We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hideaway”
Review of Trawangan Oasis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trawangan Oasis
Ranked #13 of 157 Gili Trawangan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Hideaway”
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

We have just spent 3 days at this cute little hideaway. It is a reasonable distance away from the harbour but this was a bonus for us because we don't want the busy party scene, here, you have peace & quiet. Staff are lovely, very friendly.
Surrounded with coconut palms the cute little cottages were great albeit a bit warm in the afternoons.
A little suggestion would be to do something about the slippery stairs going down to the bathroom as my husband and I both nearly slipped over.
I do agree with the comments about the lack of pool cleaning. But in saying all of this...we did love it here!
For the money, you really can't expect too much. Would we stay again? Most certainly!!!!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank balitraveller27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    93
    24
    11
    8
See reviews for
26
93
21
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Trawangan Oasis is located at the north tip of the island, setback 100m from the beach. From the harbour it is best to get a horse and trap (there are no motorised vehicles on the island) but it only cost $5.
The room was nice and big, the staff friendly and the pool was great. It was really nice not to have to deal with any noise from passing traffic so we thought being back from the beach and the main thoroughfare was great. It was only a short walk to lovely beach restaurants and the whole island can be waked around in 1-2 hours.
The only negative was they didn't service our room in the two nights.
I would stay here again as the price we got for a little bungalow was fantastic!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Because of the possitive reactions we made a reservation here. Only to find out that the place is a wreck. The pool in the middle is broken and they are working on it. Very noizy! The room is good though but for now not a relaxing place so we skippid it and went walking to the beachside which is much better, quiet and more gili-ich! So be warned..

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gretta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Owner at Trawangan Oasis, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
As outlined by the reviewer, we were updating our pool for 3 days, but this is now complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Well, it's me again doing another reviews and yes I keep coming back again and again to Trawangan Oasis. This place is located in the north of the island and quite far to walk from the harbour but for me walking is not a big problem. But even though there was some miss-communication about our reservation, but Mark Watters (The Owner) which is a very lovely guy helped us with all his kindness and he and his staff made our holiday break out off the work was lovely. The male staff which is very well known and lovely was still there and he still remember me! Glad I met with Aya (The Manager) and yes she is a lovely girl and the only girl who works there. The room is really really big and really good and the price is really reasonable. The staff keep the room clean everyday. I do love the bathroom too! They don't have tv channels in the room but in breakfast area they have tv cable which is really good to see some news when breakfast.

The breakfast itself is really really good, you can choose any kind of omelette with bread and jam or pancakes and they have coffee and tea. You also can request extra hot water too!
The bicycle was really helped us to go to the town every singe day and night. Thank you for that!

The pool is lovely, love swimming in the pool!

I'll def be back again there as soon as possible!

Thank You Mark, Aya and all the staff who work there!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Giannilucha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Getting off the boat on the main beach greeted by touts trying to sell us a room on the Main Street, one guy was persistent and took a look at his place. It was a nice room in building site and we decided we want to stay near the north. He was telling us we would pay $70 a night in the north and was getting angry for not taking his room. BEST thing we did!!!!

It was a long walk but we stumbled across trawangan oasis. Without reservation $25 per night, amazing bungalows, huge double bed, tv, fridge, Mosquito net, furniture, a/c and fan. The bathroom is attached to the rear of the bungalow and partly outside. The showers are cold water only but it's the tropics you don't need not water. Taking a shower looking up and seeing the stars is pretty cool :)

There is a lovely quite garden with a large pool in the middle, and volley ball net on the lawn.

You can rent bikes at $2 a day, and there are free DVDs to watch in your room and there is a laundry service

Breakfast included in the room price was ace, there was a lot of choice too

The staff are friendly as well which makes your stay pleasant

The location is ideal if want a tranquil and quiet area to relax and rest, the north has the snorkelling on the island and far less tourist. Beach is only 150meters away and It's a 5-10min bike ride to the main strip for food and party. You will not find a place like this on east coast. Take a torch after dark no street lights and tracks are corrugated.

Highly recommend.,will return here again without doubt.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattneary82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerOasis, Owner at Trawangan Oasis, responded to this review, 16 April 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and your kind words, I'll pass them onto my staff that really appreciate feedback from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BALI
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Located on the back of Gili Trawangan, I always come back here.
Value for money, great room + amenities, super friendly and helpful staff.
Serene, Devine, great pool, just few steps from the beach and sunset point.
Love this place a lot. X

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franksland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerOasis, Owner at Trawangan Oasis, responded to this review, 16 April 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and your kind words, I'll pass them onto my staff that really appreciate feedback from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macau, China
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This guesthouse is on the north of Gili Trawangan Island, away from the busy and very noisy main tourist area in the southern part. Getting here requires a horse cart, which can be arranged in advance with the guesthouse. The cost from the harbor for two people with luggage is 60,000 IDR. Once here, it is a very peaceful oasis indeed. The bungalows are simple but include A/C and fresh water shower. There is no hot water, but this is not a problem given the tropical climate. Breakfast is included and while the menu is not extensive, it is acceptable. The whole wheat toast is a welcome change from the normal white bread served in most Indonesian hotels. One annoyance is the many cats, which arrive with the breakfast, meowing continuously at your feet while you eat making it impossible to relax and enjoy the breakfast.
The pool is beautiful and wifi connection is excellent poolside and on the terrace of the bungalow. The beach is a snorkelling beach and not for swimming. At low tide, there is just a small strip of sand to walk on before the coral is exposed. The sunsets on the beach at the north end of the island are spectacular. The walk to the beach is very short, through a cow pasture. The path can be very muddy, so best bet is to rent one of their bicycles unless you don’t mind wet muddy feet. A bike is also the best way to get to the southern half of the island where most of the hotels, bars, and restaurants are located. The guesthouse only serves breakfast, so dinner requires a trip to the tourist area.
Be sure to ask for a light for the bike as the sun sets around 6:00 and there are no lights along the narrow dark paths back to the guesthouse. It is very easy to get lost even in the daytime. The staff is very friendly and professional and work hard to make the guests comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerOasis, Owner at Trawangan Oasis, responded to this review, 16 April 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and your kind words, I'll pass them onto my staff that really appreciate feedback from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.1 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#16 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
509 reviews
0.5 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#5 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
621 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#7 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Gili Palms Resort
Gili Palms Resort
#10 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
195 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Pirate Beach Club Gili T Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Hotel Ombak Sunset
#12 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trawangan Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trawangan Oasis

Property: Trawangan Oasis
Address: North Beach Gili Trawangan, West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Trawangan Oasis 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trawangan Oasis is 7 bungalows on the northern end of Gili Trawangan. It is set in a coconut grove with a lovely salt water pool. It is a short bike ride to the main tourist strip, where there are restaurants and bars. It is 150 metres to North Beach; which has great snorkelling. North Beach is a great place to chill out and is a lot quieter than main beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trawangan Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trawangan Oasis Hotel Gili Trawangan
Trawangan Oasis Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing