We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite a disappointing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Luce d'Alma Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I finally come to write this review after almost a year after having been at LUCE D'ALMA RESORT. I think it's right to make clear some points, in order to help people to be sure about what to expect when selecting LUCE D'ALMA instead of other structures at Gili.
I happened to be there on honey moon, last October 2013. Gili Islands were the last part of our tour, started from Singapore, through Bali and Lombok island. Sincerely, this at Gili was the only disappointing experience of our long trip through Indonesian kindness and high quality standard services.
And, unfortunately, LUCE D'ALMA was one of the reason. To start with, the category RESORT really cannot be appropriate to this small and roughly equipped structure.
After 20 days being hosted in real 4 or 5 stars resorts through Indonesia, I can simply state the a scarce 3 stars-level could be associated to LUCE D'ALMA, for many reasons: the rooms equipment, the poor cleaning service, the modest professionality (maybe absent) of the staff employed, the awful and dirty beach allotments provided by the hotel, the total amenity of the location placed so far from the seaside and from all services and venues (not to mention the old and broken bycicles given to hotel guests, poor vehicles unable to ride the unpaved and wild routes around the hotel). The illusion about the food - we booked half board service there, hoping that Italian property would be a good sign - was soon vanished when we were proposed a very basic and poor menu choice, served in a way that resembled more a bar than a supposed 4-stars resort..... quite dirty the table equipment, the so-called waiters wearing worn and dirty clothes (the staff is the same for cleaning, gardening, cooking, serving, etc.) speaking a bad english .... a nightmare ! To end with, the first - and only one - night we spent there we ask for some DVDs provided by the hotel: when we tryed them on the room TV we realised ... that they were pirates, and you could not see anything .... this was real unprofessional !!!
Well, on the afternoon of the second day - after a long search through the island - we decided to leave LUCE DALMA, even if it had already been paid, and moved to VILA OMBOK: a real 4-stars resort, in front of the sea, and fortunately we concluded there our honeymoon, happily and beautifully set and serviced. Please, unless you are camping-passionates and adventure lovers, do not chose LUCE D'ALMA.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank elena c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 590 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We really liked this place. Lovely rooms which are massive and well appointed, really nice staff, great pool, good brekkie. A few reviews mentioned the distance from the main strip as being an issue but we actually really liked this. It meant the place was so quiet and like a retreat from all the busyness and we really enjoyed riding the bikes to and from the main drag, even at night.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank glenmcmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

This is an amazing hotel, with very spacious rooms direclty at the great pool. Good bed, minibar, big badroom, but the shower has some what low pressure.

The food is tasteful, breakfast and diner (for romantic diner take the tables near the pool). If you want they serve your breakfast or diner in your room without a charge.

The location could have been better. The beach and the main road is a 5 min drive with a bike, but the paths are very bad so prepare for a bumpy ride. Be carefull which bike you choose, select a proper one.

The private beach has good sunloungers and enough shade. The staff is very friendly and helps you with everything. The view at Gili Meno is amazing!

We went diving with neighbour divecenter Mango, so we jumped from our sunloungers directly into their boat. Fantastic!
By the way we also saw turtles with snorkling in the front of the beach!

Be sure you go see the sunset at the other side of the island, breath taking!!

Unfortunately we left the island with a negative experience, because there was a big misunderstanding with our ticket for the fast boat. 2 days in advance we went to the reception of Luce d'alma and asked for information about a fast boat to Nusa Lembongan, our next destination. They could book it for us, so we did. It was a ticket to Padang Bai. We asked twice if they went via Lembongan and if it was an open ticket, because we would stay 2 nights on Lembongan and after take the boat to Bali. No problem miss... 2 days later, when we were already in the harbour with all our lugage, the fast boat company told us they didn't stop in Lembongan! All other boats were full, so we had to travel to Padang Bai first, then by car to Sanur where we were just in time to catch the last fast boat to Lembongan. After all a stressful trip which costs us 6 hours in stead of 1,5!!
Ofcourse we called the hotel and the lady who sold us the tickets came directly tol help us, but there was not much she could do. She was very regretful and eventually gave back our money, because we had to buy a new (more expensive) ticket in Sanur. We also called the hotelmanager, but he didn't seem to care at all. We never heard from him again...

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We had a very good time there. The room was very large and comfortable with direct access to the swimming pool. The place is a little aside from the beach but easy access though with bicycle. We loved Gili Trawangan and Luce d'Alma facilities

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vinz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

We plan to book 7 rooms for our gathering in this hotel. We call direct to the hotel due to limitation room on the website and also because the hotel website doesn't work.

My call have received by a lady on the reservation. When i tell her my date to book, without explained anything she said that I have to write an email. The way she talk was so unprofessional, like a housemaid, not polite and i feel like they don't need my reservation.

Service is priority for hospitality business. Bad service is no no...
I can believe this hotel hired this lady to received customer call with bad attitude and no manner.

I will never stay in this hotel. There are still 19 hotels in this island with respect and manner.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Tantolau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

We plan to book 7 rooms for our group in this May. We choose to call direct to the hotel due to limitation on the website. Hotel website also didn't work.

My call was received by reservation. she pick up my phone, she asked what date is my need and without explained anything she just said "you better send an email" and she was so rude, not polite and unprofessional at all. The way she talk is like a housemaid who in charge in the reservation.

I can't believe this hotel can hired this lady to handle for customers ? Very unprofessional.

Service is number one for hospitality business. Bad service is no no.
I will never stay in this hotel. There are still many hotels to stay and have a manner.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Tantolau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The location is a 5 min bike ride away from the action but especially after staying at other places on the island the rooms and service are well worth the money. Decent bikes are included in the price, breakfast is similar at the in-laws where they can't feed you enough. All staff are so friendly, it's much more like Bali than Lombok. I would definately stay again.

Wifi was good
Pool was nice
Villas are huge
Private pools are nice as well but the chemicals were a bit harsh in ours
Great massage therapists on site
24hr use of basic gym

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank luvr6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.3 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#7 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
673 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#8 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,823 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#13 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Hotel Ombak Sunset
#12 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,177 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#5 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
615 reviews
0.4 mi away
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
#2 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luce d'Alma Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luce d'Alma Resort & Spa

Address: West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#7 Spa Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range: £78 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Luce d'Alma Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luce d'Alma is the newest resort to open its doors on the island of Gili Trawangan. This beautiful resort is surrounded by dancing coconut palms and is built around its private 230 foot long pool. Each room has direct access to the pool from its own terrace. If you are an ocean lover for your daily swim this resort's own private beach is just five minutes from your villa door. All the villas are elegantly furnished and come with: tv, dvd, air conditioning, mini bar, safety box, coffee and tea making, fresh hot water shower and bathtub, bathrobe, hairdryer, idd telephone, free bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Luce d'Alma Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luce d`Alma Hotel Gili Trawangan
Luce d`Alma Resort And Spa
Luce D'Alma Resort & Spa Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing