We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Apartments Playa Sol
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Es Canar
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Tui Magic Life Cala Pada(Santa Eulalia del Rio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Breeze(Santa Eulalia del Rio)
View Hotel
Apartamentos Los Arcos(Santa Eulalia del Rio)
View Hotel
Suite Hotel S'Argamassa Palace(Santa Eulalia del Rio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Can Sanso(Santa Eulalia del Rio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grupotel Santa Eularia Hotel(Santa Eulalia del Rio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Iberostar Santa Eulalia(Santa Eulalia del Rio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Apartamentos Casa Luis(Santa Eulalia del Rio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tropic Garden Aparthotel(Santa Eulalia del Rio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
ME Ibiza(Santa Eulalia del Rio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
39
36
10
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
39
36
10
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmiranda restaurantsmall harbourthese apartmentssea viewopposite the beachtwin bedsdiscount cardfresh towelsself cateringfab locationhippy marketperfect holidaybus stopair conditioningnext yearbalconyreception
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2012

we have been coming ti ibiza for the best part of tirty year and the playa sol is the best app weve ever stopped not only very clean but you are made very welcome by family that owns them my children will not go any were else app very big everything you need and if any problems they are sorted stright away not 2 or 3 days after .restaurant excellent food and service nothing to much trouble for them

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Just returned from the Playa Sol Apartments in Es Canar on 14th July 2012.
Firstly, I must admit the town of Es Canar and the locals are first class, including the food, give or take a few choice eateries. Including the one next to Mr Fish, the food was sub standard and the price they charged ( 6 persons) was double what you would pay in any other place.!
If you are looking for good food / service and value for money either day or night, then go along to the "MARVENT" great service and great food ( try the Big Breakfast Best in Town)
A must is the Hippy Market on a Wednesday, you have guy's there playing in bands who I suspect have never left the island from the 70s and they are really very good.
Back to the Playa Sol Apartments. When we first arrived we where met by Peter "Tall English Guy in his Sixties with long white hair" (Nice One). Peter was a gentlemen on arrival however, we suspected that Peter had sampled some of the local "Sherry", as there was six of us and Peter could not manage to understand that we had booked two rooms to accomadate two adults & one child in each room.
Happy day's everything was great, rooms were cleaned every day, and I could not fault the room service (First Class).
Down side was the night prior to our departure, we asked Peter if we could stay in our rooms until 5.00pm the next day, as our pick up was not until 7.00pm. Peter confirmed that this would not be a problem. Howevever, he wanted 10 Euros per person per room, which was 60 Euros in total for us to have our rooms for 5 hours, which was not a problem ( As stated on the notice board at reception). However, one of other party (two adults & one child) did not want their room. Therefore, I said to Peter if we could only have our own room for the five hours to store our luggage and have a shower, but he said it would 40 Euros?. When I questioned the hotel policy he backed down and reverted back to the 60 Euros for the two rooms, which I agreed to pay.
Next day of our departure at 11.39 am I went to pay Peter our 60 Euros for our extended stay until 5.00pm and further hand him the safe key ( which I paid 20 Euros) Peter informed me that we Could not have our Rooms, as there had been bookings for the rooms within a 10 hour period.?
Therefore, the upshot was we had to be packed and be out of our rooms within 21 mins. Thereafter, we had to have a shower on the beach and return to the lobby of the Playa Sol and undress and change (4 Adults & 2 Children) in front of patrons entering the Playa Sol next to the lift, (Questions must be answered by management of this facility and the tour company's, booking famaily's into this establishment.? Do you really want your customers put in this type of situation. I don't think so, your are putting a very good family holiday accomadation in a serious situation. If I were you I would re-think your front line holiday welcome person and late flight-check out facilities, within this good facility.

Room Tip: Check room 203 fridge, as I reported it as not working. Peter fixed it but only put a bit of carboard paper between the door, which did not work. all food and milk went off.? Need new fridge in (Room 203).
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank russellj248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

stayed here with a friend for four days. the room was soooo clean you could eat from the floor !
Fine space with small kitchenette area. English guy(Peter) works on reception part time and always happy to answer any queries.(good selection of paperbacks to borrow from behind reception) The restaurant under the hotel - Miranda- was owned by the man who owned the apartments, he's Manolo and again really really helpful. situated right on the shore where the glass bottomed boat goes from and 10 mins walk from Hippy Market on Wednesdays (usual tat,straight from Thailand) all in all a very nice place for a few days. I would imagine it would be a little cramped for two weeks but its only a place to lay you head right ?

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Just got back from Es Canar Ibiza what a lovely place we stayed at the Playa Sol Apartments which was right on the front really nice apartments even though they were only 1 key only thing that was missing was a pool but you could use the pools around the area we used the one at the Mar Y Huenta maid service daily very clean apartment bars and restaurants right on the doorstep.

Room Tip: we were on the first floor and had a terrace not a balcony which was very big room 103
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank geovil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Dad 44, Mum, 34, Girls 9 and 4.

We booked the Playa Sol apartments last minute via Teletext holidays and flew with Jet2. The Airport bus stops to the rear of the Panorama Hotel which is next door to the Playa Sol. Don't bother with the expensive shuttle bus (115 euros return for family of 4) or taxis (35 euros each way). The bus runs every 2 hours from 9am to 9pm and is only 4 euros per person each way (under 5's free). 40 minute transfer time and dead easy.

We spoke to the receptionist (Peter - nice bloke) over the phone before we arrived and he shuffled the bookings around to get us a sea-view apartment ("because we were courteous enough to inform him of our arrival time"). We stopped in apartment 206 which is on the middle of the 3 floors and overlooks the small harbour. The Miranda restaurant is on the ground floor - the food is okay and the service very efficient and friendly.

The apartment we stayed in was basic but very clean and comfortable. The sea/resort view was just amazing. There was a bedsit-style living/dining room with kitchenette to one end, twin beds with bolster cushions to use as a sofa and a sliding patio door onto a small but adequate balcony where we spent most of our apartment time (apart from sleeping). A doorway led into a twin/double bedroom which had an ensuite-style shower room. Very clean, good powerful shower (always loads of hot water) and an endless supply of free loo roll! The only downside was that the drains did smell from time to time so we had to keep the bathroom door closed. Not a real problem though.
There were also 2 large fitted wardrobes in the bedroom and plenty of left-behind coathangers. Maid service every day and towels/linen changed upon request - they were very thorough and the place was a joy to come back to after a sweaty day on the beach.

A safety deposit box is on the living room wall and the charge is 15 euros a week - key from reception when booking in. Reception also hire good quality fans t 15 euros a week which is much cheaper than most local hotels. Water can be bought at reception for a very reasonable price (5 and 8 litre size = 2.5 and 3.5 euros respectively).
Reception times are a bit hit-and-miss but are clearly posted on the info board in reception. The Miranda menu is also in reception and guests can take food from the restaurant up to their apartments. There is an internet point also in reception which I think is about 4 euros for half an hour. and about 2 euros for 15 minutes. Handy for checking for return flight delays.

There is no pool but we used the two at the Playa Anfora for free which is about a 200m walk round the block - a 3 minute walk and was no problem at all. The Anfoa terrace was quite crowded and usually all the sunbeds were taken, but there were plenty of tables and chairs. The kids loved the pools although there weren't anything spectacular. The has a small semi-shaded playground which served it's purpose. Food and drink there was a tad expensive but not too bad. We smuggled bottles of drinks in our beach bag and no one said anything. The kids looked forward to our walk back via the Spar shop for a Callipo lolly for a euro a throw. Much welcomed after a day in the heat.

We ate twice at the Miranda. The food was okay but not the best in the resort. We mainly went to Vista Al Mar which is just around the corner up towards the spar shop and the MarVent next door to Charlie's bar which are both less than a 100m along the sea front opposite the beach.

I could write a whole review about MarVent, but to a long story short it was nothing short of brilliant. The menu was extensive and catered for all pockets(Burgers from 4 euros to Steak and Fish for 15 to 20 euros). The food was excellent (I had a superb fillet steak on the last night), service was very fast if a bit too pushy - the food was literally thrown on to the table. The kids were well catered for with all the usual suspects - pizza, nuggets, sausage and mash, burgers, pasta, fish fingers etc. They even had seasoned curly fries and wedges! Not haute cuisine, but great food for a laid-back holiday. We all loved it.

The Vista Al Mar was run by friendly English staff. The food was good, service good and happy hour half price drinks from 8.30-9.30 were a bonus. They also do bingo and quizzes etc if you like that sort of thing. Corny night out but good fun.

Charlies bar was our regular end to the night (apart from the late night drink on the balcony under the stars). They had tribute acts on every night and the place was buzzing. Take That, Beyonce, Michael Jackson, Amy Winehoue (RIP) to name a few. Excellent day beds on the terrace where you can kick back with the family. Special moments indeed.

We went to the Jacaranda Lounge round the corner one night just to lounge about on the large open-hut-type-bed things overlooking the pool. The chill-out music and mood lighting was very effective but the drinks' prices were reflected in this premium setting. The music from the Jacaranda could be heard from our apartment as it could just be seen through a gap behind the Las Arenas apartments next door. It wasn't that intrusive though.

We read alot of great review about the Los Jarros restaurant before we went but found that it had changed it's name to O Camino De Santiago and had gone all traditional Galician fayre and Tapas. The prices were a bit steep but it looks like they're catering for the more mature and discerning diner (there was no kids menu). We didn't eat there but the menu did look nice.

The only real problem we had the whole week was that a large group of Spanish Students had been booked in the same week and they were out clubbing until 5 or 7am each night and made a right royal racket upon their return - they even played the bongos one morning (quite well I have to say - but bloody annoying at the same time).

A quiet word in the owner's ear at the Miranda soon put a stop to it though and all the signs on reception door that told English guests to keep the noise down we soon translated into Spanish! The owner could not have been more helpful and apologetic. You get the feeling that they really do care about the quality of your stay - even thought it is officially only a "one key" rated establishment. Top marks from us.

I'm pleased to report that we saw NO JELLYFISH in the shallow water by the beach this time. Last time we went about 4 years ago the sea was literally swimming with them. It looks like they've put a net across the bay to stop them getting to shore. We did see a few when we went out beyond the net on a Pedalo (10 euros for an hour - great fun). However, there is still a seaweed problem on the beach and the water quality was not the best with all those greasy bodies in it.

All-in-All we had a great stress-free week. Ate well, drank too much, and slept well. Got a bit frazzled round the edges and managed to cram in a good book too. Not bad for £950 (including return flights) plus another 700 euros spending money for a family of 4 (and that was for EVERYTHING, including transfers). Yes we could have gone All-inclusive for a bit less but it was so much nicer not being a "sheep" and having some freedom. I also got to drink my ice-cold Cerveza out of a real glass, which was miles better than the 250ml plastic cup I got in Majorca last year!! And the kids had all the lollies they could eat - and some more!

It rained once (and did it rain!) for half a morning which resulted in the roads flooding and the manhole covers being lifted - scattering random bits of poo and toilet paper along the street - much to the amusement of our two girls. "Look there's poo on the road!" The locals soon cleared it all up and by lunchtime it as back to clear skies and 30 degree sunshine. Although the road did smell a bit suspect for a couple of days after that.

Will we go back? - Most definitely!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Zoltar66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews