We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place, amazing hotel, amazing staff”
Review of MAHAMAYA Gili Meno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
MAHAMAYA Gili Meno
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Gili Meno
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing place, amazing hotel, amazing staff”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Peaceful atmosphere, comfortable and clean rooms, excellent restaurant and very friendly staff. I can highly recommend this place! This is a hidden gem which offers excellent value for money.

Stayed there for four nights. As mentioned in earlier comments, fresh water might be limited some times which is why the hotel suggests that you minimize its use (don't get me wrong, there always was water and the showers worked perfectly). Also the internet is slow (if it works at all), this didn't bother us. The restaurant isn't the cheapest one, but it is the best one. We ate there four lunch and four dinners, and I have complaints only from two dishes (out of 16), the chicken satay was a bit dry and the cheese "spring rolls" too salty, everything else was "something to die for". The mahamaya restaurant has offered us so far the best food in indonesia (I have now experiencing different "quality" restaurants around indonesia for three and a half weeks). The breakfast is not a typical buffet. You can order three things from the list and in addition enjoy the simple buffet table on the side. But everything in the list is excellent (I recommend either the egg's benedict or the local option called, if I remember it right, "aim goreng").

Also, the beach is not sand but coral which makes the shore difficult to use, but there are plenty of sand shores nearby. The snorkeling gear the hotel offered (free of charge) could have been better (you might want to bring your on gear).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juhana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Gili Meno, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a valuable review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
It’s so nice for us to read such fantastic comments about your great experience at MAHAMAYA.

Thank you again for all your positive comments, it was a joy to for our whole team to read!
Such positive reviews really do inspire our team to continue to deliver outstanding service and ensure you have a happy holiday!

It was so nice to hear the food was so enjoyable chef will be pleased! His satay is normally very succulent so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy this. Our internet can be intemittment but it is the best that is avaialable on the island. We are happy that you appreciate our sustainability efforts, we feel it's crucial to the future of our tiny island.

We very much hope that we can welcome you back soon to MAHAMAYA.

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    529
    115
    33
    8
    4
See reviews for
112
442
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
KL
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights with our two boys, aged 5 and 8. We went there with the intention of getting our complete "rest & relax" time and we got exactly what we hoped for! We stayed at the candy villa (on the beach) and on one of the days, when our boys napped in the afternoon (exhausted from the walk around the island and swimming in the morning), I was able to get a massage on the bench right outside our villa (from a passing local).

5pm-7pm is happy hour time and we enjoyed our cocktails (buy one, free one on their special cocktail of the day) while soaking in the spectacular sunset right outside our villa.

The team at Mahamaya truly makes your stay very comfortable and they are always eager to please without being obtrusive. My only disappointment would be that I didn't get to spot any turtles when I went out snorkeling, but having said that - I only did it once, for about 10 minutes - and this has nothing to do with the resort. We had a wonderful stay and would love to come back one day.

Tip - if u intend to do some serious snorkeling, please bring along your gear (and shoes/flippers!) It'll make it so much more pleasant for u.
There is a calmer beach (with more sand) along the other side of the island. A walk of about 30 minutes (more with two young kids!). We found it a tad quicker if we took a straight left (facing the sea). U also get to take some inner roads, having a chance to see the way some of the locals live. If u take a right, you'll see the other resorts along the way (and other food options).

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanneHoSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Gili Meno, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a valuable review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
It’s so nice for us to read such fantastic comments about your great experience at MAHAMAYA.

Thank you again for all your positive comments, it was a joy to for our whole team to read!
Such positive reviews really do inspire our team to continue to deliver outstanding service and ensure you have a happy holiday!

We very much enjoyed having your family to stay and thankyou again for writing such nice comments.

We very much hope that we can welcome you back soon to MAHAMAYA.

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

My wife and I originally booked to staff for 3 nights but extended our stay for another. The hotel is very comfortable and tastefully decorated.
The staff are very attentive and the food is fabulous.
At the time we were planning to relocate to Jakarta and we very happy to have found a slice of paradise within easy reach.....unfortunately the relocation did not work out. However I would go out of my way to stay here again & hope to do so in the not so distant future.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank perdi07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Gili Meno, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a valuable review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
It’s so nice for us to read such fantastic comments about your great experience at MAHAMAYA.

Thank you again for all your positive comments, it was a joy to for our whole team to read!
Such positive reviews really do inspire our team to continue to deliver outstanding service and ensure you have a happy holiday!

Thank you for your nice kind works and we hope you can visit again, even though it will be a little further than hoped!

We very much hope that we can welcome you back soon to MAHAMAYA.

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My partner and I stayed here in early November. The hotel and room were clean and well laid out. We both loved the outside shower. The location is stunning and dinner on the beach at night is a must do! What made our stay here was the staff. They are the friendliest most helpful people we have come across in all our travels. They made us feel so relaxed and couldn't do enough to make sure our stay was perfect! We had a very relaxing and wonderful stay at Mahamaya. A big thanks to the management and staff!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Selena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Gili Meno, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a valuable review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
It’s so nice for us to read such fantastic comments about your great experience at MAHAMAYA.

Thank you again for all your positive comments, it was a joy to for our whole team to read!
Such positive reviews really do inspire our team to continue to deliver outstanding service and ensure you have a happy holiday!

Your comments were sll so nice but thank you particualrly for your shout out to our hardworking team.

We very much hope that we can welcome you back soon to MAHAMAYA.

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This place is a hidden treasure in one of the best locations on the planet. Arriving from a boat of mainland Lombok (and seeing tuna jumping out of the water and turtles popping their heads up) we were greeted by the friendly owner. This is an ecologically friendly resort as Gili Meno is a sensitive coral reef island, so the number of suites are limited. However this makes it perfect for a romantic getaway and when you spend 30 minutes snorkelling out in the water at the front of Mahamaya you realise you are truly in paradise.

We had a villa facing the beach, which was very spacious, clean and modern with all the facilities you will need for a very comfortable getaway. The bed was massive and in the Goldilocks zone for comfort but the best thing about the room was the lack of T.V. This may be a problem for some couples but if you are madly in love with your fiancee like I am, you will appreciate having their undivided attention. Besides it is recommended that you savour the time carefully becuse it seems to fly when your relaxing in the idyllic tropical setting at Mahamaya.

Given the limited food produced on Meno, most (if not all) the food and beverage is brought in from the mainland. This doesn't seem to limit the quality and variety of meals available at the restaurant. The chef knows how to get enough variety on the menu each day and not once were we disappointed with the results. Eating dinner watching the sunset or just enjoying a cocktail on the beach is an experience in itself, and the attentive staff are always on hand to make sure you don't go hungry or thirsty.

The staff deserve their own paragraph in this review because they were excellent. Some had literally just started employment at Mahamaya, but their attitudes and friendly manner made the experience more memorable. It was nice that the owners employ locals from Gili Meno and it was particularly nice hearing stories about life and culture of the island. I am glad to say one staff member in particular (Fi) became our friend by the end of the stay. His genuine, friendly nature and willingness to make our stay special should be acknowledged.

Im not going to talk about the nature side of things, because that speaks for itself! Whatever accolades the island has for diving and beauty I'm sure are all true. I have been to the Great Barrier Reef and Ningaloo Reef near Exmouth and thought Australia had some of the best marine environments but my eyes are definitely open to Gili Meno. Where else in the world can you go snorkelling 100m from your front door and see a sea turtle? The beaches are unbelievable and Mahamaya is the perfect place to have a tropical island getaway.

I would definitely stay here again and will be recommending this to anyone who appreciates the good things in life. 10/10

Room Tip: Villas can get a bit toasty in the late afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Gili Meno, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a valuable review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
It’s so nice for us to read such fantastic comments about your great experience at MAHAMAYA.

Thank you again for all your positive comments, it was a joy to for our whole team to read!
Such positive reviews really do inspire our team to continue to deliver outstanding service and ensure you have a happy holiday!

Thank you especailly for your amazing comments about our local team, they work hard to ensure our guests have the ultimate experience.

We very much hope that we can welcome you back soon to MAHAMAYA.

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The hotel is simple and somewhat lacking in amenities. Expect the basics - shampoo, shower gel, hair dryer, beach towels. I was very disappointed that bedroom slippers were not provided (I do not wear shoes indoors) because the floor did not feel very clean.

We stayed in a pool sweet (suite). The room is really spacious considering the limited amount of furniture inside. I feel that much more could have been done with the interior and I was not a fan of the pop art. There is an outdoor shower but no bathtub.

A hotel staff explained that Meno buys fresh water and electricity from Lombok so the hotel encourages its guests to be eco-friendly, i.e. flush when absolutely necessary, bath and beach towels were not changed once during the course of our 3 night stay.

The hotel is not located on the best side of Meno. The beach is too coral-ly to walk on and the water isn't as clear. We had fun (and got burnt) snorkelling there though. When we walked around the (entire) island, we realised that the southern east side has the finest sands and clearest waters. Needless to say we spent much time swimming there.

The staff however are amazing. They are the friendliest hotel staff I've met. No request is too big or too small and despite the heat and long hours they work, they are never without a smile for you. The chef is also amazing because the food is divine!

In fact the people of Meno are amazing. I will never forget the friendship, kindness and smiles from the locals. The island, like its locals, is pretty much unspoilt. It is truly an honour to be able to visit a holiday destination that is still so pure.

I will definitely go back to Meno again and will most likely stay at the Mahamaya too because I feel that its probably the best resort there and I miss the wonderful staff!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ziKiQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Gili Meno, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a valuable review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
It’s so nice for us to read such fantastic comments about your great experience at MAHAMAYA.

Thank you again for all your positive comments, it was a joy to for our whole team to read!
Such positive reviews really do inspire our team to continue to deliver outstanding service and ensure you have a happy holiday!

Our beach does have some corals but the upside of this of course, is the amazing snorekeling and abundance of sea life and turtles. We also enjoy some of the most spectacular sunsets on the island.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time and were so understanable about our commitment to the local environment and our hotel sustainabilty.

We very much hope that we can welcome you back soon to MAHAMAYA.

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
medan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We spent our honeymoon for 3 days here. And yes we had wonderful time! Delicious dishes with free mineral water which was truly needed, good room and eco friendly, great staffs, they're super kind and friendly and polite, the most unforgettable thing was the nature. The beach, the sunset, the blue sea, the sunrise, quite and small island that perfect for your honeymoon. We also did activities such as diving, riding the horse cart, relaxing by the beach, waiting for the sunset which was stunning! (there's a staff that pulled the seat for us so we could sit and feel the wave touched our feet gently while we're gazing the stars at night!) We got a very romantic honeymoon! Thank u so much mahamaya!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Novi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Gili Meno, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a valuable review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
It’s so nice for us to read such fantastic comments about your great experience at MAHAMAYA.

Thank you again for all your positive comments, it was a joy to for our whole team to read!
Such positive reviews really do inspire our team to continue to deliver outstanding service and ensure you have a happy holiday!

How amazing for us to hear that you had unforgetable moments in life, we are so pleased as this is our ultimate aim to make our guests happy!

We very much hope that we can welcome you back soon to MAHAMAYA.

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gili Meno
0.4 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia - Meno
Les Villas Ottalia - Meno
#2 of 11 in Gili Meno
193 reviews
2.4 mi away
Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway
1.1 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#8 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#5 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
641 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mahogany Cottage
Mahogany Cottage
#6 of 11 in Gili Meno
41 reviews
9.2 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
2,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MAHAMAYA Gili Meno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MAHAMAYA Gili Meno

Property: MAHAMAYA Gili Meno
Address: Turtle Point, West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Meno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Meno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MAHAMAYA Gili Meno 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The meaning of MAHAMAYA is ultimate paradise. And that's exactly what you'll find at our chic, eco inspired resort. So if you're looking for the perfect, leave-it-all-behind, luxury beach destination, we'll be delighted to welcome you to the idyllic island of Gili Meno. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your MAHAMAYA Gili Meno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MAHAMAYA Gili Meno Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing