We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style and Comfort on Paradise Island”
Review of MAHAMAYA Gili Meno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
MAHAMAYA Gili Meno
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Gili Meno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Live your Robinson Crusoe dream here! It's a fab little hotel with great food, characterful rooms and genuinely attentive and caring staff. I was here on my birthday and they sprinkled the room with flowers, made me a cake and brought it out to our table singing 'happy birthday'. Thank you Mahamaya for a great surprise!

Room Tip: Get a villa - right on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacqD90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Gili Meno, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a valuable review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
It’s so nice for us to read such fantastic comments about your great experience at MAHAMAYA.
We were so happy to read your 5 star comments about our resort.

Thank you again for all your positive comments, it was a joy for our whole team to read!
Such positive reviews really do inspire our team to continue to deliver outstanding service and ensure you have a happy holiday!
We very much hope that we can welcome you back soon to MAHAMAYA.

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (729)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

303 - 309 of 729 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

I'm not sure where to start. The worst thing about this hotel was having to leave. This may not be the most spectacular hotel I've ever stayed in (architecturally and amenities-wise) but between the location and the staff, I don't know how any other hotel could possibly live up to this place. The staff, my husband and I are still talking about how we could possibly express how wonderful they truly are. Every single person we encountered was truly happy to be there and it showed in how they did their jobs and interacted with visitors and each other. We ate at the restaurant for every meal because it was great, not just convenient. David, the owner, even stopped by on a few occasions to talk to us and see how things were going. When it came to leaving, the staff, including David, walked us to the boat to say goodbye. We were only there for four days but I struggled to hold back tears as we left. We had such a great time and so many wonderful conversations with the staff. We felt like we left with friends. Thank you again to everyone at Mahamaya. I hope we can see you again soon.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank kristin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Gili Meno, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a valuable review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
It’s so nice for us to read such fantastic comments about your great experience at MAHAMAYA.
We are happy to read your 5 star comments and happy to hear that you had such a great time with us.

Thank you again for all your positive comments, it was a joy for our whole team to read!
Such positive reviews really do inspire our team to continue to deliver outstanding service and ensure you have a happy holiday!
We very much hope that we can welcome you back soon to MAHAMAYA, to visit your friends on our teamand so that we can welcome you back home.

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was the reason we selected Meno and were not disappointed at all. Excellent location with the hotel service staff being outstanding throughout.
Definitely one of the best destinations in either Bali or Lambok.
Perfect for casual snorkeling right of the beach. Excellent food options, considering we were vegetarian.

Room Tip: Everyone should take the beach Villa. Awesome, right on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peggy-Lavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Gili Meno, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a valuable review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
It’s so nice for us to read such fantastic comments about your great experience at MAHAMAYA.
Thank you so much for awarding us 5 stars for everything!

Thank you again for all your positive comments, it was a joy for our whole team to read!
Such positive reviews really do inspire our team to continue to deliver outstanding service and ensure you have a happy holiday!
We very much hope that we can welcome you back soon to MAHAMAYA.

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I recently stayed at the Mahamaya hotel for 3 nights and really loved this little hotel. Its on a beautiful peaceful part of the Island where you can swim with Turtles and the staff are absolutely first class. Gili Meno is still unspoilt by developments and it has the best beaches of the three Gili Islands. The hotel is expensive but worth it if you wish to treat yourself.

The only negatives are the work that is currently going on to extend the hotel (but you are clearly advised of this when booking) and the price of the food and drink at the hotel. The food is by no means expensive when compared to a restaurant in the UK or Oz for example but it is several times the cost of food of most of the other restaurants on the island (local or western food). I recommend you make sure you try other local restaurants as the food is of a similar standard and a fraction of the cost. Make sure you also by your drinks from the hotel next door as they are also half the price!

Overall this is defo worth a visit!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dbw2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Gili Meno, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a valuable review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
It’s so nice for us to read such fantastic comments about your great experience at MAHAMAYA.
We are happy to read that our building works did not appear to affect your overall experience. Our works are ahead of schedule and we hope that you will return soon to enjoy our expanded facilities.

We firmly believe that we provide great value and and a unique experience on our tiny island. Our quality and service level we feel can not be compared to the local warungs. We do hope you read our notice in the rooms regarding availability of cheaper substituted alcohol on these islands. Alcohol is heavily taxed in Indonesia and this is reflected in our alcohol pricing. We would advise caution in drinking cheaper products as there is a possibility that this would not be a genuine product and we would like to advise our guests that there maybe risks associated with consuming these products.

Thank you again for all your positive comments, it was a joy for our whole team to read!
Such positive reviews really do inspire our team to continue to deliver outstanding service and ensure you have a happy holiday!
We very much hope that we can welcome you back soon to MAHAMAYA.

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We heard and read lots of good things about this hotel, so we were really looking forward to staying there. Unfortunately it did not meet our expectations.
Sorry if this is a negative comment, but we are just sharing our own recent experience.

We required and paid for private speedboat transfer from telok nara harbour (cost is 575.000/per way!). It was 8pm when we arrived at the harbor, but no signs of the boat. After calling the hotel 4 times, and being told to wait on the beach as the boatmen were coming for us, we finally manage to find someone on the beach who spoke bahasa with hotel staff and told us to walk on the opposite side of the harbor since the boat was there. After walking in the sand with our 2 year old kid + all our luggage + in night with no light, we finally saw all boatmen guys laughing, drinking, smoking on the beach and NO ONE was coming to help us. At our arrival on hotel beach, we requested to speak to manager, we discuss with operations manager and he told us he will investigate. That's it, absolutely no news, no discount, no special customer service experience. He even told us that maybe we exaggerated a little bit compared with boatmen version! What kind of luxury boutique hotel tells that to guests who are paying more than 200 USD/night for a beach villa?! I think there is a huge management problem and it is really a shame because there is a huge potential...
The villa itself is nice, a bit old (toilet cabinet not cleaned at all, some water infiltration pbms in walls due to humidity). The open concept shower is cool to use. They provide mosquito repellent for free which is useful. Also free to use snorkeling gear + bicycles. The diners on the beach are fantastic with views of the sunset.
Other good things about the hotel is that the swimming pool is small but they put a cover to get some shade on it. The restaurant is nice (although no fresh fish available at all). No sand beach but coral beach (be careful with children) so very good snorkeling. I would like to conclude by mentioning that the best thing is the regular staff (very friendly and helpful specially Arie, Alicia, and Ucuf). They all tried their best to make our stay relaxed and enjoyable.
Sorry to say we will not come back, and we will not recommend the hotel which we think is too pricey for service level).

Room Tip: We stayed in the Candy Villa which is near the restaurant so very easy to walk with the baby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancithan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DARoberts, Owner at MAHAMAYA Gili Meno, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Nancithan T,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and to share your experience On Tripadvisor. The vast majority of your comments are positive and complimentary and we thank you for that.
You said that the Villa was nice and that you enjoyed using the outside shower. You liked the in room amenities such as free mosquito repellent. You enjoyed the free hotel facilities, such as snorkeling gear and bicycles and were happy to use the swimming pool and was glad of the overhead sunshade above the pool. You enjoyed snorkeling at the beach and you said that dinners at the beach were fantastic. Thank you for these lovely compliments about our resort, food, staff and service – We will relay your kind words to Chef Jar, Arie, Ucuf and Achie. All of these comments relate directly to the actual service level that you received at the hotel itself. Indeed, it would seem that the only issue you actually had within the hotel itself was that the bathroom cabinet was not cleaned to your satisfaction and that there were signs of humidity in the bathroom. We apologise for these problems and we have already met with our housekeeping staff, to ensure that the bathroom cabinets are always cleaned thoroughly. Despite only currently having 9 rooms, we do employ 3 maintenance staff and humidity is indeed an issue on a tiny island with no fresh water and we constantly update and try to keep our paint work fresh and in good order. The salt content in the wind and within the island water is very corrosive. The water table is very high at this time of year and that can also affect the walls.
And so to the crunch and what would seem to be the main reason for your disappointment and scoring us so low on service – Your arrival transport.
You have omitted some very important information in your review and it is therefore necessary for us to respond in full and provide a full picture:
Before arriving at the resort, you informed us by email that you would make your own transport arrangements. Indeed , until early evening on the day of your arrival, we had no information concerning your arrival time and had no idea how you would reach the resort as you had not provided us with that information. Naturally, that is your prerogative. Early evening on the actual day of your arrival, you telephoned the hotel requesting a speedboat transfer from Lombok to the resort. You informed us that you had made your own arrangement for land transportation and only needed a speedboat. It can be very difficult for us to arrange transport at the very last minute and we do usually request that guests provide us with 24 hours notice . However, we did agree to help you and arranged the speedboat with the 3rd party that provides the service, at the very last minute. We informed you of the exact location that you needed to go to. The car that you had arranged by yourself, dropped you off and it would seem abandoned you in the wrong location. We informed you to go to Teleuk Nara but you were dropped off at Teluk Kodek, which is the next harbour.. There are around 12 private harbours in that area and we had absolutely no idea where you were. We did call the boat company repeatedly and asked them to go and look for you. There are many boat staff and local people around all of these harbours, working for all the different companies providing transport. We are very sorry that you had a bad experience with your transport, so much so that it affected your whole feeling and stay at our resort. This is the last thing that we want and we do appreciate how stressful it must have been for you, especially traveling with a young child. You arrived at the hotel at 8:45pm and due to your stressful journey, we took you straight to your villa. These 20 -30 minutes that you were lost and waited clearly affected what otherwise could have been a wonderful and trouble free stay and we are so sorry about that. We are also sorry that you were expecting further redress and follow up with our manager as he thought that the matter was concluded. Clearly, something was lost in translation. You organised your own transport that dropped you to the wrong location and under the circumstances I did not feel that is was justified to offer you financial compensation.
Be well and safe travels, Cordially, David Roberts (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We just spent 3 nights at Mahamaya from 5th to 8th May and I’d like to say how amazing the service is in this hotel. Having lived in Indonesia for the past 11 years I understand how rare it is to find service of this level especially on a small island like Gili Meno. The staff at Mahamaya went out of their way to make your stay a pleasurable one, nothing was too much trouble and they were always extremely happy, helpful and friendly. They also did an extremely good job at entertaining my 2 four year old twins, so much so that my girls didn’t want to leave at the end of the trip! The location of Mahamaya is amazing, the rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable and the inclusive breakfast was great as was the rest of the food. My only criticism was that the dinner service didn’t start until 6pm which was a bit late for my girls. All in all it was a fabulous and memorable stay for everyone in my party so thank you so much Mahamaya. We will be back I’m sure!

Room Tip: The beach Villas have the most amazing views and definitely worth the extra. If you are travelling w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerrybali2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Gili Meno, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a valuable review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
It’s so nice for us to read such fantastic comments about your great experience at MAHAMAYA.

Thank you again for all your positive comments, it was a joy for our whole team to read!
Such positive reviews really do inspire our team to continue to deliver outstanding service and ensure you have a happy holiday!
We very much hope that we can welcome you back soon to MAHAMAYA, given that you are living in Bali we really hope that will be very soon.

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

we stayed at mahamaya for 9 days in april and we loved every minute of it. the island is such a special place- wonderful beaches, great ocean, snorkelling...
and thanks a lot to the mahamaya-staff for the great service and making this holiday very special for us.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Gili Meno, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a valuable review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
It’s so nice for us to read such fantastic comments about your great experience at MAHAMAYA.

Thank you again for all your positive comments, your glowing 5 star review was a joy for our whole team to read!
Such positive reviews really do inspire our team to continue to deliver outstanding service and ensure you have a happy holiday!
We very much hope that we can welcome you back soon to MAHAMAYA. When are you coming back to see us?

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gili Meno
0.4 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia - Meno
Les Villas Ottalia - Meno
#3 of 11 in Gili Meno
218 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#8 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,866 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mahogany Cottage
Mahogany Cottage
#6 of 11 in Gili Meno
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway
1.3 mi away
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
#3 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
561 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adeng-Adeng Bungalows
Adeng-Adeng Bungalows
#5 of 11 in Gili Meno
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MAHAMAYA Gili Meno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MAHAMAYA Gili Meno

Address: Turtle Point, West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Meno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Meno
Price Range: £90 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MAHAMAYA Gili Meno 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The meaning of MAHAMAYA is ultimate paradise. And that's exactly what you'll find at our chic, eco inspired resort. So if you're looking for the perfect, leave-it-all-behind, luxury beach destination, we'll be delighted to welcome you to the idyllic island of Gili Meno. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your MAHAMAYA Gili Meno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MAHAMAYA Gili Meno Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing