We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel for familys”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Anfora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Anfora
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Es Canar
Certificate of Excellence
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great hotel for familys”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

just got back on 27 august great hotel for the money we paid , we went b&b there was plenty of choices from continental to the usual cerials fruit to bacon sausages eggs etc . the hotel was spotless also the entertainment for the children was great would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank welshlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    204
    51
    9
    9
See reviews for
245
183
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My Husband and I stayed at the Hotel Anfora Playa from the 3rd August 2013.
Found it a bit strange at first, as we normally go self catering and this was half board.
Rooms very clean and tidy, maid service every day except Tuesday's although they do still change the towels.
Had to hire a fan, as the aircon, although installed was not ready(apparently 2014)
1euro 50 per day plus 5 euro deposit. You will need one.
Very friendly staff, all of whom work very hard, they are constantly on the go.
Great selection of food in the resturant, even fussy eaters (like my husband) will find something.
We used to go for breakfast about 9.15am and dinner about 8pm, when it wasn't too busy,
only had to queue about twice for a table and the wait was no longer than a couple of minutes.

Although small, Es Cana is a very pretty place with a lovely beach literally 150m from the hotel.
Plenty of shops, bars and resturants, and I've never seen so many doctors and pharmacists in one location.

Wednesday's is the local Hippy Market, I love a market but one piece of advice go before 10am
because within an hour you can't move, never seen so many people all at once.

Went to a bar called Moe's a couply of times, they do great food and you've got to try one of their burgers!!!!!! delicious, and the best sangria was at Jacaranda's.

Had a great time,would definitly go back.

Karon
London.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I stayed here in the middle of august for 11 nights with my husband and 5 year old daughter we found the hotel to be very clean and well kept, pool areas were always immaculate.
The food in the hotel was really good enjoyed everything.... rooms were a ok size and had plenty of hangers and draw space obviously I wouldn't forget your fan very hot!!!!!
my daughter enjoyed the entertainment mini disco was a hit!!!
my only gripe being that there were some families who returned every year and the entertainment on an evening seemed to revolve round them quite a bit so we tended to go out on an evening after the mini disco.
overall a good hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

My husband, our 8 year old son and myself stayed at the Anfora Playa for 10 nights starting from 9th August. The hotel is in a gr8 location and is very clean. All staff work exceptionally hard to make your stay special. The food was excellent, both breakfast and evening meal, always hot, gr8 choices and very tasty. We hired two fans which made our room bearable, they were on constantly, it was annoying knowing the air con had been installed but not yet up and working (we were told it would now be next season). It got extremely hot in the exenings but like i said the fans made it bearable. The buses are gr8 to see the island we visited Santa Eulilia, San Antonio & Ibiza Town and are cheap too. The hippy market 10 mins walk from the hotel is well worth a visit on a Wednesday. Gr8 having the 2 swimming pools too. Our room was at the back of the hotel over looking the back pool, which was lovely and quite. Front rooms have the noise from the entertainment team till around midnight.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Pethers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We booked this holiday 13 months in advance for ourselves and three children. we had a family room and a twin room. We spent two weeks at the Anfora Playa in August 2013. On arrival we found that although our family room was on the same floor as the twin room, it was on the other side of the hotel. We asked twice to be moved but were told that they could not put the children any closer to us. This caused us lots of anxiety.

When we booked we were told that the air con had been installed and would be working, it wasn't as they haven't got the paperwork to operate it. This then meant we had to pay €1.50 per night to hire a fan, plus a €5 deposit. We were at the front of the hotel and it was like an oven all the time. Having to pay €3 per day worked out expensive.
The safe in the room was very expensive at €48 for the two week stay, with a €6 deposit. Far too expensive!
Food was good but the facilities are inadequate and queuing was the norm. Lots of choice but little in the way of vegetables although there was lots of salad and fruit. At breakfast hot drinks and juices were available as well as water but in the evening, the only drinks to be had were not free.
Rooms were very well cleaned and the sheets and towels were changed daily. Beds are really hard and the pillows are poor quality.
Entertainment was good with a mini disco in the evenings that the little one loved. The entertainment staff work hard. There are not many activities for little ones but enough for older children. The thing that I didn't like was the amount of things that were payable, for example glitter tattoos set out right in front of the mini disco costing €10 each. The little ones obviously want one and then you get a meltdown when you say no. Photos with birds and reptiles cost €10 each and you are stopped from taking your own. I thought these prices were very high.
There are three pools, two at the front and a larger one at the back. The back pool didn't open until 10 but people begin queuing before 9 to get the ones in the shade. The front pool had few sun beds and these had towels on by silly o'clock in the morning!
Wifi connection was rubbish but the receptionist gave us a free hour as we could not connect.
This review sounds quite negative but I have listed the the things that I didn't like because the brochures tell you all the things that you will like!
Es Cana is a lovely resort which I have been to many times and would return but I do not think that I would return to the Anfora unless I was sure that the air con was working and that our children were near to us.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel are the hottest so ask for a room at the side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Terri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Just got back from 2 weeks in the anfora playa have to say this was one off the best hotels ive stayed went with my 8 year old daughter and my mum the food was good choices 4 everyone rooms okay the thing that made this holiday was Emma and Tony they were great always up beat and great with all the kids my daughter loved joining in with all their activities hav already booked up 2 return next year!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heza16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcestershire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Excellent food, great choice. Great staff especially waiter called Alex, always smiling.
Clean hotel, great rooms. We took our own fan as we knew about the air con problem
which does let the hotel rooms down.
Hippy market on a Wednesday definitely worth a trip. Also the trip to San Antonio for the sunset on a Saturday night. Boat trip to Calla Longa, lovely beach and clear water. Boat trip to Ibiza town, though went at wrong time as main shops were closed as we went on a Sunday afternoon.
Jacaranda lovely bar and entertainment in the evening.
Es Cana a small place, but glad we went for 10 days as husband lost some time of his holiday as poorly and confined to the hotel room for 40 hours! Beware of the jelly fish at Es Cana sea. Son wasn't very happy when he got stung!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tashWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Es Canar
0.3 mi away
Intertur Hotel Miami Ibiza
0.2 mi away
Invisa Hotel Ereso
Invisa Hotel Ereso
#1 of 14 in Es Canar
1,677 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caribe Ibiza Hotel
Caribe Ibiza Hotel
#4 of 14 in Es Canar
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
ME Ibiza
ME Ibiza
#4 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
829 reviews
0.7 mi away
IBEROSTAR Santa Eulalia
IBEROSTAR Santa Eulalia
#9 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
153 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aguas de Ibiza
Aguas de Ibiza
#3 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Anfora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Anfora

Property: Hotel Anfora
Address: Calle Cardona 9, 07840 Es Canar, Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Santa Eulalia del Rio > Es Canar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Es Canar
#2 Romantic Hotel in Es Canar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Anfora 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 2 minutes walk from the beach. Set just 100 m from Es Canar Beach, Hotel Anfora Ibiza features terraces, swimming pools and an outdoor spa and fitness area. There is also an on-site restaurant, Restaurant Azul. Air-conditioned rooms are spacious and bright, and include a TV, safe, hairdryer and free WiFi. Restaurant Azul offers a breakfast buffet, and both international and local cuisine. Guests will also find a pool bar serving cocktails, and a lounge bar. Hotel Anfora Ibiza has courtesy rooms where you can shower on check-out day and leave luggage. Punta Arabi Hippy Market and Chirincana Bar are just 50 m from the hotel. Sant Eulalia can be reached in a 10-minute drive, while Ibiza Airport is 30 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Anfora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anfora Playa Hotel Es Canar
Anfora Playa Es Canar
Hotel Anfora Ibiza/Es Canar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing