We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good facilities, average service, terrible food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nuba Hotel Coma-Ruga
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Coma Ruga
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

This is a family beach hotel, right in front of the sea. The hotel facilities are really good (spa, gym, swimmimg pool), but the maintenance is not that good. The reception staff "lost" our reservation and "refound" it (?) a few hours later, a few hours we couldn't enjoy our room and had to wander around (with a 2-yo baby).

The food deserves a paragraph of its own. It's terrible. It's hard to understand how you can't find anything good to eat in such a large buffet (and I'm not a fussy eater at all). The same happens at breakfast, lunch and dinner time. This is not acceptable for a (not cheap at all) 4* hotel. I would advice the managers to reduce the variety of food for increasing quality. The impression you take home is really bad due to the poor food quality.

Moreover, more care should be taken in maintenance, as it would be sad that such an initially nice hotel was dilapidated.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xavier S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (793)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 793 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here as part of a Preferred Travel Holiday, we were here for 3 days. Our bedroom was spacious and clean with a fridge and TV. The bathroom was of average size with a good hairdryer. There was sufficient wardrobe space. We had a balcony overlooking the pools but also had a bit of a sea view.
The dining room was large and airy. Breakfast was a buffet and included not only cold meats, cheeses, croissants etc., but also hot food - scrambled, fried eggs, bacon, mushrooms with a chef on hand to make omelettes of choice while you waited (not more that 5 minutes) Dinner, also a buffet, had a choice of 4 or 5 main dishes with a large selection of salad ingredients, and again, the desserts had 4 or 5 dishes and there was always plenty of fresh fruit. Beer, wine and soft drinks on tap.The staff in the dining room were friendly and efficient. There weren't many children when we were their but I would imagine at high season it would be very busy, especially as it across the road from the beach.
All-in-all we enjoyed our stay at this hotel and i would have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Celine05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vitahoteliers, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Nuba Hotel Coma-Ruga, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Customer,

From the Quality Department we are pleased for your opinion received about your recent stay at our hotel. We have the pleasure to know your stay has been to your liking and we will proceed to convey your congratulations to all the staff.

We hope to see you again at our hotel.


Sincerely,

Quality Department .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed for 3 nights on a tour - so didn't spend much time here. It's a big impersonal hotel with good clean rooms and great if you like lukewarm food. You can walk to the station and get a train into Barcelona - we did.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I have stayed here with my wife and 2 young children in the first week of September, so right after the summer peak season. Because of the timing the price was very affordable. All in all I rate this hotel as average and only suitable for families with children.

Pro's:
Good size family room with 2 x 2-person beds, which makes it truely perfect for families. The bathroom was fine too, very functional.
Possibility to have breakfast, lunch (we did not have lunch here) and buffet-dinner in one of the hotel restaurants.
Two of the pools were very child-friendly, at least for my 2 and 5-year olds.
Evening entertainment which my children really liked ("the dancing was the best thing of the vacation" according to my 5-year old daughter).
Friendly staff at the pool bar.
The beach is just across the street.

Con's:
The corridors on the 4th floor were not properly cleaned as we noticed that some potatoe chip crumbs were there during our entire 5-day stay. Some corners were extremely dusty.
The noise level in the buffet-restaurant was very stressful, especially during dinner (tip: find a table outside; much better!). I don't even want to imagine how that would be when the hotel is packed during the high-season...
It was unclear when the room would be cleaned, so we ended up with our room not being cleaned at all during 1 day.
No WIFI available in the rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ralph_Buurman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stay here at the beginning of Aug, the peak season price makes this hotel one of my "just so so"beach resort/hotel experience.

The room is spacious with huge bed (2 twins perfect for 4 persons), room and bathroom are clean and functional, every room has a terrace either with view to the beach or the pool. The hotel staff is kind and helpful, buffet is not bad even after few days you get kind of bored with the same/ similar dishes. The hotel has the animation team which organizes different activities by the pool side for the kids. The guests are mainly family with small kids, the pool is all the time full with kids and very noisy so I don't recommend this hotel to couples who look for a quiet corner ( imagine the meal time at the buffet restaurant). It's a good choice for family with little kids.

Some down sides:
1. The wifi does not work in the room, it works fine at public areas like lobby, restaurant and pool area but not in the room,
2, for using th safe in your room you have to pay €3.6 per day!
3, the bathroom towels are too over-used and should have been replaced long time ago.
4. for whatever reasons, our room was never done before 3 o'clocks pm, there were few days we ended up with undone room because we wanted to stay inside in the afternoon.





Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ger-LiLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vita_Comarruga, Manager at Nuba Hotel Coma-Ruga, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Dear Customer,

We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our operation and services.

Regarding your review, we regret not having met your expectations. We realize that we need to improve some weaknesses in our services, and I assure you that we are taking immediate corrective steps to regain your confidence in us, as we are committed to give best service to our customers.

I apologise for the annoyance that this may have caused to you. The company is actively working to improve service levels and your feedback has proved to be invaluable.


Antonio Aguilar
Director
Hotel Vita Comarruga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We found this to be a large hotel with plenty of facilities.
Our bedroom was quite spacious , and clean with modern furniture , and comfortable beds .The bathroom was adequately roomy , clean , and everything worked .
We had a balcony with a superb view over the magnificent beach.
We found the food to be excellent , available as a buffet.
The only drawback was that the public areas were open and when we visited full of rowdy children. We could have done with a quiet corner to relax in .
Overall we enjoyed our stay here .

Room Tip: Try for rooms with a balcony overlooking the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatC2549600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vita_Comarruga, Manager at Nuba Hotel Coma-Ruga, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Dear Customer,

We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our operation and services. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at VITA COMARRUGA and very much hope that you will remain a valued customer.

I forward a copy of your comments to the departments mentioned.

Best Regards,

Antonio Aguilar
Director
Hotel Vita Comarruga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for two nights during a tour of Spanish and French Catalunya. We should have stayed there for longer but the hotel made a mess of the travel company's booking. The hotel is large, impersonal and, during our visit largely occupied by east european families with young children. The facilities are extensive and modern and our room large and well furnished (the hotel had upgraded us to compensate for their error with the booking).
Dinner on the first night was a "special" dinner for our party - again to compensate for their error - paella, seafood salads, tarte tatin,etc.and quite good though bland.
On the second night we ate the same food as other guests - it was awful!! Pork cutlet which was 90% bone and gristle and inadequately cooked. The vegetables(mixed) cooked to a pulp for contrast The alternative was a rabbit stew or grilled fish rather like a sardine in appearance and exceedingly bony. Very few people attempted to eat the fish! Wine was available ad lib and quite pleasant. After eating the dinner my wife suffered a most unpleasant stomach upset that persisted for 24 hours. If you stay here I would recommend that you eat dinner elsewhere! Breakfast was adequate but not good quality, scrambled egg undercooked and virtually liquid, streaky bacon, spicy sausage pieces. DIY toast etc.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coma Ruga
0.4 mi away
Hotel Balneario TermaEuropa Playa Coma-Ruga
0.6 mi away
Hotel Natura Park
Hotel Natura Park
#3 of 7 in Coma Ruga
277 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brisamar Hotel
Brisamar Hotel
#4 of 7 in Coma Ruga
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Europe Comarruga
0.7 mi away
Hotel Comarruga Platja
Hotel Comarruga Platja
#6 of 7 in Coma Ruga
151 reviews
3.2 mi away
Silken Canada Palace
Silken Canada Palace
#4 of 10 in Calafell
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nuba Hotel Coma-Ruga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nuba Hotel Coma-Ruga

Address: Avda Brisamar 44-50, 43880 Coma Ruga, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Coma Ruga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Coma Ruga
Price Range: £48 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nuba Hotel Coma-Ruga 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nuba Hotel COmarruga is located on the shoreline of Comarruga, a quiet and ideal location to enjoy a family holidays. It was reformed in 2007 and has 236 rooms, 5 of them SUITES, 14 Junior Suites and 4 disabled rooms, most of them with sea views. Has arranged a complete lively activity schedule for family fun and for all ages, ranging from Mini-Club for the youngest to a night programme for adults ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Expedia, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Nuba Hotel Coma-Ruga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marvel Coma Ruga
Marvel Coma Ruga Hotel
Nuba Hotel Coma-Ruga Coma Ruga, Europe - Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing