We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh how nice to be back!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bale Sampan Bungalows
Ranked #6 of 157 Gili Trawangan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rustington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oh how nice to be back!!”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I have to say that coming back to Bale Sampan was a pleasure. So much so that I am planning my next trip back already. What makes me keep coming back is the delightful rooms the charming staff and the oh so good breakfast. The rooms are always clean and tidy and clean towels put into your room everyday. And what a treat having that beautiful beach only a few meters away. And after the swim in the sea a dip in the freshwater pool. So thank you Bale Sampan looking forward to getting back in November.

Room Tip: All excellent Value
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistair_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    157
    35
    12
    5
See reviews for
57
199
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013 via mobile

I booked this place because the good reviews and about the staff but I think it was below average. We paid $75US for a room.

First of all we think it was overpriced. The towels were ratty, stained, old and smelly. Both beach towels and the room towels. Soap a were not refilled in the bathroom. Toilet was yellow and the shower head full of crusty stuff. Old toilet rolls were left behind after cleaning. The water system was weak and it was hard to get the right balance of hot and cold. These are annoying minor details which can make such a BIG difference. So for $75 bucks definitely a rip off. It was just the bed that was made everyday.

Paint was crumpling on the inside and outside of the bungalow. There was complimentary coffee and tea at 4pm but instant Nescafe and the cups were stained.


The staff were not very attentive. We stopped leaving our room key at the front desk when we left because there were no one there most of the time. Anyone could have reached in to get your key to your room.

The pool was small and right next to the toilet. Not very nice to look at the toilet when you are relaxing.

Breakfast was adequate. The girls running the cafe are better than the guys cleaning and running the Reception. The guy at the Reception was quite grumpy actually.

Good points would be it was a good location but it is a small island so nothing is far from each other. Some staff were helpful especially the cafe girls.

Better attention to details like with the cleaning and larger breakfast size and friendlier and happier staff would make this a better stay. But with the price I would go to a better place.

As for Gili Trawagan I would recommend maximum of 2 nights. Snorkelling was great but it was so full of tourists and this was low season. Yeah there are no cars but it is overrun by people and cats. The beaches are dirty and you get harassed by sale people constantly. The beach massages are between 100,000 to 150,000 rupiah ($10-$15 USD. Beers are about $3-$4. Pricey compared to other SE Asian countries like Vietnam or Thailand.

Be careful of people rushing at you at Bangsal Harbour, where you catch a boat across from Gili to Lombok. They grab your bags and demand tips. They also ask to see your ticket (if you pre booked a bus back into town) and tell you to follow them and ask/push you and your luggage on a HORSE and CARRIAGE. They will take you literally 5 minutes walk to where your bus is and demand money. And if you come from Lombok to Bangsal Harbour by taxi and if you get a dishonest taxi driver like we did he will also recommend you get on a Horse and Carriage and be driven to the rest of the way to the Harbour. Tip! Don't talk to the taxi driver when they try to ask you personal questions. It is only a short walk so 'don't get on!'. They also make you pay a 2500 rupiah tax at a carpark where the taxi stops. The Horse Carriage people will then take you to a dishonest ticket office but really if you just continue by foot to the Harbour there is an official ticket office selling tickets for 10,000 rupiah person or around $1 USD. Just be ready and alert!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ollenpollen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunshine coast
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. Rooms were large and clean, the bathroom is semi outside. The pool was sparkling, the brekky was OK. The staff were all very good....especially Rudy. The staff run a bike rental...best way to get around, and they maintain the bikes well too. Bale Sampan was just the 'right' distance from 'downtown'. The mosque is close by, an alarm clock early in the morning, although I slept through it twice! The night markets are a great place for the evening meal....the best fried chicken!

Room Tip: the two front rooms are more exposed, preferred the one at the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coolum_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Comfy sleep. Reliable power and aircon. Refreshing, clean pool. Fantastic breakfast. Their beach is great with lounge chairs in and out of the sun.

Best of the best staff - Atun is THE lady to get your boats, boards and activities looked after. Maryanne is THE lady to serve you with a genuine helpful attitude.

Perfect location if you want to a quieter sleep and an entire team that are really focused on treating their environment well.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KI6871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2013

My sister and I have just returned from staying the weekend at Bale Sampan. Perfect location, amazing staff (Rudy) is a wealth of knowledge. Everything he recommended we loved, clean rooms, relaxing pool. When we return we are staying here! It's just a great place to stay on Gili!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loulouandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2013

After the prerequisite offers of weed, shrooms etc on boat dismount was wondering how this was going to go with 5 underage kids in tow! Fortunately the haven and service that is bale sampan was the reassuring touch that has made this such a memorable holiday. Super friendly and helpful staff led by Rudy the conductor, great healthy breakfasts, lovely beach out front with snorkelling and advice on trips , local eating and anything else that may be required, will be place of choice on our next guaranteed visit......... As Molly would say ' do your self a favour'!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Konr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilongwe, Malawi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Myself and my girlfriend stayed at Bale Sampan for 4 nights and really enjoyed our stay. The bungalows are clean, airy and bright. The linen is nice and white and the decor is practical and simple. There is a/c and fan so you can choose. There is also a a TV with lots of channels to keep you entertained if its raining. The outdoor bathroom is a nice touch, and the shower is great, with lots of hot water. The only thing that would have been nice to have in the room was a little bar fridge, but beggars can't be choosers.

Breakfast is good and sufficient. You can choose between pancakes, eggs+bacon and muesli/yogurt. The coffee is REALLY good and freshly brewed on request. The pool is nice and clean and beach towels are provided. It does feel a little small if more than 4 people use it though. Beach access is just across the road and guests can use the deck chairs free of charge.

We had a really enjoyable time and Rudy and his team made us feel very welcome. They made it personal, tried to remember our names and always went out of their way to help out in any way possible. Would definitely recommend Bale Sampan.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FSR2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.5 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#5 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
621 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#16 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
512 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#7 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Le Pirate Beach Club Gili T Hotel
1.0 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#1 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
337 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#3 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bale Sampan Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bale Sampan Bungalows

Property: Bale Sampan Bungalows
Address: Gili Trawangan, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bale Sampan Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Bale Sampan Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bale Sampan Bungalows Hotel Gili Trawangan
Bale Sampan Hotel
Bale Sampan Bungalows Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing