We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we wanted!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Golden Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Golden Sands Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Agios Georgios
Certificate of Excellence
New Mills, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just what we wanted!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed here for a week from 20th September. It was just what we wanted and a bit more! The area is quiet but there are plenty of tavernas and restaurants to choose from and the beach is very close. The hotel was great, the staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were a little dated but clean and the food was ok. The hotel were getting ready to close and guest numbers were low so the choice of food was limited. The pool, bar and restaurant were well kept. If you are looking for a quiet relaxing week this is a great place to stay

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirstie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    96
    39
    25
    14
See reviews for
62
118
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Lovely friendly staff made us feel very welcome - rooms clean, towels changed daily very nice pool area and bar - and just across the road from the beach. Lots of tavernas and restaurants a short walk from the hotel but be aware this is a very quiet resort at this time of year - food was adequate but due to the amount of nearby restaurants probably best just to book bed and breakfast. Hotel arranged car hire and quad bike hire for us at very reasonable prices and were very knowledgeable about the island.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beverley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

The hotel is located in the quiet part of Agios Georgios, therefore if you are looking for a quiet place to relax, it is a good choice. The pool looked nice and clean, however I have not tried it, as I spent my time travelling or bathing at the sea. The beach which is closest I did not like, it was very narrow with stones in the water. I preferred Issos beach which is about 10mins walking distance. Clean, sandy and safe for children and nonswimmers. The connection to Kerkyra is ok, bus 2x/day, enough to explore the city center (old/new fortress) + boat trip from the old port. There are many beautiful places to explore in Corfu, I recommend to rent a car for 2 days, it is worth it. The rooms - we had one room into the pool direction (sea view) and one oriented to the hills. Definitelly I recommend to pay for the sea view room, as that room had newer furniture, bathtub and overall looked cleaner and better. The other room was quite outdated and needs a rennovation, not too nice, but ok for sleep. The rooms were quiet, equipped with aircon, small TV and small fridge. Good size of balkony, 2 chairs, small table. The food was the subject of my biggest concerns, but I am happy to say it was wonderful. Breakfast was simple, but tasty and for dinner you could select from several options, there was always something "typical Greek", so we did not eat out. The last but not least was the staff, always friendly, trying to help.

Room Tip: sea view, I recommend room 217
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zuzkazuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Just returned following a fantastic stay at Golden Sands. The staff certainly made our stay memorable with their hospitality. Golden Sands is well kept and the staff helpful and courteous, the pool is very well looked after with plenty of sun beds an parasols. Our room was kept clean with regular linen change. The food served was always lovely, the staff were great. Thanks George and Alex! We were fortunate to be in room (218) with superb sea views. The only criticism would be that the bathroom needs a little updating.

The greek dancing which took place at the hotel was great fun and we were all encouraged to join in. Turning left as you leave the hotel you will find well stocked supermarkets and by the XL bar a sandy beach with free sun beds if you buy drink/food served by lovely Kostas. Turning right as you leave the hotel you will find a charming village which is very greek with superb tavernas and little shops.

Having previously holidayed in hotels on an all inclusive option, we were delighted with the relaxing break we enjoyed here.
Thank you Nikolaos and all the staff for an excellent holiday!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie191009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Really good overall. Next to big sandy beach. Towels always clean. Bed folded. Only 1 moment would mention - sand was everywhere on the floor (you can't avoid bringing it on your shoes) and I think it wasn't removed properly in whole week. Only from bathroom. Otherwise all was fine. Really good walls between rooms, you can not hear your neighbours at all (!). Really enjoyed quietness, this is away from any city, so there is no noise, all is calm. Within 2 minutes walk there is a good supermarket and a bit further 1 more. Also few very nice cafes at the same distance. We had a car rented - always had place to park, no problem. We had half-board and I must say we were happy with it. Quality of food was good, always fresh salads and hot meals, quite good choise of meals and all well cooked. Definetly worth the money you spend. (P.S.: Fitness and Spa did not try - had no time as we were travelling around every day, so it remains not rated. Saw a swimming pool there though, seem people quite liked it. Didn't try myself.)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NataliaBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel, as a couple, in September. To start -there are no golden sands nearby - you'll have to walk down the road for this - although there is a beach nearby - it is stony, not very wide and needed a good clean-up. As for the room - it was very shabby with peeling plaster and dirty floors, especially the shower room/toilet. As the floor was uneven, any water from showering could not drain away so the floor was continually wet - we had to use one of the hand towels as a mat. The shower tray should have been replaced years ago and there was no shower head attachment on the wall - all very annoying. This was an EasyJet holiday and although the brochure noted inclusions of a fridge, security safe and air con, we only had the fridge. We were told that we had a cheap room and would have to pay for extras - not a very nice welcome to Corfu. The breakfasts were ok - the coffee was just about drinkable, Bread, cake, yoghurt, choice of fruits, some hot food, boiled eggs, jams and honey. The resort was good - lots of tavernas and bars - there is a super long stretch of sandy beach further down and safe for swimming. We saw some other much nicer hotels and apartments around the area and would not recommend this hotel. Stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CheekyJSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We spent here a nice week on 2-9 September 2013. Hotel is situated in a quiet part of Agios Georgios, a small village lying in the south-west part of Corfu. Its rooms are nice, sea view was worth money and food was also very good, everybody was able to find its own taste including the English breakfast - I understand while the English guests are so frequent here. Staff was very kind, they settled everything with a smile...
At noon when it was too hot we could swim in a wonderful swimming pool in front of the hotel surrounded by palms and we enjoyed perfect privacy, really nice. It was a wonderful end of this summer season; we enjoyed large sandy beaches where you get on foot in about 15 minutes and then you have nobody on the beach! Moreover, you can go to the excellent "Taverna Malibu" a white-blue restaurant where you can enjoy not only fresh fish and Greek specialities but also wonderful sea view and kind service, even its menu is available in many languages!
We were really happy to choose Golden Sands hotel with its hospitality and privacy instead of going to the all-inclusive hotel resort on another side of Agios Georgios - we simply don t support this kind of touristic industry and globalization... Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lubica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Georgios
10.8 mi away
Alexandros
Alexandros
#8 of 9 in Perama
3.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
27.4 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,844 reviews
9.9 mi away
Benitses Bay View
Benitses Bay View
#1 of 4 in Gastouri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
20.9 mi away
Blue Princess Beach Hotel & Suites
11.7 mi away
Royal Boutique Hotel
Royal Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kanoni
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Hotel

Property: Golden Sands Hotel
Address: Argirades, Agios Georgios 490 80, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Georgios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Agios Georgios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Sands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to GOLDEN SANDS Hotel, built on the long sandy beach of St. George Argirades, one of the most beautiful beaches in Corfu. GOLDEN SANDS HOTEL can offer you endless moments of relaxation under the Greek sun, while you may also visit the beauties of Corfu Area: St. George Argirades is a lovely area situated at the South west part of the island where the view of the Adriatic sea lies in front of you and offers generously its clean blue waters. In St. George Argirades are plenty of restaurants, tavernas, bars, night clubs, markets, water sports schools and one of the best sandy beaches in Corfu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Hotel Corfu/Agios Georgios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing