We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved this resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Danima Resort & Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Danima resort, the owners are very nice and the staff is even nicer! They will help you with anything, just ask for it! Bikes, snorkeling gear...they will even join you if you want to find the sea turtles which are right in front of the resort.

Because the resort only has 6 apartments it's never busy and you get a personal approach from the staff and owners. For such a small resort they have a really nice menu, the food is really great and they have more than enough choices for breakfast.

The beach here is nice and not busy since we the resort is quite small. The pool is beautiful, not really big but it won't be busy so that's not a problem.

I would definitely recommend a stay here, we came from Bali but I really loved Gili and this resort. If you want to party you can rent a bike or walk there in 20 minutes but here you have privacy and you will feel right at home.

Most important, they have fresh water in the shower and the rooms are very clean. They even clean your room twice a day! The staff is so nice, please don't forget to tip them or maybe leave some stuff you don't need anymore like soap, shampoo or toothpaste.

Room Tip: We liked the rooms next to the swimming pool. Don't for get to snorkel in front of the resort, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JanineCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 78 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

Danima is a lovely, small hotel. The villas are large and comfortable, the bathroom was ok. The staff at Danima were exceptional, very friendly and helpful and the hotel was situated in the best location on the nicest stretch of beach on Gili T. The breakfast was nice, we didn't eat dinner at the hotel, but the food looks delicious.

We were very happy with our choice of hotel, unfortunately we weren't particularly taken with Gili.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HDBS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed 4 nights at this small resort at one of the most beautiful beaches. Their villas are beautiful, spacious, well designed and maintained. Staff are very friendly and make you feel welcome. The location is another of its great features. Within easy walking distance to the more busy part of the island and the beach is amazing even at low tide. Great for people who love snorkelling, we saw turtles every day. We highly recommend this great small place.

Room Tip: Loved the garden villa which provides even more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RSpeidel00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We have just stayed three nights at Danima Resort. We had one of the garden villas which was nice and quiet and very clean. As you walk along from the main hustle and bustle of Gili T you come to Danima which is the last property as you come into the quiet area on the beach - and it feels like you are coming home - as you are always greeted by very friendly and helpful staff and owners - they really can't do enough to help you. The setting is perfect - nice breakfast on the beach and then stroll down into the beautiful water to swim with the turtles and brightly coloured fish (reef shoes in the water very useful). We would highly recommend staying here if you don't want to be in the main busy area of Gili T - but can still walk there in 5 minutes.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank PerthJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed at Danima Resort 9 days and have never, during many years of traveling in Asia, had it better.
The rooms are very good, large and nicely. Cleaning twice a day.
Staff so personal that we become as friends.
Located in a quiet area but still close to the small village with many good restaurants.

Room Tip: There are two rooms on the poleside and it almost feels like it's private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Lyckow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

From Day 1 to Day 8 we could not fault the Danima on Gili T. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience and would definately come back if we get the chance. The cleanliness of the rooms, the maintenance of the villas, friendliness of all the staff and owners was outstanding for a small complex - there are only 4 villas which made it even more special! We were greeted each morning by friendly smiles from Ali, Robbie, Jake and Tony and served a really nice breakfast where we could choose something different each day. My husband was learning the Indonesian language and all the staff helped him learn very quickly and were only too happy to teach him as much as they could and with plenty of laughs. Tony organised a day trip to Longbok for us and organised the hire of our bikes to ride for the week. The snorkelling out the front of the Danima is good and if you are lucky you can see turtles. We ate at the restaurant and the food was very good.
Eni, Ardy and Hafiz were also very kind and helpful on our stay at the Danima as well. The owners should be very proud to have such reliable and friendly staff. The place ran like clock work while you were away and we were sorry we didn't get the chance to say good bye. Thanks for a wonderful experience! Teresa & Steve from the Gold Coast.

Room Tip: The pool view room was very picturesque looking out to the pool, restaurant and beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Damina Resort a couple of months ago to celebrate her birthday. Sadly our flight from Darwin was cancelled that afternoon which bumped back our arrival date and cut short our already short stay by a night. But this was no problem and Daniela was able to move our booking around easily enough and with no penalty which was a nice touch.

The boat ride across from Padang Bai was a cracker but there were a few green faces at the end of it as the weather was not ideal. We were greeted at the jetty by a friendly young guy and he organised a ‘Clip Clop’ for our little trip up the island towards the Resort itself.
The horse ride was only a few minutes and it would probably take about 10 min to stroll up there assuming you are not lugging your life’s collection around with you on holidays.

We were greeted on arrival by Daniela and her partner and welcomed to their lovely little property. Check in was easy and the room was right next to the pool which was a bonus. Upon entering the room Bec discovered a beautiful arrangement of flowers from the garden on the bed wishing her a happy birthday! Quality effort and really made us feel welcome.

The property was meticulously kept and the staff floating around were an absolute delight and very friendly and helpful at all times. The room itself was spacious and comfortable.
Brekky in the morning was a treat and pretty massive! The next morning we opted just for some fresh fruit instead of the full brekky.

Location is ideal – just across the ‘road’ if their section of beach which is nice and tidy and offers some spectacular snorkelling only 20 meters from the shore. We snorkelled both days and saw plenty of amazing colourful fish and a few decent sized turtles. It was probably some of the best snorkelling I have done over the years considering the location and ease to get out to.

As mentioned – only 10 min stroll away from the Jetty and the louder bars etc.
We hired push bikes for $4AUD a day and explored as much of this delightful little island that we could. This was organised through Danima along with the snorkelling gear so it made it nice and easy.

I’ll definitely be going back to the Gili Islands and I’ll be sure to stay again at Danima.
Well done

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HAR0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
1.5 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#2 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
457 reviews
0.6 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#8 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
679 reviews
0.6 mi away
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
#3 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#5 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
636 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#7 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,868 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#13 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danima Resort & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danima Resort & Restaurant

Address: Jalan Pantai, West Nusa Tenggara 83553, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range: £44 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Danima Resort & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort was opened by Daniela and Pancrazio Palmieri in 2009 and is thereby one of the newest on Gili Trawangan. Only four Deluxe Cottage are situated within a beautifully arranged tropical garden with look on the pool. Our double-bed rooms are set with: fresh hot water, air con, Dvd, frigobar, safety box and free wi-fi. Located right on the beachfront, with seating on the beach, our restaurant is always open enjoy one of our delicious meals overlooking the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Danima Resort & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danima Resort And Restaurant
Danima Resort & Restaurant Hotel Gili Trawangan
Danima Resort & Restaurant Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing