We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff, excellent place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Luce d'Alma Resort & Spa
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing staff, excellent place”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

The location is a 5 min bike ride away from the action but especially after staying at other places on the island the rooms and service are well worth the money. Decent bikes are included in the price, breakfast is similar at the in-laws where they can't feed you enough. All staff are so friendly, it's much more like Bali than Lombok. I would definately stay again.

Wifi was good
Pool was nice
Villas are huge
Private pools are nice as well but the chemicals were a bit harsh in ours
Great massage therapists on site
24hr use of basic gym

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank luvr6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    131
    47
    27
    13
See reviews for
65
362
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in one of the deluxe rooms at this property during mid-April. The room itself was lovely - clean, big and had a great private pool. The other big plus of the hotel is the main 65metre pool that is great for lengths.
However, we do not feel that this hotel justifies its position at #1 - principally because the location is terrible (a 15 minute walk to the main strip, and away from the ocean), and access is appalling (down bumpy / dust paths and passed what is best descriped as "local" buildings (a virtual shanty town)). Food at breakfast was average and the service was average - English skills were limited - and in comparison to other hotels in Bali where the staff wanted to go above and beyond, this was not the case here.
The hotel provides free bikes (all of which are in a state similar to the roads, so basically are terribly uncomfortable to ride, and after 5 minutes you will want to get off - and I say that as a keen cyclist who has been cycling virtually all my life).
The other way to get around is by the donkey-drawn carriages - which we had a real issue with as the poor donkeys are obviously badly looked after, were sweating and some were foaming at the mouth - and we understood their life expectancy was no more than 3 years. We get it that the Gili "islands" are meant to be an escape from traffic etc, but there is no reason to accept such poor conditions for animals.
We spent most of our time towards the southern point of the island - where the facilities are more suitable for "flash-packers" - for instance, Ko Ko Mo is a delicious sea-front restaurant - and would recommend finding a hotel in that part of the island.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnthonyMortimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We went to book into KoKoMo, which we enjoyed two years ago but thought the menu for pearl looked superior so booked here. The cocktails were great and the service was very friendly (albeit it a little slow but hey we're on holiday). The setting is beautiful and it's nice to be on the water and slightly out of the way of the other restaurants. Unlike us, we chose the asian tapas (we usually have the local food but it sounded irresistible). The portions are big, we got 7 between two and we could have fed four (and are big eaters!) the idea was there but they didn't quite get it right, the seared tuna was over cooked and dry, the squid was over cooked and chewy, the battered prawns were thick with batter. The lamb was absolutely divine, the fritas were great and the pumpkin wedges were pretty good too. Great presentation but overall it didn't wow us, although with a little more care these things could be easily rectified.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The rooms were great, and a staff member brought me water and bread at 2am when I returned home extremely drunk! Great service in that respect.

However, the ladies at the front desk didn't speak good english at all - when she told me they were full the next night, I wasn't able to understand her. I got a big shock the next day at noon when I was evicted from the room!

Recommended, but with a small flaw.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eugene0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

I have no way to compare this hotel to any other hotels on Gili T as this is our first stay on the island. The hotel is very clean and the rooms are nice and big. The staff is also very polite and eager to help and very accommodating.
The pool by the room is great and we spent a lot of time in it.
They also have free movies available at the front desk and we ended up picking up a couple of movies for after dinner.
As other reviewers have pointed out this place is indeed since ways from the harbor. With two kids with bed times around 8:30 we decided to eat in found the food choices to be not so great. It might be catering to people with preference for pastas pizzas and burgers but us trying to find seafood there were limited options and of the options on the menu everything we asked for was not there. I asked for a bottle of shiraz and was asked if I wanted red or white which had me a bit worried about what I'd get.
The water pressure in the room is very very bleak. It's like taking a shower under a drip irrigation system.
The people in the spa are very nice and good but make sure you book based on what you want. We booked a shots for 7 PM and no question was asked. On arriving at the spa we were asked about the option and were told that is not possible because it takes you past their closing time of 9 PM. Just ended up getting a massage for that evening.

All in all its very comfortable and I would say it's a good place to pick if you don't have to eat in at night or are OK with pizza pasta and burgers.
Can't take anything away from the staff great friendly and helpful people.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Abhijit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Pros:
- Very spacious room (probably it qualifies as a suite), with living room separated from the bedroom
- Pool directly outside the room, very convenient
- comfortable bed, clean bathrooms, good quality towels
- The staff are friendly and helpful
- The owner,Lucio, is on site, and very friendly, chatting with all the guests and help them if necessary
- Free bike rental already included
- Ala carte breakfast (with small buffet area serving snacks and cereals), so the food is made to order. It is a nice touch for the hotel, but I would say that the variety of the buffet can be improved.

Cons:
- Quite far from the harbor, and the road around the island was very bad, and at night many parts are very dark (not the hotel’s fault), so it can be painful to bike around the island :D
- The water pressure is a bit weak, but still acceptable

Room Tip: Choose the room no 115, at the corner, so you will have a bit more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rianto H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This was a wonderful place to stay. The rooms are simple, stylish and comfortable. I loved being able to go from our room to deck to the pool. The pool is so wonderful - 85 meters of sea water. I swam laps every day, and unlike some other resorts, the pool never closes. It is suitable for couples - romantic and secluded. The host was wonderful - friendly and accommodating. The hotel provides you with a bike to get around the island. We had a great time snorkelling, kayaking, swimming, and just lying around the pool. I will definitely be going back to Luce d'Alma.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great - they all surround the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller204674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.3 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#5 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
621 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#7 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,695 reviews
1.2 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#1 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#16 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
505 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Pirate Beach Club Gili T Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Hotel Ombak Sunset
#11 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luce d'Alma Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luce d'Alma Resort & Spa

Property: Luce d'Alma Resort & Spa
Address: West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#7 Spa Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Luce d'Alma Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luce d'Alma is the newest resort to open its doors on the island of Gili Trawangan. This beautiful resort is surrounded by dancing coconut palms and is built around its private 230 foot long pool. Each room has direct access to the pool from its own terrace. If you are an ocean lover for your daily swim this resort's own private beach is just five minutes from your villa door. All the villas are elegantly furnished and come with: tv, dvd, air conditioning, mini bar, safety box, coffee and tea making, fresh hot water shower and bathtub, bathrobe, hairdryer, idd telephone, free bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Luce d'Alma Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luce d`Alma Resort And Spa
Luce d`Alma Hotel Gili Trawangan
Luce D'Alma Resort & Spa Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing