We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See you again next year!”
Review of Martas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Martas Hotel
Ranked #5 of 162 Gili Trawangan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“See you again next year!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

From first contacting the team for reservations, they made our whole experience perfect. They made all the plans for our travels from the airport to/ from them, they met us at the jetty on arrival and walked us back their on leaving, they made reservations for day trips and collected the bikes we booked.

The rooms are charming. The pool a great place to relax at he end of the day. And the banana pancakes at breakfast a scrummy way to start.

Thanks Joanna and team for a great stay, you made our visit to the Gili's wonderful! See you next May!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAmershanReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    101
    18
    2
    2
See reviews for
104
193
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Just a beautiful place to stay!!!! Our family of five loved our three days at Martas. It was perfect. Lovely traditional rooms and verandahs to relax in. Gorgeous pool and garden. Brilliant, quiet location just five minutes walk from the beach. Delicious and generous breakfasts (we so miss the fruit platters and smoothies now we are back in Australia!) And most of all, the lovely staff, who helped us with bookings (the three island snorkelling trip was great!) and fast boat tickets to Bali. Thank you so much for a lovely three days, Margaret

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret792014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Martas is just lovely. It has that lovely island charm and relaxed atmosphere with all the creature comforts to make your stay a happy one.

A few special things -
- On arrival we were taken straight to our room/villa. We sat down and enjoyed a welcome drink in our outdoor sitting area where we were provided our check in paper's. Talk about a relaxed check in… nice touch.
- Breaky was divine! The best omelette's and the banana pancake's ever.
- My friend left her jewellery poolside in the evening. The next day it had been put up on the ledge for us to see and be able to collect. The staff can definitely be trusted here!! :)

We really made Martas our home during our stay. Awesome memories.
I am going back to Gili T for the second time this year and it was to my dismay that Martas was full. Book in advance to secure Martas - it's worth it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissAsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We booked Martas months before the trip. The host, Joanna, was quick and efficient in all communications and the property required one night's rate paid in advance to secure the booking.

We arrived well in advance of the check-in time as a result of catching the ferry from Amed rather than Sanur which was our original plan. We were made welcome with a cool drink and then we chilled in the breakfast area until a room was ready for us. Joanna made herself known to us not long after we arrived, and it was clear that she excelled at her role as host. A lovely person.

The rooms are all separate buildings with an outside sitting area with fan (would have been lovely if these oscillated, but never mind), a bathroom on the lower level, and the bedroom up some rather steep stairs. The bed was firm and comfortable and the room has tea and coffee making facilities and a bar fridge. Yay. It should be noted that Martas provided unlimited tea and coffee (either Nescafé or Lombok coffee) in the breakfast area any time of the day free of charge.

We were in the unit closest to the road, and that did give us some noise problems, but it wasn't anything drastic. Martas offered a laundry service @ 25K per kilogram which I thought reasonable. Also reasonably priced were the beers. Breakfast was included in the nightly rate and was filling with a juice, a plate of fresh fruit and a choice of egg dishes or toast. By way of an idea for consideration rather that a criticism, there was no local offering, which was disappointing - both for the Indonesians amongst us, and for those of us who travel to try other cuisines, not what we can get at a hotel in Melbourne or London. Please consider one of two local offerings on the breakfast menu, guys.

Martas is a quality offering with a reasonable rate, and a perfectly charming host. It should be high on your list if you are after mid-range lodgings on Gili T.

Room Tip: Probably don't take the one closest to the street, but really there's not a lot of passers-b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Having just stayed here last week with my brother and friend, I wanted to write a review while the great memories were still fresh! We arrived and were welcomed by super friendly staff (irena.. Excuse the spelling!) who sat with us and gave us a map of the island which he went over and described everything in detail!!! Absolutely fantastic! The rooms are really nice and spacious, kept really clean and there are some nice touches! Breakfast was another treat, unlike many hotels it was freshly made and delicious!! We then had the pleasure of meeting Joanna, who every time we spoke to her made time for us and took an interest in what we were doing, how we were finding the place and always asking if we needed anything! I would highly recommend this place! Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank BumbleBeeBuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We loved Martas! Brilliant location in the heart of all the action but away from the noise of the main strip and the mosque. Lovely pool to refresh yourself after a long, hot day. Really accommodating staff. You could rent bikes, get your laundry done - all for market price.

The rooms were really unique & tastefully done, they were almost like your own little villa - two floors with an outdoor chill out area complete with fan, couch & table. The beds were so comfy & the air con was excellent. Best of all - really, really clean!

The breakfast was my favourite in all of Indonesia, so accommodating to people's individual needs. Thanks as well to Joanna for arranging our ferry back to Bali for us.

Will stay again if we return! Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill_Dublin_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I have stayed at Marta's in many occasions over the years and it had develop into a beautiful oasis on a paradise island.

The rooms are functional, very well made and very comfortable.

The staff goes out of their way to give the best service with a smile. It is clean and the 2 level pool makes its a perfect holiday retreat for couples, singles and families.

I will be going back again thats for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scuba F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#8 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,751 reviews
0.7 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#5 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
639 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#15 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#1 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
377 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#3 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
560 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Hotel Ombak Sunset
#13 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martas Hotel

Property: Martas Hotel
Address: off Main Street, West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Martas Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst lush tropical gardens, just a stones throw from the main hub of island activity, Martas offers a collection of beautiful 2-storey detached bungalows situated around a central swimming pool. Mixing traditional Lombok design with modern comforts, each bungalow features carved wood and natural stone decors, air-conditioning, king-size bed, private bathroom with fresh hot water shower and free toiletries, flat-screen TV and mini fridge. Larger bungalows for families and groups of friends are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Martas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martas Hotel Gili Trawangan
Martas Hotel Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing