We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bale Sampan Bungalows
Ranked #6 of 162 Gili Trawangan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
perth
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed in July 2014 and we were in a great location right near the drift area. Restaurants everywhere on waterfront. Our breakfast was lovely and simple with views of the ocean .Accommodation which consists of about 12 units from front to back , pool at front of villas.
We were very happy with the room and service and friendly and helpful staff. Good English speaking too.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 overlook pool and open views to ocean.The others are behind them with no view but quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffandfiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaleSampanBungalows, General Manager at Bale Sampan Bungalows, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
HI Fiona, I'm glad you had a good stay with us and we hope to see you in Gili Tralala again.
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    160
    35
    12
    5
See reviews for
58
201
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We recently stayed on Gili T at Bale Sampan bungalows.
The bungalows are a short 400m walk from where the boats drop you (not at the wharf- a beach drop off).
The staff are friendly and helpful and are happy to organise transfers and have bikes and snorkelling equipment to hire for the day at competitive prices.

Breakfast in the morning was normal with a choice of bacon and eggs or muesli, fruit and yoghurt as well as a coffee and juice.
The cafe out the front serves lunch and a free coffee or tea in the afternoon.

The pool is clean and sunny and there are comfy sun loungers to relax on. Out the front there is a section of beach reserved for Bale Sampan customers with many more sun loungers.

Bale Sampan is quiet, away from the loud bars further down the beach. They also have good aircon and comfy beds.
The bungalows have lovely outdoor bathrooms and lovely strong fresh water showers.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SixMonthItch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaleSampanBungalows, General Manager at Bale Sampan Bungalows, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear TSaada8,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Very best wishes,
The Bale Sampan Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed just one night in Bale Sampan as we had another booking at another resort at the North Beach, but it left a good impression. Prior to our arrival, Harriet provided us with clear directions to walk from the pier (just 5-8 minutes!) through email and also offered to help with booking our fast boat tickets when I asked for assistance. These little things make you look forward to the stay and indeed, we were equally impressed by the service of the reception staff when we arrived.

Stayed in Room 12B which was all the way to the back of the property. It was great as it was tucked away from the hustle bustle of the main strip. We were greeted by Hogan, the friendly resident cat, who slept very comfortably on our patio each morning; it must have loved its quiet spot of shade! We had a big wardrobe, nice outdoor shower, although the water pressure is really poor. They did explain in their manual though, that it is fresh Lombok water brought by boat daily so maybe it was to reduce wastage.

You could choose to have breakfast by the beach in the morning to enjoy the sea view and the staff would be more than happy to bring it to you by a tray. Not buffet style, but you get to choose between eggs and bacon, or yogurt with cereal, or toast. We had two cats come up to us while we ate, looking like they were waiting for us to feed them... sooo adorable! If you're not a cat/animal lover, you probably might not enjoy Gili T as much because the stray cat population is quite substantial and they do roam around the hotel properties or restaurants looking for food. It's a really cute sight for us but well, we saw a fair share of anti-cat people looking irritated with the kitties.

You can rent a bike for 50k for 24 hours as well, great way to explore the island. Go to North Beach for the wonderful sunset. We didn't snorkel in front of Bale Sampan as we didn't have time to, but do be careful as many boats that carry snorkellers and divers dock along this strip of beach. We booked a snorkelling trip to Gili Meno and Gili Air through the staff for 100k, which we felt was quite a reasonable price. The operator is Gili Bahari, just walk down the trip towards the harbour for 5 min. Very nice and friendly operators although they couldn't go down to the water with us due to Ramadan (they were fasting). The boat was big and smooth, and the snorkelling gear were clean and well-maintained.

Would definitely recommend Bale Sampan to anyone looking for a middle range accommodation in Gili T!

Room Tip: If you prefer a quieter location, the rooms towards the back might be more suitable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank applie_bleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaleSampanBungalows, General Manager at Bale Sampan Bungalows, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear applie_bleu,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a detailed review of your stay with us. Your feedback is very much appreciated.

The poor water pressure in your shower has been a problem for the month of June. This was due to the water company switching off the supply each night between the hours of 12 midnight and 6am, whilst they carried out necessary maintenance to their infrastructure. Whilst we do hold a 2000ltr reserve tank on-site, a lot of this stock would get used overnight by the guests, meaning we would have to replenish the stocks each morning, at the same time as all the other businesses on the island. This put an incredibly high demand on the supply as soon as the water company switched the service back on, which in turn, effected our pressure.

One our side, we have also made changes to our own piping systems with an aim to getting more pressure for the rooms. We have also upgraded all of the shower heads. We hope the results are much more powerful showers and the feedback so far from our guests has been positive.

You are right in saying that the island does have a large population of stray cats. In the last 8 months the Gili Eco Trust have run 3 free clinic to sterilize and neuter the strays and there is another clinic planned in November. These clinics have already had a huge impact on the population numbers and we hope it will continue. Here at Bale Sampan we do all we can to support the clinics by offering free accommodation to the vets who have given up their time and holidays to offer up this fantastic and very necessary service to the island.

We are glad to hear that our advise and assistance on getting here was appreciated. It is something we try to help all guests with, as there are many transportation companies out there, and we want to make sure our guests have the opportunity to use the best and most reputable companies.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to Bale Sampan again in the future and hope that next time you will be able to stay more than just one night with us!

Very best wishes,
All of the Team at Bale Sampan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Best place to stay in Gilli Trawangan! We had an amazing 5 days staying here. The location is fantastic; 10 min walk from the harbour and the main bars and restaurants and directly across the road from the beach and an area of coral reef which was super clear and where we saw turtles everyday! The bungalows were perfect; spacious, bright, clean, great fan and AC and the outdoor bathroom was unreal - totally tropical! Our breakfast every morning was included and we enjoyed fresh fruit juices, banana pancakes, bacon and eggs and muesli and yogurt. We also had lunch at their cafe everyday and we were never disappointed by the food. But without a doubt one of the best things about Bale Sampan are the staff; they are the loveliest, friendliest people ever! Everyone always smiled and said hello and the girls in the cafe cured every morning hangover and catered to our every need! The staff also helped us hire snorkelling gear and bicycles and we did 2 sets of laundry there which was done quickly and smelled lovely and fresh when it was returned.
Gilli T is a beautiful place to visit and staying here just made our trip even more special and we are already looking forward to coming back and staying here again. Thank you and see you soon!

Room Tip: All the rooms are along a colourful floral walkway, so every room is very pretty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corinn_Jamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaleSampanBungalows, General Manager at Bale Sampan Bungalows, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear CorrinL,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a fantastic review of Bale Sampan! It was an absolute pleasure to have you guys to stay and we really look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Very best wishes,
All the team at Bale Sampan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuala lumpur
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Ive stay in bale sampan for 4 nights, overall the room was okie, the room is big with garden view, the toilet also big n nice. The pool was bit dirty cos they do some renovation near the pool and also very small, the negative part in this hotel is the water. The water pressure was very slow in the toilet. Overall the resort are average.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smokinlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaleSampanBungalows, General Manager at Bale Sampan Bungalows, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Smokinlady,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us at Bale Sampan. We are sorry you found the experience to be lacking in some areas, but are happy to see you found our rooms and bathrooms spacious and comfortable.

We apologise for the disruption caused by the renovations to the swimming pool that took place for 2 days during your stay. The renovations were to the stonework surrounding the edge of the pool and pool shower. Unfortunately, at times, maintenance issues are unavoidable, which is why we make every effort to carry out works with the least disruption possible for our guests.

We have also been to check the water pressure in your room. The pressure was in fact low, but the problem as resolved very quickly by our maintenance staff who are on-site 24hrs a day.

Had you have mentioned the issues with water pressure and your displeasure about the renovations during your stay, we would have been able to fix the water immediately and could have discounted your room rate in reflection of the disruption caused by the works carried out to the pool. It is a real shame you did not bring this up at the time. We are sure you would have felt pleased by our dedication to promptly resolve any issues that our guests experience, and in turn, happier with your stay at Bale Sampan.

Best wishes
The Bale Sampan Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dardanup, Western Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This place was a wonderful surprise from the very start with a warm and helpful welcome.
We were concerned about nights on Gili T being quite noisy but tucked away in our little bungalow we were very peaceful yet still close enough to all the action.
The room was clean, modern and had great air con (there's no fridge in the room but they have one at reception if needed). I am fussy about bathrooms but this one did not disappoint!
The beach is just at the front of the property with lazy boys reserved for guests and if you can't make it that far the pool is a comfy spot to relax under the beautiful Bougainvillea.
The breakfast menu was simple but everything was delicious (be prepared to share some bacon with the island cats).
Thanks to Rudy and all the friendly staff we had a great stay and would definately recommend this place and would stay again if ever on Gili T.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaleSampanBungalows, General Manager at Bale Sampan Bungalows, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Kathy L,

Thank you very much for your lovely review.

We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, enjoyed our location and found that we are close enough to, but not disturbed by, the action on Gili Trawangan.

Unfortunately, we are still waiting for an electrical upgrade at Bale Sampan to enable us to add mini bars to all of the rooms. We realise it can be inconvenient to not have your own fridge, which is why we offer space in the cafe fridges to all guests.

As one of the only businesses on the east side of Gili Trawangan who have chosen not to build on the beach, we feel very lucky that our guests have a great spot to relax and snorkel right on the door step!

We hope to see you again the future Kathy!

Very best wishes
Rudy, Atun and all the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This is the second time my wife n I have stay and can not get enough of this great little personal hotel and the staff can not do enough Rudi can help arrange bikes to snorkle gear and everything in between. Breakfast is very delish simple menu but all you need to get you started for a day at beach this island you can snorkle swim anywhere around it and the water good n clear.Back to the hotel and you can relax by the pool or out front on the beach dam good place for having a bintang or two. Rooms are claen and the out door bathroom I love. The gardens just make the place so private and relaxing. Well till next time and the next and next.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaleSampanBungalows, General Manager at Bale Sampan Bungalows, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Bernard,

It was lovely to have you to stay with us again! We look forward to seeing you again very soon (we hope!).

Very best wishes,
Rudy, Atun and all the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.7 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#15 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
539 reviews
0.5 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#5 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
639 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#8 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Hotel Ombak Sunset
#13 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,134 reviews
1.0 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#1 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
379 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Pirate Beach Club Gili T Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bale Sampan Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bale Sampan Bungalows

Property: Bale Sampan Bungalows
Address: Gili Trawangan, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bale Sampan Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Bale Sampan Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bale Sampan Bungalows Hotel Gili Trawangan
Bale Sampan Hotel
Bale Sampan Bungalows Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing