We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Mahamaya & Gili Meno”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Gili Meno
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome Mahamaya & Gili Meno”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was the reason we selected Meno and were not disappointed at all. Excellent location with the hotel service staff being outstanding throughout.
Definitely one of the best destinations in either Bali or Lambok.
Perfect for casual snorkeling right of the beach. Excellent food options, considering we were vegetarian.

Room Tip: Everyone should take the beach Villa. Awesome, right on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy-Lavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a valuable review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
It’s so nice for us to read such fantastic comments about your great experience at MAHAMAYA.
Thank you so much for awarding us 5 stars for everything!

Thank you again for all your positive comments, it was a joy for our whole team to read!
Such positive reviews really do inspire our team to continue to deliver outstanding service and ensure you have a happy holiday!
We very much hope that we can welcome you back soon to MAHAMAYA.

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    107
    32
    7
    4
See reviews for
101
421
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I recently stayed at the Mahamaya hotel for 3 nights and really loved this little hotel. Its on a beautiful peaceful part of the Island where you can swim with Turtles and the staff are absolutely first class. Gili Meno is still unspoilt by developments and it has the best beaches of the three Gili Islands. The hotel is expensive but worth it if you wish to treat yourself.

The only negatives are the work that is currently going on to extend the hotel (but you are clearly advised of this when booking) and the price of the food and drink at the hotel. The food is by no means expensive when compared to a restaurant in the UK or Oz for example but it is several times the cost of food of most of the other restaurants on the island (local or western food). I recommend you make sure you try other local restaurants as the food is of a similar standard and a fraction of the cost. Make sure you also by your drinks from the hotel next door as they are also half the price!

Overall this is defo worth a visit!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dbw2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a valuable review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
It’s so nice for us to read such fantastic comments about your great experience at MAHAMAYA.
We are happy to read that our building works did not appear to affect your overall experience. Our works are ahead of schedule and we hope that you will return soon to enjoy our expanded facilities.

We firmly believe that we provide great value and and a unique experience on our tiny island. Our quality and service level we feel can not be compared to the local warungs. We do hope you read our notice in the rooms regarding availability of cheaper substituted alcohol on these islands. Alcohol is heavily taxed in Indonesia and this is reflected in our alcohol pricing. We would advise caution in drinking cheaper products as there is a possibility that this would not be a genuine product and we would like to advise our guests that there maybe risks associated with consuming these products.

Thank you again for all your positive comments, it was a joy for our whole team to read!
Such positive reviews really do inspire our team to continue to deliver outstanding service and ensure you have a happy holiday!
We very much hope that we can welcome you back soon to MAHAMAYA.

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We heard and read lots of good things about this hotel, so we were really looking forward to staying there. Unfortunately it did not meet our expectations.
Sorry if this is a negative comment, but we are just sharing our own recent experience.

We required and paid for private speedboat transfer from telok nara harbour (cost is 575.000/per way!). It was 8pm when we arrived at the harbor, but no signs of the boat. After calling the hotel 4 times, and being told to wait on the beach as the boatmen were coming for us, we finally manage to find someone on the beach who spoke bahasa with hotel staff and told us to walk on the opposite side of the harbor since the boat was there. After walking in the sand with our 2 year old kid + all our luggage + in night with no light, we finally saw all boatmen guys laughing, drinking, smoking on the beach and NO ONE was coming to help us. At our arrival on hotel beach, we requested to speak to manager, we discuss with operations manager and he told us he will investigate. That's it, absolutely no news, no discount, no special customer service experience. He even told us that maybe we exaggerated a little bit compared with boatmen version! What kind of luxury boutique hotel tells that to guests who are paying more than 200 USD/night for a beach villa?! I think there is a huge management problem and it is really a shame because there is a huge potential...
The villa itself is nice, a bit old (toilet cabinet not cleaned at all, some water infiltration pbms in walls due to humidity). The open concept shower is cool to use. They provide mosquito repellent for free which is useful. Also free to use snorkeling gear + bicycles. The diners on the beach are fantastic with views of the sunset.
Other good things about the hotel is that the swimming pool is small but they put a cover to get some shade on it. The restaurant is nice (although no fresh fish available at all). No sand beach but coral beach (be careful with children) so very good snorkeling. I would like to conclude by mentioning that the best thing is the regular staff (very friendly and helpful specially Arie, Alicia, and Ucuf). They all tried their best to make our stay relaxed and enjoyable.
Sorry to say we will not come back, and we will not recommend the hotel which we think is too pricey for service level).

Room Tip: We stayed in the Candy Villa which is near the restaurant so very easy to walk with the baby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancithan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DARoberts, Owner at MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Nancithan T,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and to share your experience On Tripadvisor. The vast majority of your comments are positive and complimentary and we thank you for that.
You said that the Villa was nice and that you enjoyed using the outside shower. You liked the in room amenities such as free mosquito repellent. You enjoyed the free hotel facilities, such as snorkeling gear and bicycles and were happy to use the swimming pool and was glad of the overhead sunshade above the pool. You enjoyed snorkeling at the beach and you said that dinners at the beach were fantastic. Thank you for these lovely compliments about our resort, food, staff and service – We will relay your kind words to Chef Jar, Arie, Ucuf and Achie. All of these comments relate directly to the actual service level that you received at the hotel itself. Indeed, it would seem that the only issue you actually had within the hotel itself was that the bathroom cabinet was not cleaned to your satisfaction and that there were signs of humidity in the bathroom. We apologise for these problems and we have already met with our housekeeping staff, to ensure that the bathroom cabinets are always cleaned thoroughly. Despite only currently having 9 rooms, we do employ 3 maintenance staff and humidity is indeed an issue on a tiny island with no fresh water and we constantly update and try to keep our paint work fresh and in good order. The salt content in the wind and within the island water is very corrosive. The water table is very high at this time of year and that can also affect the walls.
And so to the crunch and what would seem to be the main reason for your disappointment and scoring us so low on service – Your arrival transport.
You have omitted some very important information in your review and it is therefore necessary for us to respond in full and provide a full picture:
Before arriving at the resort, you informed us by email that you would make your own transport arrangements. Indeed , until early evening on the day of your arrival, we had no information concerning your arrival time and had no idea how you would reach the resort as you had not provided us with that information. Naturally, that is your prerogative. Early evening on the actual day of your arrival, you telephoned the hotel requesting a speedboat transfer from Lombok to the resort. You informed us that you had made your own arrangement for land transportation and only needed a speedboat. It can be very difficult for us to arrange transport at the very last minute and we do usually request that guests provide us with 24 hours notice . However, we did agree to help you and arranged the speedboat with the 3rd party that provides the service, at the very last minute. We informed you of the exact location that you needed to go to. The car that you had arranged by yourself, dropped you off and it would seem abandoned you in the wrong location. We informed you to go to Teleuk Nara but you were dropped off at Teluk Kodek, which is the next harbour.. There are around 12 private harbours in that area and we had absolutely no idea where you were. We did call the boat company repeatedly and asked them to go and look for you. There are many boat staff and local people around all of these harbours, working for all the different companies providing transport. We are very sorry that you had a bad experience with your transport, so much so that it affected your whole feeling and stay at our resort. This is the last thing that we want and we do appreciate how stressful it must have been for you, especially traveling with a young child. You arrived at the hotel at 8:45pm and due to your stressful journey, we took you straight to your villa. These 20 -30 minutes that you were lost and waited clearly affected what otherwise could have been a wonderful and trouble free stay and we are so sorry about that. We are also sorry that you were expecting further redress and follow up with our manager as he thought that the matter was concluded. Clearly, something was lost in translation. You organised your own transport that dropped you to the wrong location and under the circumstances I did not feel that is was justified to offer you financial compensation.
Be well and safe travels, Cordially, David Roberts (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We just spent 3 nights at Mahamaya from 5th to 8th May and I’d like to say how amazing the service is in this hotel. Having lived in Indonesia for the past 11 years I understand how rare it is to find service of this level especially on a small island like Gili Meno. The staff at Mahamaya went out of their way to make your stay a pleasurable one, nothing was too much trouble and they were always extremely happy, helpful and friendly. They also did an extremely good job at entertaining my 2 four year old twins, so much so that my girls didn’t want to leave at the end of the trip! The location of Mahamaya is amazing, the rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable and the inclusive breakfast was great as was the rest of the food. My only criticism was that the dinner service didn’t start until 6pm which was a bit late for my girls. All in all it was a fabulous and memorable stay for everyone in my party so thank you so much Mahamaya. We will be back I’m sure!

Room Tip: The beach Villas have the most amazing views and definitely worth the extra. If you are travelling w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrybali2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a valuable review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
It’s so nice for us to read such fantastic comments about your great experience at MAHAMAYA.

Thank you again for all your positive comments, it was a joy for our whole team to read!
Such positive reviews really do inspire our team to continue to deliver outstanding service and ensure you have a happy holiday!
We very much hope that we can welcome you back soon to MAHAMAYA, given that you are living in Bali we really hope that will be very soon.

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

we stayed at mahamaya for 9 days in april and we loved every minute of it. the island is such a special place- wonderful beaches, great ocean, snorkelling...
and thanks a lot to the mahamaya-staff for the great service and making this holiday very special for us.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a valuable review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
It’s so nice for us to read such fantastic comments about your great experience at MAHAMAYA.

Thank you again for all your positive comments, your glowing 5 star review was a joy for our whole team to read!
Such positive reviews really do inspire our team to continue to deliver outstanding service and ensure you have a happy holiday!
We very much hope that we can welcome you back soon to MAHAMAYA. When are you coming back to see us?

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Loved Mahamaya. It's a cosy and quiet place, very helpful and friendly staff who remembers your name. Food is fantastic too, we had breakfast lunch and dinner there for 2 days despite having more options just a short walk down the beach. Will definitely go back again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alison O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a valuable review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
It’s so nice for us to read such fantastic comments about your great experience at MAHAMAYA and that you had such a relaxing experience.

Thank you again for all your positive comments, it was a joy for our whole team to read!
Such positive reviews really do inspire our team to continue to deliver outstanding service and ensure you have a happy holiday! You will be pleased to hear that the team all have new magnetic name badges, which are hopefully more durable than their previous badges!
We very much hope that we can welcome you back soon to MAHAMAYA for some great food,

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Wow!!!
This place was amazing. A quiet beach with warm, clear water and few to no waves. It was the perfect place to relax with no distractions. Snorkeling in the mornings with the big turtles was a great way to start the day. The food was some of the best we had on our entire trip and the staff were attentive, polite and had personality. Rikki and the other staff made us feel very welcome and comfortable and we shared many laughs (just ask Rikki for his Aussie impressions). We stayed in both style rooms and both were impeccable.
Very glad we stayed!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jonno D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a valuable review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
It’s so nice for us to read such fantastic comments about your great experience at MAHAMAYA and that you had such a super experience.

Thank you again for all your positive comments in particular your comments about our staff. Your review was a joy for our whole team to read! Such positive reviews really do inspire our team to continue to deliver outstanding service and ensure you have a happy holiday!
We very much hope that we can welcome you back soon to MAHAMAYA for relaxation.

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gili Meno
0.4 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia - Meno
Les Villas Ottalia - Meno
#2 of 11 in Gili Meno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
1.3 mi away
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
#2 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mahogany Cottage
Mahogany Cottage
#6 of 11 in Gili Meno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#1 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#8 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,670 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#4 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort

Property: MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort
Address: Turtle Point, West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Meno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Meno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The meaning of MAHAMAYA is ultimate paradise. And that's exactly what you'll find at our chic, eco inspired resort. So if you're looking for the perfect, leave-it-all-behind, luxury beach destination, we'll be delighted to welcome you to the idyllic island of Gili Meno. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort Gili Meno, Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing