We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bale Sampan great affordable accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bale Sampan Bungalows
Ranked #6 of 179 Gili Trawangan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed 4 nights, rooms contain own bathroom, outdoor shower, air conditioning, television, safe. Rooms are clean, staff are extremely friendly and very accommodating. The Bale Sampan Cafe food is fantastic, great choice in food and drinks. Short walk from hotel to the beach, directly across. We would recommend to friends highly and would come back again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sakrzewski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

Even better the second time around!! We stayed here just on 3 years ago and I wish I wrote them a review then!!!! Everything about this place is amazing!! The communication & booking process is so easy, Harriet is lovely to deal with and so SO helpful with any questions. Rooms are CLEAN and lovely, the outdoor shower is amazing and sanitised every day, the beds super comfortable and you don't feel as if a million other people have tossed and turned all night long.
The staff are so friendly and welcoming an always happy for a chat - and if you mention you've stayed there before they may just remember you!!

Room Tip: Book in advance! Rooms 1 & 2 (Beach view) are right at the front of the pool & near receptio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redbanchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The rooms were modern and clean, staff was helpful, daybeds were very nice and food was healthy and delicious! A bit pricey for Gili T @ 60sgd/night as there are other cheaper places but would definitely stay here again and would recommend to anyone who is visiting Gili Trawangan

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Berryknots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This is location - location, where the small resort has direct access to their own but public beach. Very nice cottages with outdoor bathroom, terrace and all you need for a comfortable stay. VERY clean rooms and land around. Staff is very helpful and do what they can to give you good advise. Simple but okay breakfast included. 2 minutes to diving centers where I recommend Trawangan Dive Center.

Room Tip: Chose room no 1 or 2 as they have view to the pool and the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nordgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed here for 1 night recently as a couple.
Location is good, right on the main street in Trawangan, but far enough up that it is quiet (we didn't hear any noise at night at all). There are sun loungers for use of guests on the beachfront, but these were full the only time we thought about using them (wasn't an issue though as there are loads of places with sun loungers all along the beach).
The room was nice and spacious with a big bathroom. Air con and hot water. There wasn't a mini fridge which might be a nice touch as it's good to be able to keep some drinks in the room cool. There was a TV but only a few channels and none in English (though we didn't mind as we weren't wanting to watch TV anyway). The bed was really comfy with lovely bed linen on it.
The pool was at the front of the resort (sort of near the restaurant). We didn't use this, but it looked OK and there seemed to be kids in it at most times (though not too many!)
Overall I have only rated this hotel as average, as we stayed in many places throughout our time in Indonesia and this was the only one we didn't rave about and want to stay at for longer. It was totally fine, but in my opinion nothing special.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SnorkelyCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The room just felt dirty, the roof was full of spiders.
The Tv only had three channels with non in English.
The internet was very unreliable and also the power with a lengthily power out our first night.
No mini fridge. For the money you pay you expect some English channels and a bar fridge.
The bathroom doors cannot be locked so if someone jumped the wall in the bathroom they had easy access to your room.

Service was great and great location, breakfast is good and reliable.

We changed hotels as wanted the Luxury of the villa ombak, can't go wrong at 110,000 a night.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jake W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaleSampanBungalows, Manager at Bale Sampan Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear Jake W,

Thank you for your review and we are very sorry to see that Bale Sampan did not live up to your expectations.

As you checked out early, we made repeated attempts to ask you if there was something wrong, both by our manager and deputy manager. Your response was that everything was fine and you were leaving early because your plans had changed. It is a real shame that you did not mention some of your concerns at the time, as they could have been quickly resolved or explained.

If you were not comfortable in your room we would have been able to swap you to an alternative room. I have since been into the room to check the condition following your comments. The bathroom door does securely lock, both by the wooden bolt and by additional slider locks on the top and bottom of one of the doors. As these are on the inside edge of the doors, perhaps you did not see them?

Regarding the cleanliness of the room, that staff have been given retraining and have been reminded that the cleaning routine should also involve checking for cobwebs between the wooden eves of the roof.

The TV only had three channels because there was a problem with the signal. This was resolved in 5 minutes by simply adjusting the satellite dish and the normal package of 60+ channels in all different languages was restored.

Power supply and internet connections on the island can be unreliable. Unfortunately, these things can be out of our control and still very much considered as ‘a part of island life’.

Whilst we have chosen the best Internet supplier there currently is on the island, it is still a satellite connection and the speed is not as fast as you are used to experiencing back home. This means that checking emails and social media sites is perfectly possible, however downloading heavier files can be somewhat frustrating.

Regarding the power, the outage you mentioned in your review was about 20 minutes. The electricity company (PLN) provides us with power that is cabled in from the main land (Lombok). Unfortunately Lombok also experiences frequent power cuts which means our power is affected as well. When the power is off in Lombok, PLN will switch to the back-up generators that they have here on the island. This switch-over process takes about 20 minutes and was the cause of the power outage during your stay.

Bale Sampan also has it’s own back-up generator to use when the mains power is out for extended periods of time.

As you booked through Agoda, it is clear in the room facilities list that we do not have mini-bars in our rooms, at this time. We too would love to add this facility to make our guests feel more at home, however PLN have given us the minimum power allowance because there simply is not enough electricity to go around on the island. We are on the waiting list for a power upgrade. As soon as we receive it, mini-bars are the first thing on our wish list!

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Vila Ombak. As a luxury resort with almost 100 rooms, it is a very different setup to Bale Sampan. We have taken the more ‘family feel’ approach to caring for our guests and aim towards the ‘mid-range’ market. Our prices are set to reflect this, which is why you paid almost double at Vila Ombak.

King regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I recently stayed there for four nights and we absolutely loved it:-

1. Staffs were helpful to arrange our airport transport+speedboat AND our private snorkelling trip to Gili Air and Gili Meno.
2. Staffs were also helpful to arrange a masseuse for a massage at the deck.
3. Staffs were helpful to ensure that our requests are met.
4. The room space was okay--even with the extra bed in the bungalow.
5. We however did not turn the TV on, so I'm not sure if it's a working TV.
6. The safe deposit however, was not working. One of the staffs promised to fix it, but never came about with it.
7. The wi-fi connection was good, too.
8. Location: it is at the quiet end of the island--it's perfect if you are there for a retreat.

In hindsight, we experienced blackouts the couple of nights that we were there. The power supply was unstable throughout the night--but then, we were told that it was common as the supply is from the mainland and it happens during peak season.

I also find that there was lack of communication between the staffs (i.e. our speedboat was due to arrive at 815am to the mainland, and when I reconfirmed with the staffs on the day itself, none of the staffs knew about it--as the person I liaised with was not there). So if you are relying on Bale to do your arrangements, ensure that the staffs know what's going on to ensure that you arrive the airport (or your next destination) on time.

Overall,
It was a pleasant stay and we are already planning our next trip out to Gili (and Bale Sampan).

Room Tip: Bungalow 1 & 2 is the best as it overlooks the pool and beach. If you prefer privacy (and do no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pammye11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaleSampanBungalows, General Manager at Bale Sampan Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear pammye11,

Thank you for your review and we are very pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are sorry about the faulty safe in your room and the mis-communications regarding your transfers. The safe has been replaced with a brand new one and Rudy and Atun (our Manager and Deputy Manager) have put a system in place to avoid any future mis-communications when one of them is having a day off.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Kindest regards,
All of the Team at Bale Sampan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.9 mi away
Le Pirate Beach Club Gili T Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#7 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
1,907 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#15 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#8 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
687 reviews
0.7 mi away
Scallywags Resort
Scallywags Resort
#3 of 179 in Gili Trawangan
815 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pesona Beach Resort & Spa
Pesona Beach Resort & Spa
#24 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bale Sampan Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bale Sampan Bungalows

Address: Gili Trawangan, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 179 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Trawangan
Price Range: £35 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bale Sampan Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bale Sampan Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bale Sampan Bungalows Hotel Gili Trawangan
Bale Sampan Hotel
Bale Sampan Bungalows Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing