We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bale Sampan Bungalows
Ranked #6 of 181 Gili Trawangan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Ive stay in bale sampan for 4 nights, overall the room was okie, the room is big with garden view, the toilet also big n nice. The pool was bit dirty cos they do some renovation near the pool and also very small, the negative part in this hotel is the water. The water pressure was very slow in the toilet. Overall the resort are average.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smokinlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaleSampanBungalows, General Manager at Bale Sampan Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Smokinlady,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us at Bale Sampan. We are sorry you found the experience to be lacking in some areas, but are happy to see you found our rooms and bathrooms spacious and comfortable.

We apologise for the disruption caused by the renovations to the swimming pool that took place for 2 days during your stay. The renovations were to the stonework surrounding the edge of the pool and pool shower. Unfortunately, at times, maintenance issues are unavoidable, which is why we make every effort to carry out works with the least disruption possible for our guests.

We have also been to check the water pressure in your room. The pressure was in fact low, but the problem as resolved very quickly by our maintenance staff who are on-site 24hrs a day.

Had you have mentioned the issues with water pressure and your displeasure about the renovations during your stay, we would have been able to fix the water immediately and could have discounted your room rate in reflection of the disruption caused by the works carried out to the pool. It is a real shame you did not bring this up at the time. We are sure you would have felt pleased by our dedication to promptly resolve any issues that our guests experience, and in turn, happier with your stay at Bale Sampan.

Best wishes
The Bale Sampan Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

This place was a wonderful surprise from the very start with a warm and helpful welcome.
We were concerned about nights on Gili T being quite noisy but tucked away in our little bungalow we were very peaceful yet still close enough to all the action.
The room was clean, modern and had great air con (there's no fridge in the room but they have one at reception if needed). I am fussy about bathrooms but this one did not disappoint!
The beach is just at the front of the property with lazy boys reserved for guests and if you can't make it that far the pool is a comfy spot to relax under the beautiful Bougainvillea.
The breakfast menu was simple but everything was delicious (be prepared to share some bacon with the island cats).
Thanks to Rudy and all the friendly staff we had a great stay and would definately recommend this place and would stay again if ever on Gili T.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaleSampanBungalows, General Manager at Bale Sampan Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Kathy L,

Thank you very much for your lovely review.

We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, enjoyed our location and found that we are close enough to, but not disturbed by, the action on Gili Trawangan.

Unfortunately, we are still waiting for an electrical upgrade at Bale Sampan to enable us to add mini bars to all of the rooms. We realise it can be inconvenient to not have your own fridge, which is why we offer space in the cafe fridges to all guests.

As one of the only businesses on the east side of Gili Trawangan who have chosen not to build on the beach, we feel very lucky that our guests have a great spot to relax and snorkel right on the door step!

We hope to see you again the future Kathy!

Very best wishes
Rudy, Atun and all the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This is the second time my wife n I have stay and can not get enough of this great little personal hotel and the staff can not do enough Rudi can help arrange bikes to snorkle gear and everything in between. Breakfast is very delish simple menu but all you need to get you started for a day at beach this island you can snorkle swim anywhere around it and the water good n clear.Back to the hotel and you can relax by the pool or out front on the beach dam good place for having a bintang or two. Rooms are claen and the out door bathroom I love. The gardens just make the place so private and relaxing. Well till next time and the next and next.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaleSampanBungalows, General Manager at Bale Sampan Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Bernard,

It was lovely to have you to stay with us again! We look forward to seeing you again very soon (we hope!).

Very best wishes,
Rudy, Atun and all the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I truly can not speak highly enough about Bale Sampan. From the accommodation, to the food, the staff and the service - Bale Sampan far exceeded any hotel within this price range we have ever stayed at.

The facilities are extremely clean and well presented. Gardens and pool are very well kept and make for an inviting and pleasant welcome at the end of each day. The food is delightful and the staff are overwhelmingly friendly and kind.

The location of the hotel is perfect. It is nestled far enough away from the clubs, pubs and restaurants that you get a nice break from the crowds, but it is close enough that everything is easily accessible. Not to mention the beach is right at your door step.

We are already recommending Bale Sampan to our friends and family, and are so excited to share such a positive review with you all.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaleSampanBungalows, General Manager at Bale Sampan Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Liam,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us. We really enjoyed having you and your friends to stay and really look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

In the mean time, very best wishes from all of us,
Rudy, Atun and all the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Lovely gardens and big clean rooms tucked away from the front, with comfortable bed and generous verandah. Establishments is over 5 years old. The staff are fantastic in particular "Rudy" - the manager. Delicious daily breakfasts, directly across from the beach and about 10 mins walk from the port. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joolznt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaleSampanBungalows, Manager at Bale Sampan Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Joolznt,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on your stay with us at Bale Sampan Bungalows. We are so pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us and plan to return for another visit!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Very best wishes,
Rudy, Atun and all the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I have just returned from a 4 night stay at this place. I was fantastic!!!
The staff were absolutely beautiful.
The rooms were clean
Internet access was included
The pool was lovely
The grounds are covered in frangipani trees and beautiful trees/flowers that are manicured daily.
Breakfast was great (and included).
Location was central but up the quieter end of the island (to its credit)
Bikes were available for hire for $5 / day and worthwhile in getting around.
I would stay here again - it was a great end to my holiday!

Room Tip: Both front bungalows have a superb view of the beach, however I stayed towards the back of the prope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poochiebluebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaleSampanBungalows, Manager at Bale Sampan Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear poochiebluebell,

Thank you very much for your kind words and lovely review. We really appreciate that you have taken the time to write your thoughts of your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Very best wishes
Rudy, Atun and all the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel was ok, but in need of major renovation. Its too shabby n would need more attention. The wifi in room no 9 did not work at all, poor in the lobby also. Everything was pretty much dated. Breakfast was on the menu, i ordered a banana pancake n it was delicious but it wasn't enough at all. It left me hungry, so I ordered another one n they charged me for it! The pool was always dirty n since its so small they could clean it more often. Staff was nice, the beach was near but crowded. If u go up north a little it is nicer n cleaner. A/c worked great, no noise from the streets but lots of cats that meow thru out the nite. Didnt bother me too much we have two at home overall would not stay here again, sorry....

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelNog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaleSampanBungalows, Manager at Bale Sampan Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear MelNog,

Thank you for your reviews on both TripAdvisor on the internet booking site you used to make your reservation. We are very sorry to hear that Bale Sampan did not live up to your expectations. Unfortunately we understand, despite our very best efforts, that we cannot please all of the people all of the time.

It is disappointing to hear that you think our rooms are ‘shabby’. This comment surprised us because it contradicts what so many of our guests think. One of our most common complements regarding the rooms is how modern, clean and comfortable they are, and all of our rooms were completely refurbished in November last year – just 6 months ago!

Unfortunately we did experience a problem with our swimming pool filtration system which coincided with the two nights you stayed with and we are very sorry for this inconvenience. Due to our location here on Trawangan, we did have to wait two days for the replacement parts to come from Bali. As the pool is shaded by a large Tamarind tree, the dirty appearance of the swimming pool you mention would have simply been a few leaves floating on the surface due to the pump not being able to run.

The pancakes we offer on our breakfast menu are one of the lighter breakfast options. For those guests with a larger appetite, we do also offer smoked back bacon and eggs (cooked to any style you choose) served up with grilled tomatoes and a freshly baked French baguette. If you prefer something healthier, then try our fresh seasonal fruits, served with a generous helping of natural yoghurt, multi-grain muesli and honey. All breakfast options come with freshly squeezed fruit juice, a variation of Twinnings teas, or freshly ground Arabica coffee.

We really appreciate your feedback. It is very valuable to us as we are constantly striving to improve where we can at Bale Sampan.
Best wishes
Bale Sampan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.9 mi away
Le Pirate Beach Club Gili T Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#8 of 40 in Gili Trawangan
1,930 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#15 of 40 in Gili Trawangan
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#6 of 40 in Gili Trawangan
663 reviews
0.5 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#9 of 40 in Gili Trawangan
689 reviews
0.7 mi away
Scallywags Resort
Scallywags Resort
#2 of 181 in Gili Trawangan
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bale Sampan Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bale Sampan Bungalows

Address: Gili Trawangan, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 181 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Trawangan
Price Range: £31 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bale Sampan Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bale Sampan Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bale Sampan Bungalows Hotel Gili Trawangan
Bale Sampan Hotel
Bale Sampan Bungalows Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing