We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel should be rated a 3*”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Anfora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Anfora
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Es Canar
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel should be rated a 3*”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed here from 28th July until 8th August. There was 12 of us including 4 children and 1 infant. We had two rooms overlooking the rear pool which was the quietest at "night" (one of these rooms had to relocate due to noise from the room directly above), we also had two rooms (one interconnecting) facing the front pool, rooms are basic, we paid 2 euros per a night to have air-conditioning which was well needed, also free WIFI provided to all guests. Cleanliness of this hotel is excellent, towels changed everyday if required. Food buffet style and plenty to choose from, all staff working here are great and friendly, more staff needed behind the bar though in the evening. Would definitely return again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing rear pool, top floor are the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank devil108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen F, Gerente at Hotel Anfora, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for you lovely comments.
We appreciate you have enjoyed your holiday staying at our hotel.
Thanks and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    204
    51
    9
    9
See reviews for
245
183
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed at the Anfora Playa from the 23rd July until the 1st August. There were 9 of us all together including a 5 year old and 2 teenagers . Our rooms looked over one of the pools which is at the back of the hotel. Rooms are basic but very clean, you could eat off the floor. Food is buffet style which had plenty of choices. Staff were brilliant and weather was glorious. There are 2 pools one is open from 8am onwards and the big one opens from 10am. We are hoping to go back next year would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Don't book trips through your rep. Air con is great, beach towels cost £10 euro but you get you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SadeTauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen F, Gerente at Hotel Anfora, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you have enjoyed your stay with us. It's very nice to know you like all our staff and all the hotel in general.
Thank you very much and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halifax
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Just returned from a 2 week stay at Anfora playa and loved it. THE food, bedroom comfort cleanliness are all worth above its 2 star rating. We did find at times there could have been more staff in reteraunt as you were left to clear youre own plates away and in the evening there was sometimes only one person looking very stressed behind the bar as a large que formed sometimes taking up to 20 mins to be served but saying this they always had a smile on there face. The back pool area is very spacious with plenty sun beds although a que did form in the morning when people were waiting for gates to open and then a mad scramble but this was not due to lack of sunbeds but people wanting there preffered spot. The only problem with rooms are people above scraping furniture around night and day which became grinding so next time i will be asking for a room on the top floor we moved our chair in front of dressing table becauseoff this and sat on end of bed as not to disturb people below us. Escana can be as quite or as lively as you like with bars holding entertainment our fav being popeyes where we usually had more to drink than intended. All in all a really enjoyable stay and yes i will definately go back

Room Tip: ask for a top floor room as not to hear furniture scraping on floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HalifaxJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen F, Gerente at Hotel Anfora, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,
We wanted to thank you for taking time giving us your feedback. Your opinion is very important for us so that we can improve everything.
Our bar is opened all day. We have more staff on duty due to the increase of guests as it's high season in the hotel and as so we can give a good service and avoid waiting times. Sorry if at any time you had to wait to be served.
Thank you very much and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was my 4th stay in 4 years and yet again had a great Time!

As I've reviewed before the food staff and cleanliness are in my opinion 100%! Pleased too see Mandy still behind the bar. The only point which i can mark them down on if i have too was there was a local street carnival on a few of the days we were staying which did mean that there wasn't entertainment on in the evening but hardly a big deal. The hotel now offers free wifi, the air conditioning has now been fitted but could with being a few degrees cooler to feel the benefit.
Have booked to go again next august and cant wait!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bridie1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen F, Gerente at Hotel Anfora, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your feedback.
The 10th of July is the big festivities of Es Canar and we would like to encourage our guests to enjoy it. There is a street party that takes place 2 days before and on the 10th with music and fireworks. On the 10th we have our show earlier to allow our guests to enjoy the athmosphere of the village and have plenty of time to look for a place where to enjoy the party.
For the same reason, during the street party, we do a lot of activities during the day for guests enjoyment.
We take the opportunity to remind all our guests that to have a good temperature in the room all the doors must be closed all the time, if not, automatically it will stop working (the temperature must be between 21ºC and 25ºC).
Thank you very much and see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We have just returned from a very enjoyable 1 week stay at the Anfora Playa. The rooms are cleaned every day and the whole hotel is kept very clean.
The rear pool does not open until 10 o clock which is great and prevents people reserving sunbeds. One negative is the pool bar, on many occasions we were left waiting as the staff had gone off to get food that had been ordered.
The first part of the week was very relaxing but come the Thursday when the schools broke up the whole dynamics of the Hotel changed, busier noisier and the Restaurant struggling to accomodate everyone.
We had an end room which was very noisy with the evening entertainment keeping you awake until midnight. The rear view rooms are quieter.
Overall though a very enjoyable 1st time visit to Ibiza.

Room Tip: Choose a rear view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen F, Gerente at Hotel Anfora, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks for taking time giving us your feedback.
We take the opportunity to clarify that our kitchen for health and safety reasons is located in the main building. We apologise if at some point we take a little longer in serving meals.
On the other hand, our hotel is a family hotel. Here come people of all ages but most of our guests are families, specially during the school holidays. July and August are our busiest time, we have entertainment until midnight, we always control the sound limits and if anyone comes to reception with any requirements we try and accomplish them. We're very happy to do our best.
We want to thank you for your comments and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport south wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Me and hubby came here for 3 day break straight after the wedding what a lovely hotel they even had bubbly and flowers in our room for us and a card the hotel should be more star than it is I would defo book to come back with my boys rooms were clean they couldn't do enough for u the island is quiet not a lot to do about hour from the airport just over €40 for a taxi

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank wonabe2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen F, Gerente at Hotel Anfora, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,
We just wanted to thank you for your comments.
You have stayed at our hotel just for a short time, so its fantastic to know your have enjoyed being with us.
See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Spent 10 enjoyable days at a lovely family hotel that is certainly better than its official 2* rating. New air con in rooms was great.

Excellent location, just minutes away from most things in the resort and 10 min walking distance from the Hippy Market held every weds.

I emailed hotel before our visit and requested two rooms overlooking rear pool, nice to arrive and be given the rooms we requested.

Plenty of sunbeds, rear pool doesn't open until 10 which prevents people from claiming sunbeds too early. Rear pool closes at 7pm and on one day there was a minor incident about people not leaving on time, perhaps a clock by the bar at the rear pool might stop this happening in future.

Cleaners do a great job, hotel is sparkling, rooms cleaned every day apart from Tues and the majority of the receptionists, bar staff and waiting staff do a fantastic job in a friendly manner.

The food is of very good quality, both Spanish and British inspired food is provided by the team of Spanish chefs, very good selection for size of hotel. On a couple of the nights we had roast beef and lamb dinners and I think you would struggle to get better roast dinners in the UK.

The day time entertainment was low key, both adults and children got involved with things such as shooting and archery. The evening entertainment was a bit hit or miss, a couple of the professional acts were good (singer Danny Murphy and a couple who sang acoustic songs, sorry can't remember their names). Perhaps a few more professional acts would raise the level of evening entertainment.

Overall an excellent family holiday booked with Thomson for about £50 per person per night for half board during the school holidays - excellent value!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking rear pool are best, we had 331 and 332.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phil64Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen F, Gerente at Hotel Anfora, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We really appreciate the comments you give us.
Our priority is that our guests enjoy their holiday, really happy to know you have enjoyed your stay with us.
See you soon at Hotel Anfora Playa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Es Canar
0.3 mi away
Intertur Hotel Miami Ibiza
0.2 mi away
Invisa Hotel Ereso
Invisa Hotel Ereso
#1 of 14 in Es Canar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caribe Ibiza Hotel
Caribe Ibiza Hotel
#4 of 14 in Es Canar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
ME Ibiza
ME Ibiza
#4 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.7 mi away
IBEROSTAR Santa Eulalia
IBEROSTAR Santa Eulalia
#8 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aguas de Ibiza
Aguas de Ibiza
#2 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Anfora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Anfora

Property: Hotel Anfora
Address: Calle Cardona 9, 07840 Es Canar, Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Santa Eulalia del Rio > Es Canar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Es Canar
#2 Family Hotel in Es Canar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Anfora 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 2 minutes walk from the beach. Set just 100 m from Es Canar Beach, Hotel Anfora Ibiza features terraces, swimming pools and an outdoor spa and fitness area. There is also an on-site restaurant, Restaurant Azul. Air-conditioned rooms are spacious and bright, and include a TV, safe, hairdryer and free WiFi. Restaurant Azul offers a breakfast buffet, and both international and local cuisine. Guests will also find a pool bar serving cocktails, and a lounge bar. Hotel Anfora Ibiza has courtesy rooms where you can shower on check-out day and leave luggage. Punta Arabi Hippy Market and Chirincana Bar are just 50 m from the hotel. Sant Eulalia can be reached in a 10-minute drive, while Ibiza Airport is 30 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Anfora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anfora Playa Hotel Es Canar
Anfora Playa Es Canar
Hotel Anfora Ibiza/Es Canar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing