We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hi quality villa in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Trawangan Resort
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hi quality villa in a good location”
Reviewed 14 May 2012 via mobile

This is a lovely resort, just far enough away from the lively strip to relax but close enough to be convenient for dinner and drinks. The villa was high quality, modern and clean. The staff were super friendly and bent over backwards to help us.

The resort is undergoing some major renovation at the moment by what appears to be the building of a new front to the resort. Whilst they are doing this exceptionally well, it is visable and you can hear occasional noise from the villa. It would be worth staying in a villa far back (we stayed in villa 3 next to the building project). That said we still had a lovely stay.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    146
    70
    35
    23
See reviews for
94
194
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bondi, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

This place is on the south end of the island near Kokomo restaurant and some other good places to eat/drink. The staff are super friendly and the room was really nice. Dont worry about the small hotel pool as you have crystal clear 27 degree water on your doorstep. The treehouse bar is a great place for an afternoon drink (although take the short walk to the islands west side to see the amazing sunsets). Only down side is that we had to walk 15 mins to the north side of the island to get away from the wind and nearer the really good snorkeling. But, for the price, proximity to other good stuff, and the high standard of rooms this was worth it to us!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marsh_Craigy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012 via mobile

After several trips to Gill-T I have stayed at the top locations on the island. The Trawangan is one of the best.
After the initial teething problems that a new venue experiences they have now got it running to perfection.
With 16 years experience in the travel and tourism industry I highly recommend you come and experience this amazing place.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 6 Contributor
729 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I had a fabulous week in a 2 bed villa w/ private pool. The resort is just beyond the long line of restaurants and bars and quiet enough, but still a very close walk to town to not be too secluded or dark. Unlike some hotels a bit further south. The villa was absolutely stunning and so peaceful. My only gripes would be that the photos of the hotel entrance are a little deceptive, but nothing major. Sometimes we had to wait a really long time for the room to be cleaned, even though we had hung the sign outside, and there weren't that many rooms. I really enjoyed my stay and was happy to spend money on the room but I'm not sure it's up to £200 a night... £100-£120 would be more appropriate for its facilities.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmm73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at The Trawangan Resort in Gili and what a fantastic stay it was! The island itself is awesome, beautiful beaches, snorkeling, night life, restaurants and island hopping...even great for surfing! Riding around the island is brilliant, takes about 1 hour unless of course you stop at one of the many bars/restaurants for a cleansing ale or two!?! Sunrises over Lombok, sunsets over Bali, a photographers paradise!!
The villas are stunning and situated only 200 metres from the best cafe strip! We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa with private plunge pool and lounge/kitchen. The villa overlooks a beautiful property of palm trees, so private and unique. They also had lovely 1 bedroom villas out the back overlooking a main pool which was also beautiful. There where awesome tree houses on the beach in front of the villas, some high, some low, that you could waste away the day overlooking the surfers and Lombok in the distance...we enjoyed lunch and cocktails on a couple of occasions in this idyllic setting. We had great service by staff, no complaints, room service was efficient, the food some of the best we enjoyed on the island! We could not fault anything! Of course you need to appreciate that you are on an island and the running water is a little slow but other than that we haven't enjoyed a holiday as much as we did this one. We rate this resort 10 out of 10!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Croft4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I first come to Gili Trawangan in 1994... lot of fun, but not many comforts. Nowdays, you can bring your grey hair and your family at... The Trawangan! The villas are great, up to the best Asian contemporary standards you might encounter in Bali, Sri Lanka or Thailand. Well designed, well constructed, well furnished, functional, spacious... and beautiful: great! The two rooms ( plus living room and pool) villas are perfect for two couples (or a family of four, like us). The bar on the beach is also pretty, with some elevated platforms on the trees, in the shade overlooking the great beach. Maybe the beach is a bit... non-existent in high tide... just walk 100 m (or a km or two: the island is great all round!)
Whoever conceived this resort is a visionary with good taste. Who designed it is a professional with experience in high-end tropical accommodation. But, after a week, i still didn't understand who is managing this place. I can't believe this is coming from the same seed.
The staff is all young, inexperienced, and without a clue on how to professionally run an hotel. And we are talking, by far, of the most expensive (and pretentious) place on the island. Everybody is friendly and well intentioned, but there are no directives, no chiefs, no quality control. Out of the shell of your villa, you step in a 2 stars bungalows-estate. I confirm all the experiences of other travelers reporting before me regarding the inconsistencies of service.
As it stands now, with the rooms still brand new, you can take it easy, have a Bintang, and life is still beautiful... hence my overall 4.
Hopefully the establishment will be soon taken over by someone with some competence in the hotel industry, before this perl falls apart for lack of maintenance.

Room Tip: You are ready to spend for a villa with private pool because you want privacy, right? Until the cons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed at The Trawangan for 5 nights in April in one of the 2 room villas. We traveled as a family with a 4 month old and a 2 year old.

The villa was beautiful, very nicely built and designed. The villa lay out for a family works well and the pool inside is very convenient (although we had to watch our toddler carefully to not go inside the pool by himself). In terms of construction and the concept of the place it is very nice. The two restaurants, the one at the back (looking at the palm trees) and the one at the front overlooking the sea, are also very beautiful.


The big problem is the service and management, it seems that there isn't any. With the price you are paying for the villas, you would expect some sort of service.

Except for one guy that was very helpful, overall the staff are pleasant and nice but need serious management and training. They did not seem to know what they were doing.

Our villa was next to a construction building. The workers could see directly into our villa, which was very disturbing, as they could see you while you were in the bathroom, in the pool, etc.

When we complained to the manager he said that they had talked to the workers and that they would stop the work until we left (which did not make too much sense to us). Obviously nothing happened, then when we asked that they changed us to another room nothing happened either.

The food in the resort is good, and they are quite quick with the service. What is a bit strange (but it seems to be the trend now in Bali), is that for breakfast if you ask for a proper coffee (not the filer one) you are charged extra.

The rooms only get cleaned once a day. They do not come in the evening to refresh it. You need to ask for at reception for the room to be cleaned (otherwise nothing happens), and they don't do a very good job with it. While the 2 bedrooms were more or less ok, they did not seem to bother much with the living area.

Our pool filter stopped working the 4th day. When i mentioned it to reception they ignored me.

I think that there is a big mismatch between the quality of the building (5 star place), with the quality of the service (1 star place). You pay at the 5 star rate but get no service. If management does not improve quickly i doubt it will be the same in a few months time, when things start to need repairing and fixing.

If i go back to Gili Trawangan i don't think i would stay in the same place. I would go for something not as fancy but more functional.

Room Tip: Do not get villas number 2 and 3 as they are next to a higher building that is being built, and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MartaVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.9 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#5 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
641 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#8 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,756 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#15 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Hotel Ombak Sunset
#13 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,137 reviews
0.3 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#1 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#4 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trawangan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trawangan Resort

Property: The Trawangan Resort
Address: South Beach | Pemenang, West Nusa Tenggara 83355, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Trawangan Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the south beach of Gili Trawangan, THE TRAWANGAN RESORT brings a superior level of comfort and sophistication to your Gili Island experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Trawangan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Trawangan Hotel Gili Trawangan
The Trawangan Resort Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing