We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a really great holiday!”
Review of Gili Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gili Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Great relaxing atmosphere on this super little island, loved the design and lay out of the villas - the architect really did make a spacious but private oasis of calm -difficult to believe is just a little off the main strip where the restaurants and bars are humming. Organizing the trip was a breeze, the local staff mega helpful and ever present. Run by the very friendly guys at Manta Dive round the corner where i learned to dive - never wanted to leave!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Odinino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

My husband and I were booked this accommodation by friends who know Gili very well and we were astonished when we walked through the gate to our Villa.

It was a wonderful setting (5 mins away from the hustle and bustle of the main street of Gili by the Harbor), very private and extremely spacious. Essentially, the Villas have their living space outdoors, complete with a huge kitchen, dining area, living room and of course the wonderful pool. The bedrooms are indoors, air-conditioned, spacious and each have en suite facilities.

Breakfast was included and it was absolutely beautifully done. You order your food the night before and someone comes at the time agreed to prepare it for you in the morning. The choice is great (from freshly baked, warm bacon and egg baguettes to the healthier choice of a big ball of mixed fruit with muesli and yoghurt) all prepared fresh and served on your dining table.

I, like others, must mention the Mosque. Gili is a Muslim island, its relatively small and has two mosques so you would hear them wherever you are. But to us this was such a non issue, sleep with ear plugs or simply ignore it - its a non-event!!!

Overall the place comes highly recommended!!! Thank you for the staff of Gili Villas for making our stay so memorable!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TeamDandie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

first of all I would like to mention that this was my 3rd consecutive NYE trip to Gili so based on experience I decided to book a villa couple of months in advance (Sep) and even then places like Scallywags and Beach House were completely booked out. so it was a nice surprise to hear back from Tony @ Gili Villas on the same day of my enquiry and i must say, him and Chris were both instant with responces to any of our queries (and there were a few! :)
upon arrival at Gili T, the staff greeted us at the beach and arranged our transportation to the villa which is conveniently located around the corner from the jetty!
the minute we walked into our new home, all 4 of us were gob smacked at the size, design and quality of this place!!! the staff showed us where all the switches etc are located, gave us the keys and breakfast menus and left us to explore our domain...
all i can say is the place actually looked exactly like it did on their website!
a massive tick to staff/management for the well airconditioned rooms prior to our arrival, we were hot and buggered from the trip over so it was heaven to walk into a bedroom that was so cool, not to mention spacious and VERY clean! the bathrooms are huge and another tick for freshwater showers (unlike some of the other hotels on the island).
so these were our first impressions and after 5 days i have to say, we couldn't have thought of anything that could make our stay any better!!!

my personal top 5 on Gili Villas are:
- outstanding service (always with a smile no matter if it's day or night)
- central location
- huge space and a lot of privacy
- breakfast cooked every morning in our villa at a time nominated by us!!!
- prompt communication with the management and easy & safe payment options

things "picky" people may find annoying:
- nearby mosque prayers (our group were very respectful to the fact that we are guests on the island and should adjust ourselves to the local ways but when it did get a tad too much we just turned up our music :)
- occasional visit by the local cats (once again, our group enjoyed having them over and we even adopted one kitten and had it sleep over and eat breakfast with us, she was very affectionate and not ferral at all!) by the way all the cats on the island are stray as explained by the staff, the only pets locals keep are cows, goats etc

all in all I give Gili Villas 5/5 and that is why we're booking 2 of them for the 2012 NYE!

happy travels to all!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuvE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

This is my third stay at the villa over the years and true enough, time has taken some of its splendour away but it certainly did not take away the hospitality, the smiles, the welcome and most importantly, the way ppl running this property are willing to go that extra mile for us. The place is very clean, a little dated in some aspect but still in much better shape than most. It is near the township, food everywhere, but remaining rustic and quiet. Sleep quality was good and despite adverse comments by fuss-finders about this and that run-down, this place is conducive and nice to stay. Villa comes with wireless, and punctual made-in-villa breakfast. Housekeeping was a delight, anything you request comes to you within moments. Being Asians, we are some of the most difficult travellers all over, but with Gili Villas, the kind of software in human touch, I think all my stays in Gili T had been great because of the people here, not because of the great furnishing or physicals, but the friendship, the warmth and hospitality accorded to us. Great stay!

Room Tip: Email and discuss with the owner regarding your needs. He will assist you as much as he can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Great place - we really enjoyed it. Our villa was clean and very comfortable. The private pool was amazing - we were 4 girls and there was plenty of space for the lilos in the pool and the feel of the place was fab. I see what people say about the mosque but you'd have that wherever and it is their culture so you have to accept it. We passed lots of other "beachfront" hotels and the pools were facing onto the footpath where everyone walked passed and watched them as they ate/drank!
We had an amazing time and I would definately go back and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helenlovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

The Gili Villas were a "nice in concept" accomodation but needed a definite update. The villas are centrally located in town which is convenient for shopping, eating and going out. The actual swimming beach though is a good 10 minute walk away. Definitely not a beach front property. Our villa was very large with great outdoor space- we had a private pool, cabana, kitchen, dining and living room, plus 2 private bedrooms. The villa could have been amazing except there are lots of stains all over the furniture, walls and drapery which gives the place a run down almost dirty feeling. The villa's proximity to the mosque is also a problem due to the call to prayer that happens at all times.

All in all, these villas are probably fine for larger groups looking for a place to party and hang out. But the villa was a far cry from the romantic beachfront gili experience we were looking for. We would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripPlanner_0012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcusStevens, Manager at Gili Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2011

Thank you for your review, we take all reviews seriously. The good ones are nice and the not so good ones help us to make sure that any problems are not repeated.

We are not a beach front property and do not claim to be. Beach front properties on Gili Trawangan tend to be open to the elements are generally not private as there is a road that follows the beach around the whole of the island.

The mosque is located in the village a few hundred meters away, there is also a second mosque on the island that is close to the main beach area on the east side. The mosques typically go off for a few minutes early in the morning and again in the evening. On friday it will go on for longer and during special holidays and muslim celebrations it can go on a lot longer and be much louder. We like to think of this as part of the culture and most of our guests do not consider it to be a problem. We will however warn future guests that will be staying during ramadan or other religious holidays that the noise levels will be above normal.

Regarding the furnishings, we are in the middle of giving the villas a full overhall. This includes but is not limited to the following, the bedrooms have had a repaint, new curtains, towels, bedsheets, the living area has had a new table and chairs, bar stools, cushion covers in the living area and on the cabana. The stone floors have been cleaned with a special power washer to remove ground in dirt. The wooden deck around the bedrooms has also been taken up and replaced with a stone tile deck as the wood was proving to be too high maintenance.

Most of these refurbishments have taken place during November and have been made to 3 of the 4 villas. The last villa will have the deck replaced in early 2012 at which time it will also receive a repaint and other minor renovations.

We hope that this information is useful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Second diving trip to Gili T, stayed in Lombok first time and decided to stay on the island this time. Our transfer from Lombok was seamless, private car and speedboat, all organised by Tony the Villa Manager.
We had a 2 bed villa for 5 nights, spacious, comfortable and cleaned daily. The pool was clean and cool, beds comfy, bathroom spacious, It was a bit dusty but then it was hot, breezy and there are no paved roads in Gili so its hardly surprising and not an issue for us. If you want the sanitized luxury of a Mandarin Oriental or 4 Seasons stay elsewhere, Gili is a chilled, laid back, beach and diving centre and the villa provided an oasis of calm away from the hustle and bustle of the main street.
The staff our helpful and don't bother you at all, which means you can enjoy the complete privacy of your villa. Its a short walk to the main street but far enough away that its quiet...apart from the mosque ( and next doors cockerel !) But even that you get used too.
There's a little shop next door for essentials and cheap hire bikes.
We had a fantastic time, love the island, diving, beaches, food, people, so much so we are going back to the Villas next year for a birthday treat. Thanks to Tony and the crew.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulTanguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.6 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#8 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
687 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kelapa Luxury Villas
Kelapa Luxury Villas
#38 of 267 in Gili Trawangan
342 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Nero
Villa Nero
#7 of 267 in Gili Trawangan
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Jasia Luxury Villas
Jasia Luxury Villas
#77 of 267 in Gili Trawangan
39 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kaleydo Villas
Kaleydo Villas
#3 of 267 in Gili Trawangan
204 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beach House Resort
The Beach House Resort
#17 of 179 in Gili Trawangan
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gili Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gili Villas

Address: West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 267 Speciality Lodging in Gili Trawangan
Price Range: £35 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gili Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One bed and two bed villas Gili Trawangan. Our spacious luxury villas are located just a few minutes from the main beach on Gili Trawangan. Ideal for families, couples, groups and honeymooners the Gili Villas´ friendly staff are at hand to tend to your every need. Enjoy the comfort of your villa with a relaxing massage, sunbathe by your private swimming pool, or explore the island by bicycle or horsecart. Activities available on and around Gili Trawangan include diving, horse riding, golf, wakeboarding and sea kayaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Gili Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gili Villas Hotel Gili Trawangan
Gili Villas Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing