We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place and fabulous food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Danima Resort & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Danima Resort & Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Certificate of Excellence
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place and fabulous food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed at Danima in early March 2014 and it was the highlight of our trip. The staff are fantastic, very helpful and always with a smile. The owners are super friendly and will make daily recommendations of their daily special menu. We were very touched by their attention to detail, upon finding out that it was our 21st wedding anniversary, they prepared a table on the beach and made us a surprise dessert with candles, Danima is the place to stay...private beach with fishes and turtles swimming just metres away from the beach, close to the centre minus the noise and GREAT SERVICE. The food is simply delicious, fresh bread baked daily and fresh pasta. Very large comfortable rooms and very private. A very big GRAZIE MILLE and we will definitely recommend the place to our friends and return to this gem again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are much quieter and have day beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PTombini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    71
    22
    7
    6
See reviews for
37
218
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

nice and very clean resort. room elegant and very comfort. large pool, staff very friendly and helpful. breakfast very nice with choice of 3 menu and any coffee. perfect location out of busy centre but also close , private beach beautiful and great snorkelling .as well the restaurant is very nice and romantic, thank u to pancrazio with all tips for gili,

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snoopysky7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

The staff here were so friendly and helpful, breakfast lovely, pool good, cleaning done twice a day. Far enough away to be peaceful but close enough to get a horse cab quickly to best spots. The owners (Italian) were lovely and treated their staff like family. Right on the beach, ahhhh... Only 4 rooms so nice and private.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muzznjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Very nice and spacious villas in excellent conditions.
We travelled with a toddler and the swimming pool caters for that nicely with a separated section.
Breakfast is lovely and served in 3 courses. Eggs, fruit and pancake.
Staff is very helpful and friendly and goes out of their way to accommodate.
The place is set practically on the beach and has its own bar and beach beds. Those latter ones could do with a renewal, they are close to their end.
Dinner is great on the beach, very quiet and romantic with some nice candles and lights. Lobster is clearly their specialty and is done very well on the bbq, and quite rare, is fresh rather than frozen.

If you are looking to be in the party center of Gili, this is not the place for you, it does take a 10 minute stroll or so, which is quite the perfect distance for those who want to have quiet, but able to find other places to have a drink or eat as well.

Snorkeling can be just in front, many fish and on each occasion saw several large turtles.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurens_van_Lid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Daniela and Luca were accommodating hosts and we felt like part of the family when we stayed at Danima Resort. The staff were very friendly and helpful and went out of their way to ensure we had whatever we needed. When we walked past the kitchen and commented on the beautiful smells, we were immediately offered the home made biscuits fresh from the oven : ) There was home made bread and New Zealand butter (rare in Indonesia) as part of the breakfast menu! The room was spacious and comfortable and cleaned about three times a day. The Italian dinner menu with homemade pasta was all delicious. Only four rooms at present at Danima, two poolside and two garden view. More rooms to come later. Reasonably quiet area being far enough from the main/central area so not as noisy at night but not too far to go (by horse and cart) if you do want to explore or dine there. Would recommend. P.S. Try the chocolate salami dessert if you get a chance.

Room Tip: I recommend the poolside rooms as they had the best outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev and Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

My friend and I stayed at a pool room at this lovely resort in Febuary. The staff couldn't be any more helpful, we had breakfast included that was lovely. There is free tea/ coffee and cold water in the restaurant for your convenience 24/7. The rooms are large and spacious with the bed very comfortable. The bathroom is large and the pool being only a few steps away being an added bonus.there is great diving straight outside the hotel we even saw turtles. Will defiantly be going back.

Room Tip: Room 1 or 2. The pool view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonelleg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

This little resort features the most exceptionally friendly staff we have seen, perhaps anywhere. The restaurant is simple but tasteful and we enjoyed breakfast on the clean beach across the road with a view of the mountains of Lombok and the ocean into the distance. Snorkling is good and turtles are a regular appearance. The villas are very nice, with large king size beds, lots of floor space with all glass fronts. Villas 1 and 2 look onto the clean pool surrounded by decorative flowers and plants, lit up especially with the morning sun. The location is on the north east side of the island, far enough away from the hustle and noise of the harbour/market/restaurant/hotel/music centre to relax and enjoy the peace of the natural surroundings.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DeepcovePeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
1.5 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#1 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.6 mi away
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
#2 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Pirate Beach Club Hotel
Le Pirate Beach Club Hotel
#3 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#4 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#8 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
0.6 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#5 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danima Resort & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danima Resort & Restaurant

Property: Danima Resort & Restaurant
Address: Jalan Pantai, West Nusa Tenggara 83553, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Danima Resort & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort was opened by Daniela and Pancrazio Palmieri in 2009 and is thereby one of the newest on Gili Trawangan. Only four Deluxe Cottage are situated within a beautifully arranged tropical garden with look on the pool. Our double-bed rooms are set with: fresh hot water, air con, Dvd, frigobar, safety box and free wi-fi. Located right on the beachfront, with seating on the beach, our restaurant is always open enjoy one of our delicious meals overlooking the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Danima Resort & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danima Resort And Restaurant
Danima Resort & Restaurant Hotel Gili Trawangan
Danima Resort & Restaurant Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing