We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location for restaurants and snorkling”
Review of Balenta Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Balenta Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best location for restaurants and snorkling”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We booked another hotel, and after 2-3 hours looking for it, we gave up!
And fortunally we gave up and found this hotel!
We dont have words to describe the staff!
Very nice rooms, good breakfast , food and drinks!
We didnt have plans, and at the end we stayed for 5 days and it was hard to leave!
It is close to very good restaurants and bars, but at the same time you have peace at night!
We rent good bikes close to the hotel!
Ah! And the last day in the morning, we went to snorkling in front of the hotel... And we could see 5 or more turtles! Just swimming with us! :)))

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    39
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
8
48
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We spent 7 nights in Balenta Bungalows on Gili Meno and totally recommend this location! Having a short stay on Gili Air we returned to Balenta on Meno for another 3 nights because the owners at Balenta Bungalows - Gili Meno have been too awesome!

Even if it was hard for them to find seafood on Meno in low season, they tried 2 days to get fresh fish for us and it was amazing! Family driven place where we immediately felt welcome and after some days even kind of like being at home!

Clean Bungalows, nice beach (be careful because of the corals on the beach) and great sunsets, awesome bar and Barman (thx a lot to Fei and his family!)...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saschaheckmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

5 seconds wAlk to the beach, clean rooms, delicious breakfast, and the best staff!
This is hardly a 2 star hotel but with the 5 star treatment!
Bungalows are spacious and confy. Ask for one with the seavirw as there are 3 on the beachfront street. The boys who work on the reception/bar will go any extra mile for you.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely bungalow in a good location for snorkeling. it's 5 seconds walk to the beach where the friendly staff will make you a tasty breakfast before you go snorkeling with turtles. If you wake up early, you can stumble to the beach to see the sun rise over rinjani. Awesome stay. I didn't want to leave.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Toby N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denpasar
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Me and my friends stay here for about 3 days for Nyepi Getaway.. The room was okay.. A lil bit pricey for a Fan Room though.. Buti love the enviroment and the staff.. They are so helpful and friendly.. Especially the Bartender there.. Such a funny little guy LOL
but for you who wants to stay here, please bear in mind that this bungalows has no restaurant.. So for lunch, dinner,etc you gotta walk,man LOL

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Monaliciouss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We spent one night at Balenta Bungalow and were very impressed with the service. We had booked a room with air-conditioning after reading reviews that the fan-rooms were way too hot. The A/C unit in our room didn't work well at all, and during the day, it was like a sauna! We spoke with the staff and they immediately brought us a fan while they tried to fix the problem. Since they weren't able to repair the air conditioner, they put us into another room, which was wonderful. The farther you get from the front of the hotel, though, the weaker the wifi signal got for us.

The rooms are traditional Sasak-style huts, but these were much hotter than others we have stayed in while in the Gili Islands. Perhaps it's due to poor air flow or the material used in their construction, but without air conditioning, we don't think any number of fans could keep the temperature bearable.

It was an easy 15-minute walk north of the harbor along the main road, and thankfully, it was surprisingly quiet. We were expecting Gili Trawangan to be extremely loud, full of partiers and people trying to sell us drugs, based on what other reviewers said. For us, though, as soon as it got dark, everything quieted down.

The included breakfast is nice, and the staff was happy to accommodate our vegan requests. The highlight of our stay was being steps away from the beach for snorkeling. There is a great reef just 20 meters out with fantastic fish and sea turtles.

The staff at Balenta Bungalow treat their guests wonderfully, always asking how our snorkeling went, how we slept, and if there was anything that we needed. All in all, we were very well taken care of.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with air conditioning as they get extremely hot with no ventilation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bounding_Steps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantucket, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2014

the bed was one of the most comfortable that my husband and i had during our month long stay in indo. the price was negotiable in the off season. it was on the beach, away from the noise, and had decent breakfast. what made this place was the young man in charge of the property and his sweet wife who were so friendly and genuine! the only reason i am giving it a "very good" rating is because we would have loved to see a water refill station for guests.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eto10810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.0 mi away
Ozzy Cottages and Bungalows
Ozzy Cottages and Bungalows
#70 of 239 in Gili Trawangan
74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Flush Bungalows
Flush Bungalows
#149 of 239 in Gili Trawangan
81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Good Heart Resort
Good Heart Resort
#18 of 239 in Gili Trawangan
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dejavu Hotel
Dejavu Hotel
#108 of 157 in Gili Trawangan
34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelapa Kecil
Kelapa Kecil
#71 of 239 in Gili Trawangan
29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vamana Resort
Vamana Resort
#19 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balenta Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balenta Bungalows

Property: Balenta Bungalows
Address: West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 239 Speciality Lodging in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Balenta Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balenta Bungalows Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing