We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than enough”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gili Trawangan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Bubble Dive Official
Caldes de Montbui, Spain
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“More than enough”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

I've been 2 times in the Gili island and been hosted in different places so that option is quite good in comparison with other home stays.
That's what you should expect in the Gili for a reasonable price (12 - 20 euros per room): simple room with a clean bed and a small bathroom with salty water, not really modern furniture, wi-fi, breakfast included and sometimes swimmingpool.

Big bubble dive has a great aftmosphere, they offer diving courses and the swimmingpool and the terrace in front of each bungalow are a plus. The location in front of the beach and in the main path is something to appreciate.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaraUluwatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    38
    13
    6
    5
See reviews for
11
56
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

I stayed at Big Bubble Dive in end May/early June in 2013. Shifted here after staying in another budget resort earlier and found the other one away from action and not too clean. Big Bubble is a great place to stay with lovely bungalows. The location is great though not so if you want to stay at a quiet place. I did 2 open dives with the instructors and found them super friendly. Love Victor and -. The later was our instructor for the first dive. I would definitely stay here again but would advise only people interested in diving to stay here as the atmosphere is more fun if you dive. Also the breakfast was basic but nice. If you want a more elaborate one, most cafes are a walk away.

Room Tip: Chose a room closer to the reception to get wifi connectivity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shwetatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

We booked for 4 nights but ended up extending as we loved it so much. We needed to unwind from all the hassle and kuta buzz so we weren't part of the diving crew but they seemed to be very popular. Bungalow was great, huge comfi king size bed, ensuite, free towels, airconditioning, a little front patio with large cushions as private chill out area and it got cleaned every day. Expect eggs and/or fruit for breakfast (nothing special) but they serve great lunch and dinner dishes. Location is right in the middle of the main road, bike rental right outside your doorstep (about $2,50 per bike for the day). The swimming pool is small but clean, refreshing and a luxury for backpackers :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GENYVZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

I'm not stay at this hotel but I had 3 nights to visit the bartender at big bar.
He's very friendly and made us to bought some drinks again and again.
And I love all the words at the bar wall.
If you want something crazy, you can spin the wheel and kiss the barman..haha...
I miss big bubble....

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank githadestaliana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Just happened across this bungalow as some friends we met on the fastboat were staying there. They let us have three people instead of two for the same fee as long as we only had two breakfasts. The fan in the room did not work very well, and if you open the windows for circulation, things will definitely climb or fly on in as there are no screens. Shower was a bit more than a cold trickle, the bathroom was quite grimy overall, but we did not spend a lot of time in the room, so it was fine for us! Nice daybeds/cushions on the deck as well. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. We only did one dive with them, but the dive master, Emma, that came with us was very friendly and helpful as we are new to diving. Breakfast has only three choices; banana pancakes, eggs and toast or fruit salad, but all three are amazing,you order it fresh and it can be any time of the day, a real bonus compared to 2 hr old fried eggs on a buffet that ends by 10:00am. This way, if you dive in the morning, you can eat when you come back! Nice pool and plenty of lounging space, the bar should open earlier though!! Very close to everything you want in Gili T, and they take CreditCards, but no Amex. They offer three dives a day and are accomodating for night dives if you want as well!

Room Tip: If you are single or a couple, pick the BB bungalows, they have one king bed and the deck has a much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyler S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Did my diving certificates at big bubble and stayed there for quite a while. Didn't live there but saw the rooms which looked really clean n good. All the teachers where extremely good n seemed to be enjoying it as much as the costumers. I absolutely loved the local staff who where very helpful and so nice! Even tho gili t is really small, big bubble was at a great location. They have a good pool to chill out in aftr diving, and a bingtang from bb bar seals the deal.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Although i had an confirmed booking by email from Steph and Chris from Big Bubble,
for an aircondition room.
Upon arrival there was no airco room available for me only fan room,
which i definitely did not want!!
I showed reception my confirmed reservation email but they were not impressed at all and did not even bother to say sorry.
As a result i also cancelled my planned diving with them. I confirmed this by email and Steph or Chris did not react to this email at all !!
Please take my advice and do not go to a dive resort where they do not care for their guests or divers. Waste of your time and money.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gili Trawangan
0.2 mi away
Rust Mimpi Manis Bungalows
Rust Mimpi Manis Bungalows
#47 of 60 in Gili Meno
3.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meno Mojo Beach Resort
Meno Mojo Beach Resort
#41 of 60 in Gili Meno
3.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropicana Bungalows
Tropicana Bungalows
#17 of 26 in Gili Meno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Two Brothers Bungalows
Two Brothers Bungalows
#3 of 60 in Gili Meno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tropical Hideaways Resort
Tropical Hideaways Resort
#4 of 60 in Gili Meno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cha Cha Bungalows
Cha Cha Bungalows
#26 of 60 in Gili Meno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bubble Dive Official? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bubble Dive Official

Property: Big Bubble Dive Official
Address: Gili Trawangan Beach, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 230 Speciality Lodging in Gili Trawangan
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PLEASE NOTE AS BIG BUBBLE NO LONGER HAS BUNGALOWS, WE HAVE A NEW TRIPADVISOR PAGE UNDER 'Big Bubble Dive'. At Big Bubble, we are very proud of the fact that we have been in Gili Trawangan since July 2001, making us one of the longest running dive centres on this island. We are situated down on the beach near the turtle sanctuary in a hotel called Dejavu. We have been given an award from PADI for "Outstanding services" as a dive shop for over ten years and are a PADI 5 Star Centre. We are also members of the Gili Island Diving Association (GIDA) which was set up by the owner of Big Bubble to help maintain the high level of standards and safety whilst diving in all shops that are members of GIDA. Big Bubble offers a very high level of service for both fun dives and courses, using brand new equipment and guaranteeing small groups for our divers, as well as a fun and professional atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Bubble Dive And Bungalows Hotel Gili Trawangan
Big Bubble Dive Official Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing