We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of Alam Gili

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alam Gili
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Certificate of Excellence
Bogor, West Java
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Me and family loved the stay at Gili Alam! We stayed at fish suite and it was very comfortable yet spacious for family. The service was excellent and superb friendly, only one receptionist at night shift that we think less friendly than others. We love the banana pancake for breakfast. The location is a bit far from centre..so I think it is best for people who want to escape from crowd. There is no tv channel and phone at room, but there is dvd player (maybe you can bring yours).The hot water also didn't work well. But overall, we love the atmosphere and super friendly people there.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank syeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    76
    22
    12
    6
See reviews for
66
156
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed at Alam Gili after a RAYmarkable Bali experience at Alam Jiwa, Ubud. I was not expecting the kind of setting that Alam Gili offers in an island location in this part of Indonesia. The resort is away from the crowd which fits my preference. It is the perfect place for someone who loves to relax after doing island activities in the Gili islands. Well, I usually do a lot of research works before choosing the perfect accommodation for my trip. Truly Alam Gili captures my type of accommodation in an island location for being peaceful and for having a relaxing ambience. However, the maintenance of the place during my stay lacked improvement. Considering that the area of the resort is limited, not having a wide beach front, maintenance should emphasize in making the place look spacious and vibrant... Overall, it is a very good place!

Maraming salamat Alam Gili family :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayGohetiaJatico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I am familiar with the Alam hotels in Ubud, which is why I chose to stay here. Overall, not quite the same standard as the others but I still liked it. The location away from the main drag was a bonus for us. Just a 15 minute walk to the beginning of the party scene strip, which was easy enough to do in the day. A night we preferred to get a horse and cart back, because it was a little isolated and dark in places. Horse and cart ride should only cost you 50, 000rp. The food is the same quality as the rest of the Alam group and that is sensational! Good choice for breakfast freshly made and taken either to your room or the beach setting under a canopy of trees - gorgeous!
The rooms were quite dark and we always closed the front door and bathroom door to keep the bugs out. In saying that we did love to sit on the little verandah and daybed and read, so were not in the room very often. We had to rent bikes from next door 75,000 for 24 hrs and that was well worth doing. Pool here was clean and refreshing and I enjoyed my swims here. Staff were friendly and attentive. Wifi didn't often work in the room, so had to wander up to reception and use the service there, which wasn't a problem as all the rooms are quite close. I would recommend this hotel and would be happy to stay here again. Value for money, you can't beat it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeeLou64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We had a lovely stay here. The breakfast is great as was all food we had at the hotel. Staff were wonderful. Great to hire the bikes to get around the island. We stayed in the 2 story room which was lovely except the stairs were a bit scary (particularly for kids) and it was quite hot upstairs even with the aircon on.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bindi_Oliva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed in Alam Gili last week, it has a beautiful scene in from the outside that made me choose this place to release my nerves after having a very fun day in Gili T. Very good place, just a small problem with the staff to comunicate as well as i expected.
This place still have worst room to stay (bugs&etc) (1/20 probability), if you feeling unlucky you might get that one.
You can find "villa ombak hotel" also if you want to find another place to stay that provide great quality of service like Alam Gili Hotel

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Elfano E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We chose this hotel on Gili T because we were staying at a sister property, Alam Jiwa, in Ubud. Alam Jiwa was amazing in every way, so we imagined that Alam Gili would be our best bet on Gili T. What a surprise, in every way.

Things went badly right at the beginning. We made a reservation for the largest room, but when we got there we saw it was a giant two-story house, very dark inside, very hot, musty, very gloomy, bugs, it was just entirely unpleasant in every way. There was air conditioning but it was completely ineffective for the size of the building. I went to reception to inquire about changing rooms and was told that there were no other rooms available. Our interactions with the staff were also unpleasant; from the start, it was a stiff and belligerent experience with them. Believing we had no other choice but to stay in our room, we decided to look at other hotels nearby, thinking we'd check out the next morning instead of staying for three days, as we'd planned. We found a lovely place nearby, made arrangements to move the following morning, and then returned to Alam Gili to inform them that we'd be checking out the next day. Magically there were other rooms available. We were not interested because we'd clearly been lied to, but also because the whole property was dark and gloomy, and the other smaller rooms looked no better.

The pool was attractive but the deck around the pool was littered with leaves and other vegetation, there were no cushions on the chairs, and we had to find someone to ask them for cushions and towels. Again we were met with scowls and belligerent attitudes.

We barely slept, the room was so stuffy and hot and awful, and the night passed very slowly. We checked out very early, walked to the other hotel, and had a perfectly wonderful time there. It was literally everything Alam Gili wasn't. The people there were friendly, the room was light and clean and cool, the pool was tended to and well-stocked, and we felt welcomed. Exactly the opposite of our miserable experience at Alam Gili.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marc_Lori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
427 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

What a great place this is to get away , switch off and relax.
The biggest decision I had to make each day was which breakfast choice I was going to choose...it was great getting up each morning to have breakfast on the beach with the sand in your toes !
Alam Gili is probably situated in the shadiest and coolest part of the island - located in the north of the island it is away from the main eatery strip of Gili although there is still some excellent restaurants nearby and the best place to view the fantastic sunsets every evening.
Nyoman and his staff are very friendly and offer you complimentary afternoon tea in your room every day.
We stayed in the Mangku room situated at the back of Alam Gili which overlooks the rest of the complex , whilst not air conditioned it does have fans which is more than enough to keep you cool.
Alam Gili also offers bicycles for hire as well as snorkelling equipment.
This is a fantastic place to relax and is ideal for couples and families...highly recommended !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BundyRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.2 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#15 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
532 reviews
0.6 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#5 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
631 reviews
1.5 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#1 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Pirate Beach Club Gili T Hotel
0.3 mi away
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
#2 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
516 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#8 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Gili? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Gili

Property: Alam Gili
Address: West Nusa Tenggara 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alam Gili 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Alam Gili reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Gili Hotel Gili Trawangan
Alam Gili Trawangan
Alam Gili Hotel Trawangan
Alam Gili Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing