We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location, very comfortable lumbungs, but management problems”
Review of Karma Reef

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Karma Reef
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Gili Meno
Certificate of Excellence
Venus Bay
Level Contributor
94 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Stunning location, very comfortable lumbungs, but management problems”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Have just returned after 10 days lolling, snorkelling, reading and sipping at The Reef. What a location! As wide travellers, I think this is one of the best locations we have vacationed at, having such wonderful snorkelling at your immediate doorstep is an incomparable treat. The island being tiny, it is a holiday, not a travel destination, but it is a wonderful place to loll and relax.

The lumbungs are very comfortable, airy and well set out. The appointments are thoughtful, and the ample storage made it easy to unpack and settle in. Hot (most of the time) fresh water showers from water shipped to the island daily were appreciated, as was the brilliant local staff who were happy to accommodate all requests efficiently and with a smile.

The restaurant food was consistently good (if a little boring after awhile, however there are plenty of others nearby to explore - some with brilliant, cheap local food) and the staff were happy to bring your food and drinks to your lumbung to eat on your verandah if you didn't feel like putting in your ear plugs to dine in the restaurant - the choice, and volume of music was often unbearable! After 10 days, we were so, so sick of the doof doof music! It may sound minor, but the lumbungs being thatched have no sound proofing, when the volume was up it was impossible to escape that mind-numbing beat, and we felt sorry for anyone staying closer to the restaurant. On one occasion, I asked the Aussie management to turn it down - she simply declined, saying that it was happy hour, and why didn't we join them? Mind you - there was no one there, and the music seemed to be for their own benefit! They seem to not notice that there clientele aren't back packers, and they are most certainly not paying back packer prices! The music was a common complaint amoungst guests, and not in keeping with the atmosphere of the place. It was a relief when the Aussie management had days off, and the music (and the volume) reverted to something more sedate.

Although the lumbungs themselves are comfortable, they offer no privacy and are quite close together. From the verandahs, each conversation is audible, and when you retreat upstairs, you can hear every word spoken from the lumbung next door if they are upstairs at the same time - really annoying, and you feel as though you are intruding on each other's privacy.

The Reef offers airport pick up, but make sure that you confirm details again and again unless you want to be left stranded as we were at Denpasar with the driver waiting for us at Lombok. We spent frustrating hours and a wasted day trying to find out what was going on, plus the cost of accommodation in Bali. When we finally arrived at Gili Meno under our own steam, no-one amoungst the disjointed management wanted to take any responsibility (even though I had the email which clearly gives the flight number, and another which states Denpasar) and we barely got an apology, let alone any compensation or the refund of the night's pre-paid accommodation.The situation was complicated by the fact that we had booked through Agoda, and initial contact re airport pickup was made through them. Before we left home, I had repeatedly tried to contact The Reef to confirm pick-up, however the phone number listed by Agoda is incorrect. Agoda finally prompted management to make email contact with me, which they did and an airport pick-up was arranged. Agoda also provided another phone contact, which was never answered - including while we were stranded at the airport! The whole situation was handled unprofessionally and each member of The Reef management merely blamed the other. To add insult to injury, when we finally arrived, the flippant Aussie check-in woman who greeted us seemed not to have noticed that we had been missing - and they only have 10 bungalows! It seemed that every issue was met with the standard response of "we still settling in".

Hopefully Chakra will get these management issues sorted out soon, as it truly is a beautiful location on a wonderfully laid back island.

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow away from the restaurant and it's music, in the middle seems best (5 or 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosemaryVenusBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Resorts_Bali, General Manager at Karma Reef, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Rosemary

First of all we would like to thank you for staying with us recently, and your positive comment.

We are in process to rectify the management issue and kindly accept our assurance that everything will be done to shorted out this issue .

We also still in process making standard of music for day time and night time to make sure guest satisfaction . We will make sure any pick up arrangement will handle with full care .

We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future .

Best regards

Made Nukada
Area General Manager T/S Bali Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    68
    36
    15
    20
See reviews for
23
181
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We just spend two weeks at the Reef. The resort has a beautiful overall look with all the bamboo architecture in- line with ecological building.Completely open-air livingroom, restaurant and bar catching whatever breeze there might or might not be :). The views are just wonderful from everywhere in the resort and upstairs balcony was our favourite place to have morning coffee. The restaurant offered a rather restricted menu but what they do offer is of excellent standard. This is propably the best restaurant in the island.Their chocolate mousse is to die for!

Some of the restaurants nearby will also happily deliver to the lumbungs and good Lombok coffee and milk can be bought in the islands biggest shop.

The island is very quiet and we did escape into Gili T for a couple of days. Still as Karma Royal Residence members this is of very good value if you want to chill out, snorkel and generally not do much!

We feel that a few things would've made our stay even better. Upstairs AC isn't quite keeping up with the heat and at times we found it uncomfortably hot up there to sleep. During our stay in Jan. the majority of wind was coming from the west so the restaurant and the livingroom could have used a fan as there was often no breeze.

Luckily the staff always sprayed the bedroom for bugs in the evening and set up mosquito coils in the livingroom! You will still need to use spray in the evening if you want to spend time downstairs .

Wonderful stay and big thank you for all the staff for their friendliness!

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea. Lumbungs 6 forwards have the gazebos right at the seafront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sini k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Resorts_Bali, General Manager at Karma Reef, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Hello.

Thank you for your review.

First of all we would like to say thank you for staying with us recently, Its such as a big tips for us to express our pleasure.

For about the restaurant menu, we only present a selective menu of the many items that have been selected by our master chef Raymond. We want to pamper our guests to enjoy food like chocolate mousse is from one of our menu presentation that you already enjoy.

We guess that you are right, because Gili Trawangan is very different environments right now compare with Gili Meno , its bring more enjoyable such snorkeling, swimming and also equipped from the living room.

We've been carrying out pest sprays into each room which we did 4 times a month to maintain the security of any insect form, besides that we also still hold spray every afternoon so any guests staying safe.

Finally we hope to see you for the next visit, we therefore take a proud to offer you service again.

On behalf of the whole team I would like to thank you again.

Best regards,
Staff and Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Our stay at the new Reef Resort Gili Meno was absolutely amazing. The thatched lumbungs all overlooked the beautiful turquoise blue ocean were very well equipped with downstairs lounge/dining,TV,mini kitchen and open air bathroom. Loved the sun loungers under gazebos in front of all the lumbings. We spent many hours in these loungers reading and watching all the coming and goings of boats arriving with tourists and locals on the beach next to the Reef.

The bedroom upstairs with desk, lounger, very comfortable queen bed, air con and overhead fan leading onto the balcony were fantastic, saw a few beautiful sunrises.from the balcony upstairs.

We ate at the restaurant every night and the meals were superb, comparable with any top restaurant in Australia...well done Made, Stephen and all the staff.

I must add that the snorkeling in front of The Reef Resort was by far the best on Gili Meno, we even saw turtles in front of The Reef...we snorkeled all around the Island and nowhere was near as good as in front of The Reef Resort. Amazing snorkeling !!

All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful... can't wait to get back in August 2014 for another wonderful relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Resorts_Bali, General Manager at Karma Reef, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Hello

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we are so happy you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and couldn't resist looking into The reef A chakra Resort for your next stay!

The staff really enjoyed having of you to stay, and we absolutely appreciated have such wonderful, warm guests.


We look forward to welcoming you back next time!

Warm wishes
The Reef A Chakra Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We have just returned from a week at the new Reef Resort. The huts are designed with an eye for convenience as well as attractiveness. The bedroom has a four-poster bed, lounge, desk, wardrobe, chest of drawers, and a hard-working fan and air-con unit. The open-air bathroom is a definite drawcard as is the comfortable open-air sitting room, complete with table, lounge, and a hammock which I hardy ever left. Each hut has its own outdoor sun lounge and it is a few seconds to a plunge into some of the most pristine water we have swum in. The restaurant has a limited but delicious menu and the staff are friendly and helpful. A month next time! Looking forward to the opening of the Spa.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Resorts_Bali, General Manager at Karma Reef, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Jenny W, Thank you very much for your kind review. We are very delighted to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff take great proud to offer you a great service,therefore your feedback is very important for us.

On behalf of the whole team I would like to thank you again.
We hope to have the pleasure of serving you at the Reef a Chakra resort in the near future.
We are looking forward to welcoming your back in the next future.

Best regards,
Staff and Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
198 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Just spent 16 glorious days at the all new REEF Resort on Gili Meno, as their first guests!!
After having been to The 'Old' Royal Reef Resort 8 times in the past 11 years, the change is mind boggling!
NOW, the WiFi, hot water, air con, two TVs with DVDs, microwave, toaster, hot pot, fridge and sink provide more than your normal comforts of home. There is even a telephone!
The view from the upstairs balcony is absolutely incredible, the sun rise, moon rise or just the stunning view across the water channel to Gili Air are great!
The air con bedroom upstairs is a pleasant retreat after a day in the sun and water, the down stairs sitting area is a great spot to have a cold drink and listen to music, read, nap or watch movies on the TV and a gentle hot shower before bedtime soothes both your body and soul!
There is absolutely NOTHING that this new REEF cannot provide for your totally 'over the top' Holiday visit to Gili Meno.
Lower priced places exist on Meno, but nothing compares to The REEF!!

Beach Bum Bill

Room Tip: Bungalow #2 has a great view, as does #10, but that one is next to the restaurant and may be a bit n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeachBumBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Resorts_Bali, General Manager at Karma Reef, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear BeachBumBill, thank you very much for your feedback of your recent stay at The Reef a Chakra Resort, it was a pleasure to have you with us, we are very happy to hear that you have a wonderful stay with us,
Thank you again for sharing your feedback so that we may improve our services for all guests and ensure the highest level of comfort.
We look forward to welcome you back to The Reef a Chakra Resort

Best regards,
Staff and management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Don't go there. It is a run down place .
I had a very bad night of itching because i was heavily bitten by bed bugs, it almost ruined my vacation. Better you search a while , i can reccomed" rust mimpis bungalows" and "tunai cottages" .

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AttiStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlpenClubSchliersee, Direttore at Karma Reef, responded to this review, 1 October 2015
Dear AttiStar ,
Sunny greetings from Karma Reef Gili Meno !
Thanks for writing this your useful review and thank you for delighting us with your company. I am very sorry for the inconvenience happened to you, Karma Reef has now been upgraded to a Luxury Resort and I take this opportunity to welcome you back for a complimentary night stay on which you can truly experience the true Karma Reef Gili Meno atmosphere and show you how totally changed all Karma Reef Gili Meno. We looking forward to hearing from you and receive you soon here again.
Our warmest greetings.
The Karma Reef team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Petersburg
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I spent 5 days in this hotel. Total opinion - very nice and quiet. This place good for you if you want to escape from everybody and just enjoying yourself. In bungalow there are only bed and closet. There are no glasses in windows, but it was great. Just me, my wife and nature. 5 days was enough to enjoy it and continue travelling. There is no restaurant in the hotel, so we ate in some restaurants on the beach. The best thing in the island - price... Everything is very very cheap, except to get boat to another island. Dinner for 2 persons with grill fish and beer is about $10, fresh juice about $1.
PS: we were there in july and were the only guests in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nured
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlpenClubSchliersee, Direttore at Karma Reef, responded to this review, 1 October 2015
Dear Nured ,
Sunny greetings from Karma Reef Gili Meno !
Thanks for writing this your wonderful review and thank you for spending your holiday with us. I'm glad everything was to your liking and you've been able to enjoy the relaxation that Karma Reef gives to our welcome guests. Karma Reef has now been upgraded to a Luxury Resort I hope to receive you again and make you participate in one of our sensational weekly events such as movies on the beach!
Our warmest greetings.
The Karma Reef team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gili Meno
0.8 mi away
MAHAMAYA Gili Meno
MAHAMAYA Gili Meno
#1 of 11 in Gili Meno
662 reviews
0.5 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia - Meno
Les Villas Ottalia - Meno
#2 of 11 in Gili Meno
180 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mahogany Cottage
Mahogany Cottage
#6 of 11 in Gili Meno
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway
1.5 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#7 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,696 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#3 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karma Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karma Reef

Property: Karma Reef
Address: Gili Meno | Lombok, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Meno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Meno
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Gili Meno
#4 Spa Hotel in Gili Meno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karma Reef 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karma Reef at Gili Meno offers an unforgettable vacation experience. Everyone should experience life on a tropical island at least once in their lifetime - where there is nothing to do but eat, drink, sleep, read, walk, swim, snorkel and relax. No hassles, no motor cars, no telephone (except in an emergency) and far from the tourist hordes. Throw in endless stretches of white sandy beaches, one of the world's most beautiful coral reefs, and magnificent sunrises and sunsets, and you have "paradise." If this sounds like a holiday that appeals to you then the Royal Reef Resort on Gili Meno is the place to go. Just getting there is a memorable holiday experience in itself. Located northwest of the Indonesian island of Lombok, Gili Meno is reached by sea or air from Jakarta or Bali. On arrival at Mataram airport in Lombok the choice is yours as to whether you want to take the drive along the spectacular coastline, or to go up and over the mountain through the monkey forest, then back down to Bangsal harbour for the 30 minute boat crossing to the sandy white beaches of Gili Meno. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Karma Reef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karma Reef Gili Meno, Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing