We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”
Review of Hotel Ombak Sunset

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Wairarapa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Paradise”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Ombak Sunset on Gili T is a beautiful hotel in a beautiful location.

The swim up bar is super popular and the pool itself fantastic as it had a number of areas suitable for adults and children.

Rooms were services religiously and the staff are really lovely. It is about a 15 minute bike into the village in which you pass heaps of beautiful seaside and cool beach bars.

Sad to leave and highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wordoutthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelOmbakSunset, General Manager at Hotel Ombak Sunset, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Wordoutthere,

Warmest greetings from Hotel Ombak Sunset!

Thank you very much to stayed with us and shared your review.

We are delighted to know that you had a beautiful experience during your stay. We will pass your review to our staff, they will be pleased to hear this.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back sometimes in near future for another memorable stay.

Thank you.

Yours sincerely,

Management of Hotel Ombak Sunset
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    366
    200
    102
    82
See reviews for
162
535
31
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Went to grand opening of this hotel. At a glance, this hotel is very big and modern. We stay at Sunset Bungalow. Later on, found out that the service a bit slow, especially during breakfast time. Waiter/waitresses are rarely ask guest whether they need coffee or tea. We have to look around and looking where are they. Food a bit disappointing.. Only fried rice taste good. The other is average. Anyway, they have a quiet calm beach, 15 min taking cidomo from boat stop. Swimming pool is great, Olympic size. If i visit Gili T other time, would rather stay at the other hotel.

Room Tip: Choose Island Bungalow or Sunset Bungalow near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MayaHadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelOmbakSunset, General Manager at Hotel Ombak Sunset, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear MayaHadi,

Warmest greetings from Hotel Sunset Ombak!

Thank you very much for staying with us and share your review.

We are glad to know that you were attending to our Grand Opening – Begawe Beleq event. However, with regret to know your experience regard to our culinary and service was average. I will pass your feedback to all team members for the improvements.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Ombak Sunset soon for a memorable stay.

Thank you.

With kind regards,

Management of Hotel Ombak Sunset
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel is in a great location to see the sunset from Gili T. Quiet side of the island so out of all the club and pubs noise. Only a short 10minute ride to town. Easy to get to. The hospitality of staff is amazing and so friendly. Awesome hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TravelBug1917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelOmbakSunset, General Manager at Hotel Ombak Sunset, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear TravelBug1917,

Greetings from Gili Trawangan…

Thank you for your kind review. It is really an opportunity for us to serve you during your stay and it will inspire our staff to serve our guest better in the future.
A total relax is what we aimed to our guest who stays with us here.
Hopefully, we can welcome you and your family or friends again in the near future.

With Kind Regards,

Management of Hotel Ombak Sunset
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Of course, the views are spectacular and the hotel is beautifully laid out, with a wonderful pool and bar area overlooking the beach.... but what sets this hotel apart from so many others, is the attitude of the staff.

It can be difficult to find staff so attentive and yet warm and friendly. Everyone, from the groundsmen to the management team was exceptional.

Getting back to the location, be aware that if you want to swim in the ocean, that's not so easy in this spot. You will need to rely on transport into the 'Central' area - or hire bikes. The second option gives you a lot more freedom.... Swimming and snorkelling beaches are less than 20 minutes by bicycle. Certainly recommend this hotel to anyone; families or couples.

Room Tip: I would choose to stay near the back so that there is less disturbance from any events or functions...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PerthLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This hotel is fantastic. We stayed in a garden villa (think that was what it was called) and it was a great size and had a fantastic outside bathroom and shower. This was perfect as the complex was quiet but not sure if it would have been ok if we had neighbours using there bathroom at the same time. Totally private but I guess you could hear things that you might not want to hear. Nice restaurants. We had a cudo deal and some evening meals were included. The food was superb and the service great. Again because it was so quiet they were not run off their feet so maybe spent more time with us but so attentive and friendly. Great bar and restaurant overlooking the sunset. We had a free cocktail every night so went out to watch the sunsets, amazing. The swimming pool, great pool, great size, clean and has a bar at the end of it that you can swim over to and sit on a bar stool, still in the pool. This hotel is not in central (that is what they call it) so about a 2 k walk, cycle or horse and cart ride away from the main pub and restaurant area but easy enough to get to. We had a couple of nights out in central and it was not a problem but staying in this hotel, you are away from it all and have peace and quiet which was what we wanted. The whole island can be cycled around in a hour, you can hire bikes from the hotel. They are not great bikes, warning but they do the job, might have a sore butt afterwards but get you around no problem. We visited the spa there and that was good also, been to better but nothing wrong with it at all. Would highly recommend this hotel and this island to anyone wanting something different but a bit of paradise. The only down point is that they do not seem to clean up after themselves on this island so a lot of rubbish lying around which is a shame, not in the hotel complex just in other areas.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megmagsritchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelOmbakSunset, General Manager at Hotel Ombak Sunset, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Megmagsritchie,

Greetings from Gili Trawangan…

Thank you very much for your great review. It really helped us to know how we treat our guest and it will be in our review to serve even better. Please be sure that I am ensuring you that this review will be passed to everyone here for their encouragement.
Hopefully, you will stay with us again in the near future with your family or friends.

With Kind Regards,


Management of Hotel Ombak Sunset
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Spent 2 nights there and had a very enjoyable stay. The place is wonderful and tucked away from the messy part of the island although still close enough to enjoy some night life if you feel like it. The beach and the sunset are incredible. The service is ok although it has room for improvement, like most places in Bali and Lombok anyway. Maria, Sela and Kiki were great and very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vince N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Relatively quieter area compared to its old sister, villa ombak. Great rooms, spacious, good facilities, tap water is not as salty as villa ombak. View of the dining also nice, perfect for sunset viewing. Staff also friendly and helpful, encountered minibar payment hiccup during checkout.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marzoochi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#7 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,697 reviews
0.5 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#5 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
621 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#16 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#1 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
337 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Pirate Beach Club Gili T Hotel
1.1 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#3 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ombak Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ombak Sunset

Property: Hotel Ombak Sunset
Address: Gili Trawangan, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#5 Spa Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ombak Sunset 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ombak Sunset is the sister hotel to the popular Hotel Vila Ombak and a new addition to the Island inspired hotel group, The Ombak Group. This idyllic beachfront, garden resort features 152 rooms in 6 categories each with it's own mixture of Indonesian flavors fusing traditional Balinese, Javanese and Lombok Sasak architecture and crafts with modern western facilities. It's fusion concept that makes the Island of Gili Trawangan and the Hotel Ombak Sunset such a unique and refreshing experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ombak Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ombak Sunset Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing