We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Steaks in Town!”
Review of El Cortijo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Cortijo
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I have just arrived at home in the UK and 24hrs after my XXL T-Bone Steak I'm still full!
4 of us dined, 3 of us had steaks and all agreed the meal was not only plentiful but extremely tasty and phenomenal value. Shame we discovered it on the last day!
The service was very friendly as well so I would definately recommend over some of the pricier restaurants in town.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank chrish82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

We have just got back from our holiday at the El Cortijo Apartments and me and my family
cannot praise it enough, the rooms are clean big and comfortable the staff are extremely nice and helpful and the food is lovely not to mention the steaks which are out of this world!!!
We were meant to be there for 1 week but ended up staying for a further 3 days as we felt like
we were so at home there!! We got back 2 days ago and im just about to call them up to book for next june already thats how much we enjoyed it and for a family ranging from 60years old down
to 8years old all of us agree it was are best holiday yet. El Cortijo (Sue,Lito and gang) thank you very very much you will be seeing us soon xxx

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sam k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here during August and the hotel was sound, in a great location, the staff are great, food is lovely, and the rooms are clean, the pool is a reasonable size, and you must try the steaks here there awesome!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clmh78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Our third time here which says a lot. For the first time this year there was a problem with people hogging sunbeds by putting their towels on them and then disappearing for ages. Credit to Steve the barman as he went and told the people concerned that its not fair to others who come for a sunbed and can't get one because there's towels on them and no one around. Some people took offence and moaned about it and the fact that they had kept their kids out of the pool until 10:00 am but others let theirs in at 9:00 am It's their own fault for not reading the sign properly that quite clearly says POOL OPEN 9:00 - 8:00. Great food there as usual. The new steak chef did himself proud :) A great base for holiday and we don't think you can go wrong.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leicesterlass9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Arrived around 1pm on a Saturday, reception and shop were both closed so collected keys to rooms from bar. Only one was ready, situated on the 3rd floor, room was basic but clean, and looked out onto a neighbouring roof with Thomson Gold hotel swimming pool across the road. Second room became available around 3pm, this was on the 2nd floor (not so great as we booked 2 rooms at the same time - would have preferred them together). This room was more dated, and in need of a bathroom spruce up! The view consisted of pine trees, but wasn't a big deal.
We ate in the Nags Head several times, very good breakfast (I only had the belly buster once as it bust my belly) and all food was plentiful, fresh and tasty. We had numerous lunches and evening meals in there as well, couldn't complain about any food we were served. There is a speciality steak menu available in the evenings, although we did not try any of them as we thought the prices were a little too steep for the type of bar it was.
We used the pool for a few days, sun beds were easy to get hold of, until the apartments became busier, then the obligatory 8am early risers would selfishly place their towels, and all their families towels on the sun beds in preparation for their day by the pool. Not a great problem, as the Hotel Anfora next door has two pools (one in front and one round the back) which was easy to get sun beds around at most times of day.
Night time entertainment didn't really exist here, the Nags Head is an English style pub really, music in background is about as lively as it would get, one pool table and some internet access machines in the corridor was about it - you do get free wi-fi in the bar, when the room was full it was hit and miss if you could connect though.
Pros - close access to beach, good food (if a little pricey), very friendly staff - very helpful when asked for anything, centrally situated in Es Cana but away from the hustle and bustle of the front bars and restaurants.
Cons - Walls and floors are not very thick - did get quite allot of noise from other apartments, maid service consisted of a towel change every few days - nothing else, Nags Head bar has a curfew of around 12am - we found this strange for a holiday bar as sometimes the shutters were down well before this, coming back from a restaurant for a chill out in the bar before bed was generally cut shorter than we would have liked, food not on offer between 3-6pm, shop and reception had strange hours as well - fitting the staff arrangements but maybe not the holiday makers!
All in all we enjoyed our stay in Es Cana, we would go back again - but maybe to a half board hotel as we spent an awful lot more euros than we intended!

Room Tip: Third floor looking toward beach if possible, nice breeze in the evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PeteH223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Situated in a good spot for all that es cana has to offer. Room::: well this is were you have to realise it is budget, but there is no excuse for some things :::The floor was disgusting so my wife ended up mopping everywhere and believe me it was dirty::: sheets never changed at all in 7 days!! ::Towels same as sheets!!!::: now here is the best I asked the cleaning lady for some but the lady says NO!! but fair play I did get extra (2No) toilet rolls for the whole week!! BIG LOL. The beds are shocking and we ended up sleeping on balcony, Serious!!!
It really is a shame because a little bit of work and this would command easily an extra 50 euros a night. I knew that for what we paid it was never going to be the ritz but virtually no effort to make the stay enjoyable.or comfortable.

Room Tip: Good room tip, anything above 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank accymark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My partner and i spend 2 weeks at these apartments and had a lovely holiday. We just wanted a clean and tidy apartment close to the beach and thats what we got.
When we arrived we were greeted by the receptionist/ shop attendant Susan, she was very helpful and friendly and made us feel welcome. There is also a Bar below the apartments run bar Lito, we had some laughs with him of an evening!
We spent some time around the pool but mostly we were at the beach a short walk away.
The location of the apartments is very Handy for buses and taxis. Thanks for a great holiday, we will return!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Es Canar
0.1 mi away
Caribe Ibiza Hotel
Caribe Ibiza Hotel
#6 of 13 in Es Canar
1,625 reviews
0.4 mi away
azuLine Hotel Coral Beach
0.3 mi away
Alua Miami Ibiza
Alua Miami Ibiza
#3 of 13 in Es Canar
3,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
azuLine Hotel Atlantic
azuLine Hotel Atlantic
#5 of 13 in Es Canar
867 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Anfora
Hotel Anfora
#1 of 13 in Es Canar
660 reviews
2.4 mi away
azuLine Hotel Mediterraneo
azuLine Hotel Mediterraneo
#47 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cortijo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cortijo

Address: Cardona 29, 07840 Es Canar, Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Santa Eulalia del Rio > Es Canar
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Es Canar
Price Range: £33 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — El Cortijo 1.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Cortijo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cortijo Hotel Es Canar
El Cortijo Ibiza/Es Canar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing