We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Hotel Europe Comarruga
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Coma Ruga
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great value for money Hotel”
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Gran Europe Coma Ruga

The area of Coma Ruga is just a long stretch of sandy beach with a few bars restaurants etc it is not what you would call picturesque as it is just a concrete jungle with a few childrens rides, crazy golf etc but if you want to stay on a good blue flag beach with clear water or by the pool eating and drinking or if you want to use it as a base for exploring then it is a good medium class Hotel in which to do so.

The Hotel is located about 50 minutes drive from Reus Airport and accessable by train or hire car at a reasonable price. (Car hire 75 pounds per week)


This Hotel mainly caters for spanish clientelle so the food is geared towards them but has a good range of salads, chips, saute potatoes, frankfurters, various steaks (even sirloin sometimes) and cutlets that are cooked for you while you wait, stews, fish, cooked vegetables, I found the food very delicious. Breakfast consists of meats, salad, jam, fruit, yoghurt etc or you can have, streaky bacon,egg and delicious sausages and mushrooms (with a hint of garlic).


Just in front of the hotel is the beach, you literally have to walk over the pavement and you are right there, the sand would be great for making sand castles if you have children. Just along the beach you can hire pedalos for 12 euros per hour.
The beach seems to go on for miles and is great if you want to go for a good long swim.

There is frequent entertainment at the Hotel as there is a regular disco in the outside tree lined bar area. There are numerous guests that enthusiastically got up and did ballroom type dancing (including the Tango) and twice a week there is a live singer. The atmosphere is very good. The only downside is that the service in this area is very slow so if your a fast drinker then you would be disappointed.My Husband got around this by collecting them from the indoor bar.

The rooms are very spacious and reasonable decor, there is a television in the room and air con is included in the room price, there is also a small fridge. We had two double beds in our room and a bathtub and shower in the bathroom. In addition we had a good size terrace facing the pool.

This is a great hotel to stay as a base for exploring. We planned to visit both Barcelona and Tarragona so this was ideal especially as we got a great deal on both flights and hotel. You would only get a B&B in England for the same price.

The Customer service is mainly good for the most part as long as you are respectful to the staff. If you decide to come here though the staff do appreciate if you can speak a little Spanish as they dont speak much English. You can manage without but if you could possibly be able to order drinks and tell them what your room number is then that would be appreciated by them.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pat_mac181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Miguel T, Gerente at Gran Hotel Europe Comarruga, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments about your stay in our hotel, We hope to have the chance to host you again in the future. With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    95
    60
    30
    26
See reviews for
183
68
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2009

This was billed as a 4* hotel. It is the worst we have stayed in. On arrival (in a group of around 20) it was made very clear by the offhand and surly reception staff that we were not welcome. We eventually got our keys and found an OK room, with no plugs at all in the bathroom and torn towels. However, the worst part of the experience was the meals. They appeared to have about 10% of the staff necessary to run the restaurant. Find your own table, cutlery (couldn't find any glasses) and hope you can manage to scrape together something to eat - it might be cold, you will have to queue for ages, no-one is interested. The only high point was a free glass of wine from the bar - the barman didn't seem to want our money for some reason, and waved vaguely in the direction of the restaurant - but we couldn't find anyone there to pay. For breakfast, there were some cold chips from the previous night, loads of cold bacon, the remains of some scrambled egg (had to scrape the dish to get any), stale bread, dirty glasses beside the juice dispenser and a few weary pieces of fruit. Oh, and half a bottle of Cava. My husband had to go into the kitchen to get some clean glasses. A cheerful, pleasant receptionist in the morning, though, so not all the staff were terrible.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank clinicalscientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Coma Ruga hotels

Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2007

We stayed in this hotel back in 2004. End of September - beginning of October - the weather was just great, air +27+30 and + 26 water.

The Hotel is right on the beach, the beach is wide and sandy. Sun beds and parasols for extra fee.

Most of the guests were German (if not all :) and of mature age, the staff speaks German but not English.

We did enjoy Coma Ruga, very quiet and relaxing place, the hotel is 15 min walk from St Vicent train station (40 min to Barcelona).

Overall, the hotel is on of the best in this part of the region and is worth a visit!

  • Stayed September 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
Helpful?
4 Thank Nika_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northamptonshire,
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2004

After booking with 24 hours notice - not knowing what hotel we would be in, except that it was on the Costa Dorada, we were whisked away from reus airport to the Gran Hotel Europe.
We were stunned at the top quality of the facilities and food. Yes it is a Spanish hotel for mainly Spanish guests, but if you want peace and quiet and a sandy beach that goes on for miles,that was never crowded while we were there, in fact we wondered where everybody went during the day. At night the place came alive with a street market selling leather goods etc and resteraunts too numerous to mention bursting at the seams with customers.
We would go again even if we have to make our own arrangements as we have not found it in a uk brochure. Coma-ruga as a town is not a bustling holiday resort, there is not much to do but if you want to relax and explore then catch the train to barcelona.

Helpful?
13 Thank hjc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2003

Have recently returned from two weeks at this hotel on the beach at Coma-Ruga. Unfortunately this establishment does not live up to its published 4-star rating, and probably ranks 3-star or 3-star-plus at best; that is unless you're Spanish - who are well catered for (unfortunately to the exclusion of the other guests). Rooms are of good quality and resonably well presented. Resturant and food is mediocre and presented in a buffet style which gives plenty of choice but at the expense of quality. Staff are enthusiastic but in-efficient; there is need of some strong management skills to be displayed particularly in the resturant. Pity because the location is good although the beach is very crowded at weekends. Could do better. 6/10

Helpful?
6 Thank nutthatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coma Ruga
0.9 mi away
Nuba Hotel Coma-Ruga
Nuba Hotel Coma-Ruga
#1 of 7 in Coma Ruga
614 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Comarruga Platja
Hotel Comarruga Platja
#6 of 7 in Coma Ruga
131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Natura Park
Hotel Natura Park
#4 of 7 in Coma Ruga
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Balneario TermaEuropa Playa Coma-Ruga
0.5 mi away
Brisamar Hotel
Brisamar Hotel
#5 of 7 in Coma Ruga
80 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ohtels San Salvador
Ohtels San Salvador
#1 of 1 in Sant Salvador
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Europe Comarruga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Europe Comarruga

Property: Gran Hotel Europe Comarruga
Address: Avenida Palfuriana 125 - 127, 43880 Coma Ruga, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Coma Ruga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Coma Ruga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Europe Comarruga 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Hotel Europe Comarruga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Coma Ruga
Comarruga
Gran Hotel Europe Comarruga Coma Ruga, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing