We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot”
Review of Martas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Martas Hotel
Ranked #4 of 157 Gili Trawangan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Spot”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is a great spot just off the main strip. Very friendly staff and the breakfast is a great addition. Rooms were unique with bedroom upstairs and bathroom downstairs. Very quiet at night even though you are just a short walk from the beach.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adam j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    100
    18
    2
    2
See reviews for
101
192
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Ideal location, around 100m inland from the best restaurants and bars but in a very quiet location. Breakfast was really tasty, plentiful and good choices (proper bread and milk!).

The two story chalets are very nicely designed. We particularly enjoyed hanging out in the shade on the day bed in front of our chalet (where you can also have breakfast). Rooms were clean and well maintained. Despite being quite a compact hotel, it is very well laid out so you feel like you have you're own privacy.

The staff was friendly and helpful. We were even met on arrival at the harbour which was a nice touch. There are snorkels available to higher, although the best snorkelling is on the north of the island so it would be best to rent a bike.

One morning we were woken early by the nearby mosque so if you're a light sleeper then bring earplugs.

Overall, a great stay at Martas and a highlight during our travels in Indonesia.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MikunaWoodhna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Very friendly staff - really went the extra mile to help when we accidentally left a much-loved sarong behind!; spacious accommodation; lovely pool; nice breakfast; good location. Not right on the waterfront, but that's a very good thing as there are a lot of bars, music and behaviour that is not at this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room beside the pool, but all seemed to be well positioned. We accidentally left something...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

After weeks of deliberating our accommodation across Seminyak, Nusa Lenbongan and Gili T, we decided on Martas as our choice for our four night stay on Trawangan.
Our decision came from the highly regarded position in Trip Advisor from the reviews of other travellers.
I have great pleasure in qualifying what others have written previously. Martas is a fantastic place to stay. The location is excellent, just off the main street and only a few minutes from the boat jetty. The bungalows are very traditional indonesian and are spotless. Air conditioning, minibar fridge, daybed outside your bungalow with a cooling fan above...all excellent.
The pool in the centre of the property was continuously welcoming and never full due to the small number of bungalows at Martas.
Breakfasts were excellent and quickly turned around by the staff. Eggs any way, banana pancakes, and excellent omlette, all with tea/coffee and fruit juice with a fruit plate.
We didn't get the opportunity to meet Joanna as she was overseas at the time, but testament to the way she runs this establishment...the staff were consistently friendly, helpful and in fact couldn't do enough for you.

I highly recommend Martas as a great place to stay on Gili Trawangan.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simorgan1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with a group of friends, great villas, clean and spacious, relaxed atmosphere, very friendly staff especially Joanna the owner. Great location close to the Main Street and walking distance to anywhere on the island! Nothing bad to say, would definitely recommend staying here again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mellissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

It is very nice, clean and peaceful place with a lot of space. There is nice and clean pool in front of rooms and restaurant. I was there few times and I really adore their banana pancake. If you love banana pancake, you should try it. You will never have a problem with service even if you expect that due to the nature of the people from there. So, enjoy :)

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dzamburu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stayed with our 2 small kids. Compared with other places on Gili T in the same kind of price range, Marta's is a great option.

For us though, we ended up only staying 1 night and moving around the corner. Simple reason - for a short holiday we fancied somewhere a bit nicer and decided to up the budget a bit, so just a personal choice.

The pool is lovely and sunny, the upstairs in the cottages are cute, but we struggled to relax with the steep stairs and slippery kids feet! Downstairs the rooms are pretty dark and not as nice as upstairs. Finishing touches were a bit lacking, empty shower/shampoo pots and some of the oldest towels I've ever seen. This is being really picky though as you're not paying for luxury, and everything else about Marta's seemed pretty good. Nice breakfast.

Joanna was awesome with advice and the whole booking experience, and we got met by her staff from the boat which was a nice touch. She was away during our stay though so never got to meet her in person.

I got to look around other places on the island, there are some people charging a lot more money for far less, so Marta's is great value for a nice place in a good location and I can see why it gets good reviews. Just wasn't for us.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colinwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#7 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,699 reviews
0.7 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#5 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
621 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#16 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Le Pirate Beach Club Gili T Hotel
0.6 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#1 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#3 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martas Hotel

Property: Martas Hotel
Address: off Main Street, West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Martas Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst lush tropical gardens, just a stones throw from the main hub of island activity, Martas offers a collection of beautiful 2-storey detached bungalows situated around a central swimming pool. Mixing traditional Lombok design with modern comforts, each bungalow features carved wood and natural stone decors, air-conditioning, king-size bed, private bathroom with fresh hot water shower and free toiletries, flat-screen TV and mini fridge. Larger bungalows for families and groups of friends are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Martas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martas Hotel Gili Trawangan
Martas Hotel Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing