We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, great people who run it!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kelapa Kecil

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kelapa Kecil
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place, great people who run it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

Loved this place. A little bit expensive. We payed $100USD a night. Anna was incredibly nice and helpful! We had so much fun with her. The place is situated too close to the mosque but you can deal with it. The location, apart from that, is really good. It is close enough to everything, but far away from the noisy action at night. Also right on the beach and has a nice, small veranda to sunbake on. The rooms themselves are nice, but not extravagant. Breakfast is relatively basic but enjoyable!
Overall a great stay, would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ginae10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    15
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
10
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2010

From the outside, Kelapa Kecil seems worth the hype and expense -- it's got a lovely dipping pool, well lit, that attracts many passers-by in the evening who stop and stare. However, once you get inside, it's a different story.

We paid $100/night (the middle of high season, very late notice reservations) which was about $50/night too expensive. We were desperate for accommodations so decided to just book it. However, we were extremely disappointed in what we got for that price.

First of all, the bathrooms were unbearably smelly. It smelled like a dirty public restroom, absolutely overwhelming stench of old urine. Who cares about nice tile or fancy showers when you feel dirty just walking in there?

There were no bathroom linens -- we had to ask for one towel each when they forgot to stock them -- and nothing else was supplied (bath mat, wash cloths, soap, hand towels, etc.). Our bed sheets looks dirty (white but soiled) and I actually woke up with a shard of glass in my arm. Not sure the sheets were ever washed.

The electricity went out frequently, and the Kelapa Kecil generator also failed...meaning that we went without AC for one long, hot, sleepless night. The hotel also abuts a mosque, so expect frequent loudspeaker prayers, and is apparently surrounded by roosters that will keep you up starting at dawn.

We were really disappointed in the quality of the place. Had it been half the price, we might not have left with such a bad taste in our mouths, but it was way too expensive and unclean. I would definitely recommend going elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelKate2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2010

This place really did cater for our needs. It was close to our dive centre, close to the beach and close to the bars! It has a little pool at the front that is smaller than it looks on the net however again, did the job! The room was fine and the bathroom okay, although it smelled a bit! Our problem with this place was it was a little too expensive for what it was. We paid $70 per night when really i think it was worth $50. We did however have the most amazing time on Gili T and the diving at Blue Marlin was perfect. Our instructor Vanessa was amazing and such a great instructor. Dinner at Scallywags was divine and sunsets at Karma Kyak were unforgetable. Visiting Gili T is an absolute must...

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessicaj785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2009

We stayed 5 nights on Gili Trawangan in September 2009. We spent all of them at the Kelapa Kecil bungalows, located on the main drag but slightly north of 'most' of the action.

The rooms are great -- roomy, huge bath with stone tiles. There are only 3 units, and you share a small plunge pool out front when you're too lazy to go across the street to the ocean. Air con was good and strong as long as there wasn't a brown-out.

The staff who keep the place running -- Harry and Anna -- are both wonderful people; Anna is a real character and a joker who likes to have fun interacting with the guests. Both make great breakfasts that include fresh juices. They keep the rooms spic and span and work around your schedule to do so (so if you feel like lazing around until 2pm, they aren't going to kick you out to clean up after you!)

They keep a few sodas and beers in the minibar and they charge the same price as the shop next door for them -- so if you are feeling lazy you don't have to worry about getting ripped off.

The one drawback we found was that there was sometimes a bad smell that eminated, we think, from the shower drain. It wasn't there all the time and usually showed up after running the shower. Not sure there's a lot that can be done about this; and generally you keep the door to the bathroom closed anyway to keep the bedroom cooler.

One *very important* thing to know (we wish we did before we went) is that the bungalows back up to the island's mosque, so the call to prayer during the wee hours will wake you up unless you're a really hearty sleeper. Bring earplugs. Also important to know that during Ramadan the calls are extended (and an extra one is added at about 3AM) so if you don't have earplugs, you might not get much sleep! Thankfully we had ours, but the couple in the room next door didn't, so would stay up til midnight or later watching DVDs in their room til it was over.

Staff can arrange laundry service or help out with almost anything you need -- very helpful folks.

It was a lovely, relaxing place to stay. If we were back on Gili T we'd consider staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thebeerhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.1 mi away
Ozzy Cottages and Bungalows
Ozzy Cottages and Bungalows
#70 of 229 in Gili Trawangan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Bella
Villa Bella
#44 of 229 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Flush Bungalows
Flush Bungalows
#125 of 229 in Gili Trawangan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dejavu Hotel
Dejavu Hotel
#103 of 145 in Gili Trawangan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Balenta Bungalows
Balenta Bungalows
#49 of 229 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Good Heart Resort
Good Heart Resort
#20 of 229 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelapa Kecil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelapa Kecil

Property: Kelapa Kecil
Address: P.O Box 424, West Nusa Tenggara 83355, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 229 Speciality Lodging in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kelapa Kecil 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the swimming beach of Gili Trawangan, each of the three well-appointed rooms have an unobstructed view of the ocean and Mount Rinjani.All the rooms are furnished in the manner of our luxury villas and include fresh hot water, deluxe linens, king or twin beds and the shared use of a private plunge pool directly in front of the bungalows.We can arrange transportation to and from the island from Bali or Lombok, as well as diving packages in our affiliated dive centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kelapa Kecil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelapa Kecil Hotel Senggigi
Kelapa Kecil Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing