slow service and some of menu items not available when we visited, however they did adapt some starters to create a mezze for a non-meat eater.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Debd66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    29
    10
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“the oasis”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

well this is the best place to eat in saint george. we were a large group and we orderd various plates and everyone was delighted by the quality of the food.we eat from lamb chops to swordfish and octupus. the wine was great as well. excelent staf. very frendly service. thx guys

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Adrian Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fab”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Superb Food, Friendly Service. Nothing was too much trouble. Best in Agios Georgios (Best Mousakka ever).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Delightful dining indeed”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

At Ammos Taverna we were greeted and seated upon entry and presented with their menu. It was 3:30pm and patrons were dining. I asked for a very cold beer and an Ouzo with a glass of ice. I noted the waitress spoke with strange accent. She returned with our drinks and took our order, one Tzatziki starter, for our mains my wife ordered sole with chips and salad while I ordered swordfish with chips and salad with lots of crushed garlic on the side. The Tzatziki starter arrived accompnied by fresh bread with the most beautiful butter I have ever eaten. It was light, creamy and was flavoured with garlic and red peppers. The Tzatzaki was also lovely with delicate flavours of mint and garlic infused throughout.
Our mains duly arrived and the homemade chips surrounding my swordfish were beautiful and a pleasant change from the frozen variety so often served elsewhere. My wife's sole, dusted in flour and shallow fried was beautifully cooked and not battered by request. Everything we ordered was a joy to eat.
I asked for the bill and asked the waitress where home for her was, 'The west coast of Scotland" she replied.Her name was Cathy and had been in Corfu 18 years with her Greek husband and had taken on the Ammos restaurant last year. Top marks for the food and wine. A must for any discerning diner.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Good food freshly cooked.well presented. Good friendly service. Clean and lovely views.would recommend to anyone we were half board so did not eat out at night. Called in for a late drink we were welcomed in no problem

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 715Twinkle2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ammos Seaside in Saint George also viewed

Agios Georgios, Corfu
Agios Georgios, Corfu
 
Agios Georgios, Corfu
Agios Georgios, Corfu
 

Been to Ammos Seaside in Saint George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing