We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pesona Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I recently stayed at Pesona for a week, I couldn't complain at all about my stay. Sumeena and the team here were very accommodating. The Villa wasn't available for the full duration of my stay the only room they had left was the standard room it had no a/c but that didn't matter, the room had fans and I never had a problem with the heat. I ate at the Indian Restaurant and the food was fantastic. Even though there was renovations going on at the front of the property I never once heard them going on. You are in a good location right on the main street near everything.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichelleBlackmore86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    144
    71
    35
    32
See reviews for
39
190
46
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

This hotel is for backbackers, now there is nothing wrong with that as they are needed,but no need to charge a 3 star price! There is construction happening out front, noise from kitchens behind the bungalows,air conditioners that sound like the airport, blowing warm air into a room that has large hole in the fly wires , no fridge, and no shade at all by the pool.
We wouldn't mind all of this at say $30 per night,but not at $70.
We booked for 4 nights ,stayed 1, found quality down the main drag for $20 more, like chalk and cheese.
The manager was very helpful with our concerns and ensured that agoda gave us our money back on the remaining 3 nights, so thank you.
The location is great,the breakfast is terrible,and the front shisha bar is a top place to chill out.
Its a mixed bag,can get better but way overpriced.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank latinafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sannygowda, Owner at Pesona Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for your review and I am sorry to hear all your concerns about Pesona Resort. To address your main concern, the price, we are a very well located establishment that offers all the necessary facilities for a comfortable stay on the island and as such, we are very well priced compared to our counterparts in the central area. Although you feel you were offered a lot more in the resort you moved to for not much more, I know you moved to a much larger place which does not suit everyone. We pride ourselves on being a small, friendly boutique resort.

It seems we were not to your liking but as other positive reviews show, we appeal to more than backpackers, we have a range of guests staying in our varied range of rooms.

I am aware you had some issues with your air conditioning which we did fix immediately. These things happen, but we resolved the problem as soon as possible as well as offering you another room. As you said, we accommodated your request to leave with a full refund as we pride ourselves on making our guests happy.

You mentioned the building work, which is contained in a small area at the front of the resort and during 9-5 hours only which is NOT impacting any of the rooms with noise. This building work is coming to an end in a few months at which point we will have 8 new rooms including some sea view rooms, a new kitchen/bar and a brand new Dive Shop...so watch this space.

Thanks Sandesh (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Myself and my partner stayed here for a few nights in April. We booked pesona as it was in the same price range as the hotels we had been staying in Bali.

We were a little disappointed with it to be honest. It's certainly not a 'resort', more like a backpackers hotel and believe the excellent reviews for Pesona are coming from backpackers on a budget..

Snorkelling off Gili Trawangan is good, and we saw a big turtle feeding off the coral literally ten meters off the shore which was amazing. The problem Gili Trawangan has is the amount of rubbish floating about, if you just walk into the sea your certain to see plastic bags and other rubbish, then a little further out(we hired paddle boards) there is a lot of rubbish on the surface of the water and floating beneath the surface which is a great shame. We understand it's a small island and must be difficult with sewerage/waste. But surely something can be done to help this?

The average rating for cleanliness is due to the pool, we didn't see it getting cleaned once whilst we were there.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Davedave46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sannygowda, Owner at Pesona Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Pesona Resort. I'm glad you liked the snorkeling, we have one of the best snorkel spots on the island right in front of our resort. There are many things being done about the rubbish on Gili Trawangan as a whole but as with any place that is developing so fast, it will take time to bring under control.

As for your stay, regarding cleanliness, we are disappointed you did not rate how clean the pool was, rather that you did not see it being cleaned. I know the pool is cleaned every morning around 6.30am-7am to avoid bothering guests during breakfast. Further, we add chemicals into the pool during the night so that it does not impact the guests using the pool. Were you around during these times? I know the pool is 100% clean as I see it daily and my kids swim in it any time they are at the resort.

I imagine you are disappointed about the value for money of our resort as you are comparing to similar priced accommodation in Bali. This is actually an unfair comparison as all accommodation is more expensive on Gili Trawangan compared to Bali for the following reasons, to name a few 1. There are more accommodation options in Bali that drives down the price; 2. Costs of staff, all cleaning products, anything for the rooms etc are MUCH cheaper in Bali than on the remote island of Gili Trawangan; 3. We have an amazing central, beach front location that would cost a lot more in Bali! 4. We have a small place but we offer anything you need for a great stay, including delicious food and drink!

Our new rooms and Dive Shop will only add to the appeal of Pesona Resort as a place to stay.

Thanks Sandesh (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

I did not stay at Pesona but ate at the restaurant 3 times and enjoyed many hours lazing by the beach in their chill-out area.

The food was the best I had on the Island, and beats every Indian restaurant in Sydney that I've been to. You can't like curry, and not come here if you're on Gili T!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank A1k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broome, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

The hotels located in the middle of all the action in gili t and the rooms are down the back so you can't hear any noise at night. Great little bar beside the pool with awesome staff. I stayed in one of the bungalows which are spacious and cleaned every day. It also served amazing Indian food. Defiantly better for couples or groups.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Bookofkels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights in mid April in a Duluxe Bungalow, cost about £62 per night via Adoda. We booked due to some glowing reviews on here, but wish we'd paid more attention to the average and bad ones as they are more accurate.

If we go back to Gili T we'd stay less central (everything is actually very close with a bicycle) and pay a bit more for more space. My tip is just to turn up, there are many more hotels than what is on trip advisor.

PRO'S:
- Location is central on the main strip, but our room was set back from the party noise
- Stayed in a Duluxe bungalow, nice little outside area, bedroom was clean, no bugs, bed comfortable if a little creaky, air con worked, but we mostly used the fan.
- Sheesha and drinks in bar overlooking sea in the evening was a lot of fun
- staff are generally smiley and try to be helpful. One in particular is a nice guy, but a bit overbearing (supercilious) with his compliments...

Cons:
- Ongoing construction works, half is a building site. No mention of this on arrival, no discount, no apology. Noise is during day.
- Bungalow backs onto houses so can constantly hear people talking and banging around in day
- it's a narrow strip of land and is not really a 'resort', pool is right on the front by the street and is very small it's pointless using it.
- bathroom is really smelly (it's either the water or drains)
- breakfast was very average. It's tea (watery) or coffee (good), orange juice (not fresh, tastes like squash), option of pancake, fruit or eggs (only tried eggs and they were ok)
- wifi was only in reception, not rooms but reception is the area you avoid due to building noise.

Things that really niggled us with the service:
- on arrival staff insisted on seeing booking confirmation which we didn't have as we booked it 2 days before online. They made us use their wifi and our phone to find it despite us asking to just book us in with names and passport like every hotel I've ever stayed at. In the end we couldn't login to our email, only then did they check their clipboard and what do you know our names were there and they checked us in!

- we extended by 1 night (to avoid the hassle of moving elsewhere) so asked the receptionist to call our hotel in Bali to notify them that we'll be late. Asked them to look number up online but they would not do this because they "are not allowed to use the internet". We were perplexed given he was sitting behind the reception desk with a computer and there is free wifi for guests..... When I quizzed the owner there no real explanation but "it's an island" as though I was being unreasonable. My guess is owner (who was not around much) is only one who is allowed to use the computer.

This place could easily be much better if they paid more attention to the average to poor reviews! EG - if breakfast was great, we'd probably have tried the Indian food in restaurant.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sannygowda, Owner at Pesona Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Pesona Resort. It is a real shame you did not try the Indian food, our restaurant serves some of the best food on the island, as well as yummy cocktails and Sheesha, on the island for a reasonable price.

As for your advice to "turn up and look around" for accommodation, I would strongly advise against this unless you are very flexible on where you want to stay (location and standard of room)/price you want to pay and don't mind wasting your day looking around!

I will address your con points as we agree with you on the plus points (some of our staff are very enthusiastic and love to chat to our guests!).

The construction work is limited to 9-5 hours and is contained to the front of the resort, where in a few months we will have 8 new rooms and a brand new Dive Shop. The discount is incorporated into the reduced room rates, we are currently very competitively priced especially if booking through agoda.

We are located centrally which suits most of our guests, this does mean there is village noise which is contained to the day time, but this suits most guests who are out diving, snorkeling or at the pool most of the day.

I'm sorry you do not consider us a resort with the lush green gardens infront of the rooms or our very popular pool bar, that many guests spend all day relaxing around or people watching, looking out to the ocean or drinking yummy cocktails/eating lovely food. We offer everything you need for a great holiday on Gili Trawangan, like any respectable boutique resort should.

As for the breakfast, we offer a very varied breakfast menu with options for the guests and an organic/fresh and safe offering with freshly made bread and fruit. Many places on Gili Trawangan do not even offer breakfast in the room rate so although you were disappointed with breakfast, I feel it is a reasonable offering for a free breakfast. Further, you get to eat on the beach, looking out to unmatched views of the clear blue and green water and Lombok.

Currently, we only offer wifi in reception and on our very comfortable beach front lounging area. You were told this on check-in.

As for both your "niggles", I actually spoke to my staff who was very upset that he could not find the number of the Bali hotel you mention. I then tried to help him find the details for your onward hotel based on the very little information you left reception and also failed to find the details. It is not our receptions job to use the internet, they are able to do so but are not required to do this, but it was an impossible task you gave them, even me as an IT management consultant from the city of London failed! Sorry! As owners, we are actually around everyday, for much of the day, and I did speak to you as I dialed the hotel in Bali for you...not so hard when you give us the number!

We do insist on guests producing booking confirmation on arrival to avoid any mix ups on check in (this is internationally accepted if you have traveled before which I take it you have?). Agoda especially asks us to do this. This is the process and it's good to read that the reception staff were trying to follow this process to make sure all check ins run smoothly.

Rgds Sandesh (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

My daughter and I stayed at Pesona Resort for six nights up to 8th April. The quality of service provided by all staff was top rate. The cleanliness of the rooms and common areas was noteworthy too. We stayed in one of the Deluxe Bungalows and subsequently in the two bedroom villa - both comfortable, the latter spacious.

Had dinner twice at the Indian restaurant - great nosh and priced at a similar level to many (most?) of the cafes and restaurants on the main strip.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
1.2 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#18 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.7 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#5 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#8 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Le Pirate Beach Club Hotel
Le Pirate Beach Club Hotel
#3 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gili Palms Resort
Gili Palms Resort
#11 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#4 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pesona Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pesona Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Pesona Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Jl. Raya Trawangan, West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#8 Spa Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pesona Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pesona Beach Resort is located on the idyllic island of Gili Trawangan, just off the northwest coast of Lombok. Situated just a short walk south of the jetty on Gili Trawangan, Pesona Resort is an ideal place to spend your time here. We recently opened a 5* Dive center called Dive Central Gili which is PADI certified and a Spa to pamper yourself with all sorts of treatments. The pool overlooks the white sandy private beach and the turquoise ocean, with Gunung Rinjani as its backdrop. We have 6 types of accommodation available to our guests (2 Bed Villa Suite, Villa Rooms, Deluxe Rooms, Sea-View Rooms, Deluxe Bungalows & Standard AC Rooms. All of our rooms are considerately furnished with quality in mind and have en-suite western standard bathrooms. If you want to experience something different from the local nasi dishes or the western fusion menus, why not come for some authentic INDIAN FOOD? Our specialist chefs lovingly prepare the food using the best imported ingredients and we have a comprehensive menu of authentic Indian cuisine to delight your taste buds as well as a new Lunch Menu serving up western food. The Sheesha lounge on the beach is a perfect way to end of the evenings. Book transfers from Bali or Lombok through easygili transfers to get here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pesona Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pesona Hotel Gili Trawangan
Pesona Beach Resort & Spa Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing