We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great helpful staff and good villas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Trawangan Resort
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Great helpful staff and good villas”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My partner and I stayed in a pool villa at the beginning of October. The villa itself was lovely and spacious but was showing signs of wear and tear, which is surprising seeing as I didn't think the resort was that old. I can agree with what some people have said about stains on ALL of the towels and on some bedsheets - definitely time to replace some, as you just can't feel clean drying yourself with a stained towel!

We had a problem with big ants and even though they sprayed insecticide fog around the resort, it just didn't tackle the bugs. As the villa had 2 bedrooms, we had to abandon one of the rooms on our first night as there were ants crawling all around the back wall and then even came onto the bed, luckily in the other bedroom, we only noticed a couple which we quickly got rid of.

Breakfast is great and there is definitely a really decent choice, which fills you up until lunchtime. We ate lunch at the hotel on our first day which was OK but we explored other resorts and restaurants for the rest of our lunch and dinner meals.

The resort is in a great location, situated at the quieter end of the island, although we were disturbed by a few loud Australian groups who were in the villas next to us, as they had pool parties that went on well into the night, without any consideration for other guests, so that was frustrating. Also the dark moon party in the nearby bar had a party late one evening/morning and you could just hear the thumping beat of the music. It was difficult for us to get a great sleep because of these issues and we were often getting up early to go for morning scuba dives.

However, these are all little niggles really as we loved our stay and loved the absolute beauty of Gili T - I would definitely recommend cycling around the whole island one day, although check the bikes first as the chain kept coming off both of our bikes and we had to constantly stop and sort it out.

The staff are great... on our final morning we had to leave at 6am before breakfast had even started and we knew that we would just have to grab some food at the airport instead, however they contacted us the evening before and offered to put some things together for us - they came to the villa 20 minutes later with cereal, yoghurt, fruit etc... it was an amazing spread and we have never had a resort offer anything like this before (normally if you leave before breakfast, then tough, you miss it!) but I really hope that the kitchen/waiting staff are praised for this, as it was definitely above and beyond what they needed to do and we were very appreciative.

You will definitely enjoy your stay on Gili T!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank nipon4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thetrawangan r, Guest Relations Manager at The Trawangan Resort, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Guest.
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you had some disappointments while staying here. The maintenance of the resort is an ongoing battle with the salt air and extreme heat and wet season taking a heavy toll on all the buildings on the island. We are currently mid way through a room by room repaint and general maintenance which is conducted during the quieter times. We are also replacing linen and towels as required. In regard to the ants and bugs it is part of the environment here and very difficult to keep them away. We do use a fogging method for control but only with an insecticide that is environmentally sensitive as this is a fragile environment we live in.
Most guests staying here are very considerate in relation to being noisy at night but occasionally more excitable patrons are having a good time and maybe a bit noisy.
I agree that the resort is in an ideal location, just far enough away from the night life and parties but close enough to easily access the main strip.
The staff try very hard to make sure our guests have a memorable their stay with us as you could see with your early departure breakfast preparation. We do hope you will return and stay here again with us and look forward to seeing you should you do.

Regards

Alan. Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    143
    66
    32
    21
See reviews for
90
182
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed here for three nights in July as part of our last (bo ho) holiday in SEA (after 6 years in Singapore). I was a bit unsure about going to the Gilis as I thought it would be a bit backpacker/diving tastic (which it is a bit). But this hotel is fab. Close to the main stuff but also quiet. Villa are great. Our 3 kids spent hours in the pool. The food was perhaps the high point. Probably one of the best restuarants in a hotel I can remember. I can still remember breakfasts on the beach. We even had dinner there one night which was again the best food we had on the trip. Top notch.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeillyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thetrawangan r, Guest Relations Manager at The Trawangan Resort, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you for your trip Advisor Review of our resort.
The staff and management are extremely happy that you had such an enjoyable experience staying with us as it shows our efforts are paying off. The kitchen staff work very hard ensuring breakfast is spot on and your day starts of great and as your review states, one of the best.
We all look forward to you and your family hopefully returning to stay with us again so from the staff and management, happy travels until we meet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Just out of the main strip of gili, but not too far.
Staff are super friendly and welcoming, as is the resident cat =)
We stayed in a basic room, however, it was perfect, the pool was a few meters away and we had a fantastic outdoor bathroom.
Breakfast included and you get to choose from the ala carte menu, the Mexican option was small but the quality and taste was divine, my partner had the full English breakfast, again, quality was great.
I would certainly stay here again ♥♡♥

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NovaKane8485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thetrawangan r, Guest Relations Manager at The Trawangan Resort, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Hi. The staff and management are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and very much appreciate you taking the time to write a lovely review about your experience here. Our location is one of the best on Gili T as you say and our breakfast we offer gets many a praise form patrons. We very much look forward to you returning to us soon and once again, thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 3 nights after reading very positive reviews and it definitely surpassed our expectations. For around 60-70USD a night, you get a high ceiling villa for a single room with a front terrace and outdoor bathroom (amazing showers). Unlike the typical hotel, this hotel made you feel like you were living in the most peaceful rainforest (without the insects as they fumigated on a regular basis). Due to its location at the tip of the strip, you are able to enjoy a serene and calm atmosphere at the cost of having to walk around 20 minutes to the center of the island where the majority of the bars and restaurants are located.

Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel. We enjoyed being able to come back to this little haven after tiring days of swimming and snorkeling. Another great thing about this hotel is since it is located further down the strip, the beach is much less crowded than the hotels further up.

Room Tip: Definitely get a villa! (Have a look at the photos I took)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luxury_with_a_budget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Myself and two friends stayed at the Trawangan Resort in September for 5 nights. The resort is down the south end of the island, away from the busy area of the island where most of the ferry's dock. In saying that, it was a very easy 5 - 10 minute walk to places like Scallywags and the Irish Bar. You can hire bikes from the resort which I'd suggest if you want to go north to places near where the ferry's dock or further round the south of the island to the sunset bar.

We took a horse and carriage to the resort and were greeted by friendly reception staff. The room we stayed in was nice, a two bedroom villa, with a private pool. The bedrooms were airconditioned, however the main living and dining areas were not - so we just stuck to the rooms when it got hot!

We had several issues whilst staying at the resort - there was no water when we arrived which we weren't told about and had to wait most of the day for the plumbing to be fixed, we requested a third sun bed several times which never arrived and only one of us could connect to wifi at a time.

The owner of the resort was friendly and he and his friend gave us lots of suggestions for activities and the best places for snorkelling which was really helpful.

The resort is in a quieter part of the island, which is perfect for relaxing and sleeping. But as said, a quick 10 minute walk and you're in the busier part of the island anyway so you can choose what kind of day/night you want to have.

Gili T is beautiful. The whole atmosphere of the island is laidback and nothing happens quickly...which you get used to! Would go back tomorrow if I could!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keentoseetheworld88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed at the Trawangan resort for our honeymoon at the end of August for 10 days in a 2 bedroon villa and it was undoubtedly the best holiday we have ever had. We have been fortunate enough to do a lot of travelling over the past few years but would easily say Gili T was the most relaxed Island we've been to.

Everyone at the Trawangan resort was so friendly and instantly made us feel at ease. Nothing was too much trouble for the extremely friendly staff. Breakfast was faultless every morning and we ate at the Tranwangan resort a few lunch times and evenings, with such good food is was nice not to have to go out some evenings. The resort is ideally positioned as you can walk down to lots of different restaurants and bars should you want them but it's just far enough out to be quiet and secluded. The bar just down from the resort does have full/dark moon parties and the dark moon party was on while we were staying however it didn't disturb us at all.

Allan the manager was a really nice guy and helped us to arrange boat trips and different things we wanted to do whilst staying on Gili T. We hired bikes and rode around the Island stopping at a couple of bars on the way. The rooms and pool were very clean along with the other areas of the resort.

We will definitely return here one day and will definitely stay at the Trawangan resort. Huge thanks to all of the staff for making it a honeymoon that we will never forget :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tillbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed here as a group of 9 in the 4 bedroom villa. It was a lovely but maybe slightly overpriced. Breakfast was great, however we had room service lunch and it was not very good. Great location if you hire a bike to ride everywhere. Staff were very nice

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bindi_Oliva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#7 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,666 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#4 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.9 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#5 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Le Pirate Beach Club Hotel
Le Pirate Beach Club Hotel
#3 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#16 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.3 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#1 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trawangan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trawangan Resort

Property: The Trawangan Resort
Address: South Beach | Pemenang, West Nusa Tenggara 83355, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Trawangan Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the south beach of Gili Trawangan, THE TRAWANGAN RESORT brings a superior level of comfort and sophistication to your Gili Island experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your The Trawangan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Trawangan Hotel Gili Trawangan
The Trawangan Resort Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing