We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location,Cheap, BUT!!!!!!!!”
Review of El Cortijo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Cortijo
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Situated in a good spot for all that es cana has to offer. Room::: well this is were you have to realise it is budget, but there is no excuse for some things :::The floor was disgusting so my wife ended up mopping everywhere and believe me it was dirty::: sheets never changed at all in 7 days!! ::Towels same as sheets!!!::: now here is the best I asked the cleaning lady for some but the lady says NO!! but fair play I did get extra (2No) toilet rolls for the whole week!! BIG LOL. The beds are shocking and we ended up sleeping on balcony, Serious!!!
It really is a shame because a little bit of work and this would command easily an extra 50 euros a night. I knew that for what we paid it was never going to be the ritz but virtually no effort to make the stay enjoyable.or comfortable.

Room Tip: Good room tip, anything above 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank accymark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

My partner and i spend 2 weeks at these apartments and had a lovely holiday. We just wanted a clean and tidy apartment close to the beach and thats what we got.
When we arrived we were greeted by the receptionist/ shop attendant Susan, she was very helpful and friendly and made us feel welcome. There is also a Bar below the apartments run bar Lito, we had some laughs with him of an evening!
We spent some time around the pool but mostly we were at the beach a short walk away.
The location of the apartments is very Handy for buses and taxis. Thanks for a great holiday, we will return!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We were originally booked into another apartment in Es Cana but the company took our money and didn't tell the owners we were due to stay there. Anyway,after refusing another apartment in Cala Nova (due it being half way up a mountain and one of our party had recently had a knee op)we arrived at these apartments. The receptionist was very rude and unhelpful and charged us 14 euros for a fan that was advertised as being 12 euros. Not a great start! We then went to our room on the third floor,thank God there was lift! We were soooooo disappointed the bathroom needs to be condemned! The taps were encrusted with lime scale, the shower curtain had mould on it!the floor had little crawling insects, black hairs ( my friend and I don't have black hair )and the remnants of somebody's nails. The beds were hard, the air con wasn't an option as we were only told about 4 days in (at a cost,what a surprise).the room wasn't cleaned,despite being asked, and when we opened the fridge, dust appeared from underneath. We resorted to cleaning the room ourselves, but after 4 days we surrendered and cut short our holiday and return home to the UK. On a positive note, Martin and Brian in the bar were brilliant? The food was the best in the resort, the beach is 2 mins away and it was quiet at night! Without Martin and Brian, we would have slashed our wrists and called in the Hotel Inspector!

Room Tip: For great food in Es Cana, go to the Nags Head and ask for Martin or Brian. If you want a clean bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at these apartments it is great value for an excellent base for a fab holiday. Es Cana has all you need a great beach fab night life so suitable for all ages. I can recommend the food at the nags head and the staff are all lovely. I can see why people return each year. Thanks sue and lito for a fab holiday. Jane Oxford

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janeoxfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

e l cortigo needs up dating and new bed sheets and towels our flat was never cleaned all week and no sheet change towels were very thin the flat was small but ok no air con so very hot all night rented a fan 12 euros the staff are very helpfull but it needs a good clean food ok bar staff very good swimming pool ok plenty sunbeds

Room Tip: get air con rooms at back better less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harold C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Where to start this place is filthy and dated we had a lovey view of a brick wall had to pay £35 to move to top floor. Had a lovely room and fantastic balcony but again soooo dated and still not too clean didnt get any clean sheets all week and had to ask for clean towels to be sent up to room. No air con either,
Defo wouldnt go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue190919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

i usually stay in playa den bossa but as i was going with my boyfriend we wanted somewhere chilled in the day but we hired a car so that we could still enjoy the ibizan nightlife.

the apartment was big, and clean. well...the kitchen was clean we think it was new. the bathroom, was not (see photos!). the beds were okay. we had new towels once (we stayed for 4ights) the bed didnt get changed one and the apartment didnt get cleaned. we werent too fussed about this, some may have been.

the location is brilliant, but es cana is so small that i doubt there is a badly located hotel!

the pool is okay, basic but good to have i suppose. there is some noise from the hote panorama...in fact we took part in their quiz on night as we could hear every word!! their music/show/quiz stops at midnight though so not too bad.

the nags head is below el cortijo but ran by the same english people i think....the staff are okay. a bit miserable, english + to be honest they reminded me of the cast from benidorm!! especially the lady who tended to run the reception/shop in the evenings...she has obviously not heard of the term 'service with a smile'.

when we checked in, we were asked if we wanted to keep our room on + were told that it would be 40euros. we said we'd let her know which was fine. so i went bk a few days later to confirm + they had put the price up to 45euros. not a massive increase, but poor customer service nontheless!

stay here if...
* you want somewhere to sleep
*you enjoy english type pubs
*you want to make a career of out being an extra on 'Benidorm'

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mozzalicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Es Canar hotels
0.1 mi away
azuLine Hotel Atlantic
azuLine Hotel Atlantic
#5 of 13 in Es Canar
867 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caribe Ibiza Hotel
Caribe Ibiza Hotel
#6 of 13 in Es Canar
1,623 reviews
0.4 mi away
azuLine Hotel Coral Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Anfora
Hotel Anfora
#1 of 13 in Es Canar
660 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alua Miami Ibiza
Alua Miami Ibiza
#3 of 13 in Es Canar
3,298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Mar y Huerta
Hostal Mar y Huerta
#7 of 13 in Es Canar
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cortijo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cortijo

Address: Cardona 29, 07840 Es Canar, Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Santa Eulalia del Rio > Es Canar
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Es Canar
Price Range: £37 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — El Cortijo 1.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Cortijo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cortijo Hotel Es Canar
El Cortijo Ibiza/Es Canar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing