We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“martas stay number 4” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Martas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Martas Hotel
Ranked #2 of 144 Gili Trawangan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“martas stay number 4”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

My wife and I began a love affair with Marta,four years ago and have stayed with friends and family on the various trips. Conveniently located just a short walk from the beach and the bustling main strip, it is positioned in a tranquil and well landscaped position offering a glistening pool and shaded lanais to sit and read and relax. Jo and Marta are brilliant hosts and a wealth of local info not just on Gili Trawangan but further afield and their staff are very friendly and helpful. Martas is the ideal place to stay in The Gilis and we look forward to our next stay

Room Tip: rooms opposite reception and pool would be my pick
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    95
    18
    2
    1
See reviews for
96
189
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We loved Martas so much when we visited in September 2012, we decided to come back on our honeymoon this year, and we enjoyed it just as much the second time around! We were made so welcome from the very beginning. The rooms are large and spacious and breakfast is generous and tasty. The location is great, just off the main road so it's quieter. But the main thing is the friendliness and attention to detail of the staff and Joanna the owner, for whom nothing is too much trouble. I have already recommended Martas to 2 friends, and both of them loved it too. Amazing value for money, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macao
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We loved our week at Martas! The rooms were big and the beds were comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious and included. This is the perfect place for a family. The pool offered a welcome break from the beach each afternoon. It's nice and quiet and located away from the busy part of the island. They helped us organize a snorkeling trip and it was a wonderful day! Joanna and Marta are excellent hosts and we would highly recommend their hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akiat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed here for four nights and Joanna was incredibly helpful both while we were there and by email in advance.

We were met from the boat and walked to the hotel by a member of staff. The hotel is set a five minute walk back from the main street but still near all the beach-front restaurants and bars.

Breakfast is lovely - choice of juice, choice of main plus tea/coffee and fresh tropical fruit - and you can eat on your own terrace overlooking the pool. Pool is really nice when quiet but unfortunately we overlapped with a fair few families (maybe it was October half term?) and so it was generally full of small screaming children. We tended to go to the beach for some peace!

Lovely Indonesian warung in the village behind the hotel, and Joanna is great for food and entertainment recommendations. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

My new wife and I spent 4 wonderful days at Martas in mid/late September. Extremely friendly staff and Joanna was a brilliant host. The accommodation was extremely good value, free breakfast was excellent and couldn't have asked for a better place to stay in Gili T. Great location, just a bit off the main track too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

I chose this guesthouse because of the good reviews in tripadvisor
and I'm glad I do the right thing.
Joanna was really helpful with our booking inquiry.

At first, we had a little bit difficulty to find this hotel
because the staffs didn't pick up the phone.
But after 10-15minutes, I could contact them and they picked us up in the port.
The hotel is nice and the room is big also.
Breakfast also good.
\With the price they offer,
me and my friends agree that it's a great value to stay.
We love it!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chi_chat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
75 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

We booked on the recommendation of friends and were not disappointed. Right from first contact Joanne was the perfect host, responding quickly with great information and assistance. And the welcome when we arrived was truly warm, and somehow she has managed to convey the same service ethos to her staff - her team is excellent. The "boys" were always smiling, helpful and full of great advice. Most impressive, within a day they had learnt both kids names and would greet them and farewell them by their names as we came in and out. It is such little touches that make Marta's stand out.

The rooms are great value for money. We had a family room with a single downstairs (an extra bed was placed there as well), a massive king sized bed upstairs and another single bed as well. Air con was great, and the room was always clean. Pool is small but well designed for kids and the Gardens are beautiful. Breakfast is from a menu but is plentiful and tasty. The local guide provided in the room was fantastic and we used the recommendations each night to find a place to eat. We were not disappointed and there is a fantastic choice and range of restaurants.the seafood BBQs are wonderful, fresh fish of course and the prices very reasonable.

Now, overall on the Gili Islands. Gili T is busy and loud, and you simply cannot avoid this although Marta's is probably the best place for quietness. We walked past some beautiful resorts around the island, but next to bars that were booming out music all night. So you need to be careful when selecting your hotel. Snorkeling was good to excellent depending where you went. Our best day we hired our own boat and crew for 5 hours ($100 SGD) and had a great experience. Gili Air seemed to be the best snorkeling and a lot quieter than Gili T!

We are going to return and if we decide the stay on Gili T there is no decisions to be made - Martas!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank CraigandSculli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#8 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#4 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.7 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#5 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
#2 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Pirate Beach Club Hotel
Le Pirate Beach Club Hotel
#3 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#18 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martas Hotel

Property: Martas Hotel
Address: off Main Street, West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Martas Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst lush tropical gardens, just a stones throw from the main hub of island activity, Martas offers a collection of beautiful 2-storey detached bungalows situated around a central swimming pool. Mixing traditional Lombok design with modern comforts, each bungalow features carved wood and natural stone decors, air-conditioning, king-size bed, private bathroom with fresh hot water shower and free toiletries, flat-screen TV and mini fridge. Larger bungalows for families and groups of friends are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Martas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martas Hotel Gili Trawangan
Martas Hotel Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing