We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely and Quiet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rumah Saga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rumah Saga
Ranked #54 of 145 Gili Trawangan B&B and Inns
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely and Quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

I stayed here for two nights and definitely would recommend to anyone who is looking for a decent and quiet place to stay. Some points:
1. Friendly staff - since they only have 4 guest houses (which I believe each has a king size bed + single bed), you can easily get help from the staffs there at any time.
2. Cozy and private - like I mentioned, 4 guest houses only you cant get much crowd here.
3. Great location - far away enough from the noisy main street but close enough to walk. Pretty good restaurants along the way as well!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank choymy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    15
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bien Hoa, Vietnam
Level Contributor
122 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

I've stayed at Rumah Saga three times now and it is a great place. Part of me doesn't want to write a great review because I like it's unpopularity. With only four rooms, it can easily book up. On my last trip, I walked around with friends looking for them a room. For similar amenities the price was double what I was paying. The staff is great. It's a back in the village, but centrally located so it's still easy to get to everything. I won't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitovu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed in Rumah Saga for 6 nights and whilst the room is simple and in need of some renovation particularly the bathroom, the stay was brilliant. We actually extended our stay from 3 nights because we liked it so much. The pool area was beautiful, breakfast was made for you when you woke up. The breakfast was simple but nice.

It also has its own generator so when the power cuts WHICH IT WILL on the island, you are safe in the hands of Rumah Saga.

It is absolute nonsense that this is far from the beach or restaurants or night life, it is a maximum of 6 minute walk to any of these places and actually the distance means your quality of sleep is better.

It needs to get wifi, it also needs to have work done on the shower and bathroom which is shabby. ALSO AIR CONDITIONING DOES NOT WORK in room 3!

Overall I loved it.

Room Tip: The air conditioning does not work in room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eells27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bien Hoa, Vietnam
Level Contributor
122 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

Nice garden and swimming pool. Rooms are nice and clean. Friendly staff. It is close to the mosque, but you can hear that pretty much anywhere on the island. It is a little bit farther than most places, but a good value.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kitovu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

Rumah Saga is a nice property but not great for young people. The pool and courtyard area is really pretty and the rooms are very spacious and nice. Breakfast was really good also. However, the shower was not great and the toilet had problems as well. Our main problem with Rumah Saga was that it is far away from the beach and the main strip. During the day it was okay, but at night we felt a bit uncomfortable walking down a dark alley alone to get back to our room. I'm sure it's safe but it felt kind of sketchy. For an adult couple looking for peace and quiet and not looking to go out at night, this may be a good option. For younger people, there are plenty of places to stay for a similar price on the main road. Also, this hotel does not have WiFi but most of the other hotels on the island do.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

The garden is beautiful, Nice swimmingpool and the staff is very friendly!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suuzje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

Perhaps our biggest annoyance with our stay here was the mosque being right next door - with no disrespect intended to the culture, it was like having someone singing karaoke through a megaphone outside our front door. I'm not sure whether it was because we went during Ramadan, but this went on from about 9-11pm (maybe later) and at about 5am and again at 7am each of the 2 days we stayed there. The room itself was dim, and the bathroom was quite run down. Having said that, everything worked as it was meant to, and we were pleased to have the TV/DVD player at our disposal. Breakfast was substantial, but a bit interesting (don't get the pancake). Location wise, it's a bit of walk away from the main strip, down quite a dark road, but it didn't feel unsafe or threatening. For what they charged, in comparison to other brighter places along the main drag, I suppose you could say that you get what you pay for. Next time, I'll pay more for somewhere else. Pick up from the harbour was appreciated - I would never have found the place on my own - the directions on the website only make sense if you are coming from the opposite direction (NOT from the harbour). P.S. I would rate this property 2.5/5 - it's not good enough to get a 3, but deserved more than a 2.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sclarked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.0 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#18 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.0 mi away
Little Woodstock Homestay
Little Woodstock Homestay
#29 of 229 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trawangan Oasis
Trawangan Oasis
#13 of 145 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gili Teak Resort
Gili Teak Resort
#7 of 229 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Martas Hotel
Martas Hotel
#2 of 145 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.0 mi away
D'Wahana Resort
D'Wahana Resort
#23 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumah Saga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumah Saga

Property: Rumah Saga
Address: Gili Trawangan, West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rumah Saga 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Rumah Saga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumah Saga Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing