We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Martas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Martas Hotel
Ranked #2 of 147 Gili Trawangan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Having just stayed here last week with my brother and friend, I wanted to write a review while the great memories were still fresh! We arrived and were welcomed by super friendly staff (irena.. Excuse the spelling!) who sat with us and gave us a map of the island which he went over and described everything in detail!!! Absolutely fantastic! The rooms are really nice and spacious, kept really clean and there are some nice touches! Breakfast was another treat, unlike many hotels it was freshly made and delicious!! We then had the pleasure of meeting Joanna, who every time we spoke to her made time for us and took an interest in what we were doing, how we were finding the place and always asking if we needed anything! I would highly recommend this place! Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank BumbleBeeBuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    99
    18
    2
    2
See reviews for
100
190
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
335 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We loved Martas! Brilliant location in the heart of all the action but away from the noise of the main strip and the mosque. Lovely pool to refresh yourself after a long, hot day. Really accommodating staff. You could rent bikes, get your laundry done - all for market price.

The rooms were really unique & tastefully done, they were almost like your own little villa - two floors with an outdoor chill out area complete with fan, couch & table. The beds were so comfy & the air con was excellent. Best of all - really, really clean!

The breakfast was my favourite in all of Indonesia, so accommodating to people's individual needs. Thanks as well to Joanna for arranging our ferry back to Bali for us.

Will stay again if we return! Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill_Dublin_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

I have stayed at Marta's in many occasions over the years and it had develop into a beautiful oasis on a paradise island.

The rooms are functional, very well made and very comfortable.

The staff goes out of their way to give the best service with a smile. It is clean and the 2 level pool makes its a perfect holiday retreat for couples, singles and families.

I will be going back again thats for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scuba F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is our second stay at Martas in the last two years for my family (two teenage daughters). Rest assured , this will not be our last visit and intend returning in the future. The hotel is traditional in style and has a beautiful pool area. Rooms are large and well maintained. The owners Joanna and Marta have worked hard to provide travellers with an exceptional place to stay in Gili Trewangan. The staff are always really helpful. Breakfast which is included is fabulous. I have no hesitation in recommending Martas.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitt Meadows, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed in unit 5 for 1 night due transport reason. Cottage is loft style with bathroom on main level & bed up the stairs. Great free wifi in room & around property. Room has AC and very spacious with lots of storage. TV has many movies/news channel. Bathroom is big with toilet that flushes well & good hot water shower pressure. Breakfast was excellent & delicious, which can served on your own front terrace has big lounge area. Swimming pool was decent size with nice surrounding lounge chairs. Staff service was excellent!

Located off a quiet street from Main Street but very close to many restaurants/bars. Great place to hang out from the nearby beach area! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuuWongGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is a great spot just off the main strip. Very friendly staff and the breakfast is a great addition. Rooms were unique with bedroom upstairs and bathroom downstairs. Very quiet at night even though you are just a short walk from the beach.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adam j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Ideal location, around 100m inland from the best restaurants and bars but in a very quiet location. Breakfast was really tasty, plentiful and good choices (proper bread and milk!).

The two story chalets are very nicely designed. We particularly enjoyed hanging out in the shade on the day bed in front of our chalet (where you can also have breakfast). Rooms were clean and well maintained. Despite being quite a compact hotel, it is very well laid out so you feel like you have you're own privacy.

The staff was friendly and helpful. We were even met on arrival at the harbour which was a nice touch. There are snorkels available to higher, although the best snorkelling is on the north of the island so it would be best to rent a bike.

One morning we were woken early by the nearby mosque so if you're a light sleeper then bring earplugs.

Overall, a great stay at Martas and a highlight during our travels in Indonesia.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MikunaWoodhna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#8 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
0.7 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#5 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Pirate Beach Club Hotel
Le Pirate Beach Club Hotel
#3 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#1 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
1.2 mi away
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
#2 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#4 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martas Hotel

Property: Martas Hotel
Address: off Main Street, West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Martas Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst lush tropical gardens, just a stones throw from the main hub of island activity, Martas offers a collection of beautiful 2-storey detached bungalows situated around a central swimming pool. Mixing traditional Lombok design with modern comforts, each bungalow features carved wood and natural stone decors, air-conditioning, king-size bed, private bathroom with fresh hot water shower and free toiletries, flat-screen TV and mini fridge. Larger bungalows for families and groups of friends are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Martas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martas Hotel Gili Trawangan
Martas Hotel Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing