We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little place”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of El Cortijo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Cortijo
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great little place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Just had a week here,the apartments are central for everything,beach five minute stroll,all bars and eating places only a stones through away,downstairs is "The Nags Head" english pub which is always quite busy and does great food,there is also a minimarket attached which is handy for any bits you want,the apartment is nice and clean,towels changed every other day,the staff are excellent,had slight problem with a tap,reported it and it was soon fixed.The resort of Es Cana is great.I would definitely stay at the El Cortijo again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank royjphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    26
    23
    18
    19
See reviews for
42
37
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Having just returned after a weeks late season holiday at this cracking hotel, I would strongly recommend it to anyone who, like ourselves, are on a limited budget but want to be comfortable.
Attentive bar staff with a sense of humour is always a bonus. The room and kitchen area ( Self catering ) were well appointed ( Including a bottle opener.....BONUS ) and clean and an unexpected large balcony. We didn't eat at the Nags Head as we wanted to see as much of the resort as possible but the standard of the food we saw being served was very good. And the Chef is a headcase! IF, and it's a big IF. there was a debit mark, the bath in our room was a little tired but then again so is mine at home. Well done and thanks to all at El Cortijo and the Nags Head.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fraser W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

I have just arrived at home in the UK and 24hrs after my XXL T-Bone Steak I'm still full!
4 of us dined, 3 of us had steaks and all agreed the meal was not only plentiful but extremely tasty and phenomenal value. Shame we discovered it on the last day!
The service was very friendly as well so I would definately recommend over some of the pricier restaurants in town.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank chrish82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We have just got back from our holiday at the El Cortijo Apartments and me and my family
cannot praise it enough, the rooms are clean big and comfortable the staff are extremely nice and helpful and the food is lovely not to mention the steaks which are out of this world!!!
We were meant to be there for 1 week but ended up staying for a further 3 days as we felt like
we were so at home there!! We got back 2 days ago and im just about to call them up to book for next june already thats how much we enjoyed it and for a family ranging from 60years old down
to 8years old all of us agree it was are best holiday yet. El Cortijo (Sue,Lito and gang) thank you very very much you will be seeing us soon xxx

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sam k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here during August and the hotel was sound, in a great location, the staff are great, food is lovely, and the rooms are clean, the pool is a reasonable size, and you must try the steaks here there awesome!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clmh78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Our third time here which says a lot. For the first time this year there was a problem with people hogging sunbeds by putting their towels on them and then disappearing for ages. Credit to Steve the barman as he went and told the people concerned that its not fair to others who come for a sunbed and can't get one because there's towels on them and no one around. Some people took offence and moaned about it and the fact that they had kept their kids out of the pool until 10:00 am but others let theirs in at 9:00 am It's their own fault for not reading the sign properly that quite clearly says POOL OPEN 9:00 - 8:00. Great food there as usual. The new steak chef did himself proud :) A great base for holiday and we don't think you can go wrong.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leicesterlass9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Arrived around 1pm on a Saturday, reception and shop were both closed so collected keys to rooms from bar. Only one was ready, situated on the 3rd floor, room was basic but clean, and looked out onto a neighbouring roof with Thomson Gold hotel swimming pool across the road. Second room became available around 3pm, this was on the 2nd floor (not so great as we booked 2 rooms at the same time - would have preferred them together). This room was more dated, and in need of a bathroom spruce up! The view consisted of pine trees, but wasn't a big deal.
We ate in the Nags Head several times, very good breakfast (I only had the belly buster once as it bust my belly) and all food was plentiful, fresh and tasty. We had numerous lunches and evening meals in there as well, couldn't complain about any food we were served. There is a speciality steak menu available in the evenings, although we did not try any of them as we thought the prices were a little too steep for the type of bar it was.
We used the pool for a few days, sun beds were easy to get hold of, until the apartments became busier, then the obligatory 8am early risers would selfishly place their towels, and all their families towels on the sun beds in preparation for their day by the pool. Not a great problem, as the Hotel Anfora next door has two pools (one in front and one round the back) which was easy to get sun beds around at most times of day.
Night time entertainment didn't really exist here, the Nags Head is an English style pub really, music in background is about as lively as it would get, one pool table and some internet access machines in the corridor was about it - you do get free wi-fi in the bar, when the room was full it was hit and miss if you could connect though.
Pros - close access to beach, good food (if a little pricey), very friendly staff - very helpful when asked for anything, centrally situated in Es Cana but away from the hustle and bustle of the front bars and restaurants.
Cons - Walls and floors are not very thick - did get quite allot of noise from other apartments, maid service consisted of a towel change every few days - nothing else, Nags Head bar has a curfew of around 12am - we found this strange for a holiday bar as sometimes the shutters were down well before this, coming back from a restaurant for a chill out in the bar before bed was generally cut shorter than we would have liked, food not on offer between 3-6pm, shop and reception had strange hours as well - fitting the staff arrangements but maybe not the holiday makers!
All in all we enjoyed our stay in Es Cana, we would go back again - but maybe to a half board hotel as we spent an awful lot more euros than we intended!

Room Tip: Third floor looking toward beach if possible, nice breeze in the evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeteH223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Es Canar hotels
0.0 mi away
Caribe Ibiza Hotel
Caribe Ibiza Hotel
#4 of 14 in Es Canar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
0.3 mi away
Intertur Hotel Miami Ibiza
0.1 mi away
Hostal Mar y Huerta
Hostal Mar y Huerta
#9 of 14 in Es Canar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
azuLine Hotel Coral Beach
azuLine Hotel Coral Beach
#8 of 14 in Es Canar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
0.2 mi away
FERGUS Paraiso Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Invisa Hotel Ereso
Invisa Hotel Ereso
#1 of 14 in Es Canar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cortijo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cortijo

Property: El Cortijo
Address: Cardona 29, 07840 Es Canar, Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Santa Eulalia del Rio > Es Canar
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Es Canar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — El Cortijo 1.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Onthebeach and LoveHolidays so you can book your El Cortijo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cortijo Hotel Es Canar
El Cortijo Ibiza/Es Canar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing