We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST FAMILY Holiday EVER!!!”
Review of Hotel Anfora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Anfora
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Es Canar
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“BEST FAMILY Holiday EVER!!!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We travelled on 19th August for 2 weeks. Came home yesterday and have already booked to go back next yr!! We all LOVED it. We are a family of 4, kids aged 7 & 8. We usually go on a Thomson Super family holiday but felt they were all over priced this year so looked for something else. This hotel was cheaper than anything else available so we decided to go for it. I imagined that the food would be poor but booked thinking we would get breakfast and eat out most nights so it would still work out slightly cheaper than self catering. I was totally wrong. The food here is great. My husband is really fussy but even he was impressed and ate well. There is a great selection, its hot and plentyful. We had to wait for a table once but only for a for a couple of mins.
The hotel is spotless, all area's were always immaculate and staff are always on the go. The staff were all friendly and helpful. We had plenty of space in our room and there was enough room to store all our things. The rooms were cleaned daily except on a Tue but towels are still changed on this day. Beds were really comfy. Air con is in place but is not yet on but should be in 2014. We took a small fan with us and found the rooms to be fine with this on. You can also hire a fan. You can also hire a fridge (50 euros a week), hairdryer, iron, mobility scooters and wheel chairs.
It is an amazing place for families, there is entertainment through the day and night. The entertainment is organised by Emma and Tony who are both wonderful. They are always friendly and welcoming and are great with the kids, very patient and encouraging. We enjoyed lots of activities, Shooting, Archery, pool, Darts, Shuffle Board and many more. In the evening there was bingo, open the box, quizes, karaoke, parrot, magic and reptile shows and singers.There is also a mini club where kids can go and watch a film, play games, paint or just relax with friend for a bit.
The hotel is in a fab location, close to shops, beach, restaurants etc. Es Cana is quite small but is lovely and has everything you need. We did get the bus to santa Euillia, 1.55 euro's each, which was nice. It is much bigger and has a lovely harbour. We got the boat back to Es Cana which was 6 euros per adult and 3 per child.
We went on a Thomsons Sunset trip. This takes you to San antonio where you go out on a boat to watch the sunset. The boat trip was great and the sunset was amazing even on a slightly cloudy night. San Antonio was an eye opener though and I was glad we only had 2 hours to look around. It is like a bigger busier blackpool at night! Worth going on the trip though as the boat part was great. If you do go you miss your evening meal at the hotel. We didn't know at the time but if you ask reception they will make up a packed lunch for you to take with you.
There is a washing machine on the 3rd floor and it has a courtesy room you can use on your last day.
I cannot reccomend this hotel enough. We met lots of lovely families and most people have been coming back for years which just proves how popular it is.

Room Tip: we slept at the front of hotel. Road was a bit noisy but was fine with patio door closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eh1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    216
    54
    9
    12
See reviews for
267
209
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We are a family of 6 and have just returned from a 2week stay and have had an great time at the Anfora Playa. Our first impressions were that it looked better than the brochure photos, a spacious reception area and open plan into the the bar and front pool. The back pool was smaller than we'd hoped but we all enjoyed it and spent our pool days around there, always getting a couple of sun beds easily. There were plenty of varied activities on offer each day, archery and shooting, lilo racing, water polo to name but a few, all under the leadership of Emma and Toni who were fabulous with adults and children alike, always energetic and full of fun, treating everyone as an individual.They also ran the evening entertainment with the same enthusiasm-they're both a great asset to the hotel.
The rooms are fine, air con will be a massive advantage but we found the beds very comfortable and plenty of storage. Maid service excellent. As a large family we took the interconnecting rooms allocated to us, (123/124) which overlooked the side road. I had read about the lorries waking guests up on this side of the hotel and unfortunately I have to say that's exactly what happens, but we got used to it and it didn't spoil our holiday. Plus they were easily accessible on the first floor.
The restaurant and bar staff were hard working and friendly, the smiling Alex particularly memorable, and the food generally good.
Overall we had a relaxing and easy going holiday, met some great families, felt at home and would recommend to anyone who wants a easy family holiday, our children (aged 14-3) all said it was the best one so far!!! The resort of es canar is small but has everything to offer and bigger towns are only a bus ride or two away. Beaches are nice, just watch out for the jellyfish...!

Room Tip: Avoid the side road rooms unless, like us, you need interconnecting rooms, but to be fair, we didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GinnyDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

just got back on 27 august great hotel for the money we paid , we went b&b there was plenty of choices from continental to the usual cerials fruit to bacon sausages eggs etc . the hotel was spotless also the entertainment for the children was great would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank welshlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My Husband and I stayed at the Hotel Anfora Playa from the 3rd August 2013.
Found it a bit strange at first, as we normally go self catering and this was half board.
Rooms very clean and tidy, maid service every day except Tuesday's although they do still change the towels.
Had to hire a fan, as the aircon, although installed was not ready(apparently 2014)
1euro 50 per day plus 5 euro deposit. You will need one.
Very friendly staff, all of whom work very hard, they are constantly on the go.
Great selection of food in the resturant, even fussy eaters (like my husband) will find something.
We used to go for breakfast about 9.15am and dinner about 8pm, when it wasn't too busy,
only had to queue about twice for a table and the wait was no longer than a couple of minutes.

Although small, Es Cana is a very pretty place with a lovely beach literally 150m from the hotel.
Plenty of shops, bars and resturants, and I've never seen so many doctors and pharmacists in one location.

Wednesday's is the local Hippy Market, I love a market but one piece of advice go before 10am
because within an hour you can't move, never seen so many people all at once.

Went to a bar called Moe's a couply of times, they do great food and you've got to try one of their burgers!!!!!! delicious, and the best sangria was at Jacaranda's.

Had a great time,would definitly go back.

Karon
London.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I stayed here in the middle of august for 11 nights with my husband and 5 year old daughter we found the hotel to be very clean and well kept, pool areas were always immaculate.
The food in the hotel was really good enjoyed everything.... rooms were a ok size and had plenty of hangers and draw space obviously I wouldn't forget your fan very hot!!!!!
my daughter enjoyed the entertainment mini disco was a hit!!!
my only gripe being that there were some families who returned every year and the entertainment on an evening seemed to revolve round them quite a bit so we tended to go out on an evening after the mini disco.
overall a good hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

My husband, our 8 year old son and myself stayed at the Anfora Playa for 10 nights starting from 9th August. The hotel is in a gr8 location and is very clean. All staff work exceptionally hard to make your stay special. The food was excellent, both breakfast and evening meal, always hot, gr8 choices and very tasty. We hired two fans which made our room bearable, they were on constantly, it was annoying knowing the air con had been installed but not yet up and working (we were told it would now be next season). It got extremely hot in the exenings but like i said the fans made it bearable. The buses are gr8 to see the island we visited Santa Eulilia, San Antonio & Ibiza Town and are cheap too. The hippy market 10 mins walk from the hotel is well worth a visit on a Wednesday. Gr8 having the 2 swimming pools too. Our room was at the back of the hotel over looking the back pool, which was lovely and quite. Front rooms have the noise from the entertainment team till around midnight.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Pethers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton-on-the-Naze, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We booked this holiday 13 months in advance for ourselves and three children. we had a family room and a twin room. We spent two weeks at the Anfora Playa in August 2013. On arrival we found that although our family room was on the same floor as the twin room, it was on the other side of the hotel. We asked twice to be moved but were told that they could not put the children any closer to us. This caused us lots of anxiety.

When we booked we were told that the air con had been installed and would be working, it wasn't as they haven't got the paperwork to operate it. This then meant we had to pay €1.50 per night to hire a fan, plus a €5 deposit. We were at the front of the hotel and it was like an oven all the time. Having to pay €3 per day worked out expensive.
The safe in the room was very expensive at €48 for the two week stay, with a €6 deposit. Far too expensive!
Food was good but the facilities are inadequate and queuing was the norm. Lots of choice but little in the way of vegetables although there was lots of salad and fruit. At breakfast hot drinks and juices were available as well as water but in the evening, the only drinks to be had were not free.
Rooms were very well cleaned and the sheets and towels were changed daily. Beds are really hard and the pillows are poor quality.
Entertainment was good with a mini disco in the evenings that the little one loved. The entertainment staff work hard. There are not many activities for little ones but enough for older children. The thing that I didn't like was the amount of things that were payable, for example glitter tattoos set out right in front of the mini disco costing €10 each. The little ones obviously want one and then you get a meltdown when you say no. Photos with birds and reptiles cost €10 each and you are stopped from taking your own. I thought these prices were very high.
There are three pools, two at the front and a larger one at the back. The back pool didn't open until 10 but people begin queuing before 9 to get the ones in the shade. The front pool had few sun beds and these had towels on by silly o'clock in the morning!
Wifi connection was rubbish but the receptionist gave us a free hour as we could not connect.
This review sounds quite negative but I have listed the the things that I didn't like because the brochures tell you all the things that you will like!
Es Cana is a lovely resort which I have been to many times and would return but I do not think that I would return to the Anfora unless I was sure that the air con was working and that our children were near to us.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel are the hottest so ask for a room at the side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Terri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Es Canar
2.0 mi away
Sol Beach House Ibiza
Sol Beach House Ibiza
#13 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
1,744 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caribe Ibiza Hotel
Caribe Ibiza Hotel
#6 of 13 in Es Canar
1,529 reviews
0.3 mi away
Intertur Hotel Miami Ibiza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Invisa Hotel Ereso
Invisa Hotel Ereso
#1 of 13 in Es Canar
1,810 reviews
0.7 mi away
IBEROSTAR Santa Eulalia
IBEROSTAR Santa Eulalia
#1 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
297 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aguas de Ibiza
Aguas de Ibiza
#2 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Anfora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Anfora

Property: Hotel Anfora
Address: Calle Cardona 9, 07840 Es Canar, Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Santa Eulalia del Rio > Es Canar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Es Canar
#2 Family Hotel in Es Canar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Anfora 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 2 minutes walk from the beach. Set just 100 m from Es Canar Beach, Hotel Anfora Ibiza features terraces, swimming pools and an outdoor spa and fitness area. There is also an on-site restaurant, Restaurant Azul. Air-conditioned rooms are spacious and bright, and include a TV, safe, hairdryer and free WiFi. Restaurant Azul offers a breakfast buffet, and both international and local cuisine. Guests will also find a pool bar serving cocktails, and a lounge bar. Hotel Anfora Ibiza has courtesy rooms where you can shower on check-out day and leave luggage. Punta Arabi Hippy Market and Chirincana Bar are just 50 m from the hotel. Sant Eulalia can be reached in a 10-minute drive, while Ibiza Airport is 30 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Anfora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anfora Playa Hotel Es Canar
Anfora Playa Es Canar
Hotel Anfora Ibiza/Es Canar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing