We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ombak Sunset

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
China
1 review
“fantastic !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The environment and the service are all so perfect ! This is the best hotel we ever lived ! really thoughtful via many details and everyday sweet surprise !

The view of sun set are soooo marvelous that we will never forget !

Thanks for all the help from Ombak Sunset Hotel, deep in heart .

Elle and Jason

Room Tip: rooms in bungalow are quite comfortable and quiet. the bath room .... is a nice surprise !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imam W, General Manager at Hotel Ombak Sunset, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Elle C,

Greetings from Gili Trawangan...

Thank you very much for your time to write a review about your recent experience with us.

It is and has been our pleasure to make sure that all of our guest stay is a memorable one.

Hopefully, we will still be able to welcome you again on your next holiday to Gili Trawangan.

Regards,

Management of Hotel Ombak Sunset
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    358
    189
    95
    81
See reviews for
156
509
29
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Front desk / reception was arrogant & rude.
Do not replenish the basic amenities such as shampoo, body shower, coffee/creamer on daily basis.
Swimming pool is filthy & despite requesting them to clean 5 times, nothing happened. In fact, 1 of their staff told us that they were under-staffed which is shocking for such an expensive hotel (possibly the most expensive on the island) to stinge on resources during peak periods for 1st class service.
Unreliable front desk - the night before our departure, we confirmed with the reception for transport to the jetty at 7:15am the next day as we had an early flight to catch. The front desk noted & made us sign a temporary receipt to confirm our horse-cart transport. However came the next morning, we were told by another staff that the transport only starts operation at 8am. The front desk was not bothered that we made arrangements with them the night before nor the possibility that we may miss our flight. We then had to go to the streets & enquire the locals to help us arrange for the horse-cart transport.
The HORiZON restaurant food was terrible. We ordered an avocado & prawn salad & guess what? The dish came with some diluted blended avocado-dip, 1 slice of cracker & 2 slices of rocket salad leaves. They forgot to serve us the prawns (which was just 2 small, dried shrimps) until we asked the waiter where we're the prawns!!!

Definitely my 1st & last visit to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank fooevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imam W, General Manager at Hotel Ombak Sunset, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear foovie,

Greetings from Gili Trawangan...

Thank you very much for your time to write a review about your recent experience.

Please do accept our apologies for the inconvenience you had during your stay here.

It is not in our standard to treated our valuable guest like that. Rest assured that our team has been inform about the matter for their improvement.

Hopefully, we would still be able to welcome you again on your next holiday in Gili Trawangan.

Regards,

Management of Hotel Ombak Sunset
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gili Trawangan hotels

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Just back from a meal at this restaurant and apart from the view there were few redeeming features. Upon arrival we were seated at a recently vacated table, which hadn't been cleaned. We then had to go to the bar to collect our own menus. After a while we called someone over to order our food and drinks, we figured it would be best to do both at the same time.
Our drinks were prepared quickly, however, they then sat on the bar for almost 20 minutes.
When the food arrived the waiter simply rearranged the cutlery from the previous sitting, and brought over an extra knife. No sign of any new napkins though. The food itself was bland, the oseng oseng rajang, fried rice with seafood, lacked any of the supposed Balinese flavours. The crackers were like pork scratchings, the prawn tasted of oil, but the fried egg was done well and the chicken skewer actually had some flavour. My girlfriend's seafood noodles, can't remember the Indonesian name, tasted of ketchup with very few seafood pieces and those actually in the dish were very small. It was missing the menu advertised fried egg but did have the oily prawn and crackers. The food is expensive by Gili T standards, but the quality is non-existent to support the inflated price tag.
The staff were really friendly, when you could get their attention, but the rest of the experience means a visit here is a waste of your time and money.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imam W, General Manager at Hotel Ombak Sunset, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Neil G,

Greetings from Gili Trawangan...

Thank you very much for your time to write a review about your recent experience in one of our outlets.

We do apology for the inconvenience you had during your visit.

Kindly be assure that it is not in our standard to serve our valuable guest like that. We have passed this matter to the concerned department for their immediate follow up and improvement so that the same things will not occurs again.

Hopefully, the next time you come to Gili Trawangan, we would be able to welcome you again.

Regards,

Management of Hotel Ombak Sunset
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Just try to double check the mini bar, inside the room. our mini bar was with too much ice and we had to keep the freezer off all day to melt the ice and then I could not cold my shampagne for the dinner.
be more careful with the tends reservation at the Breeze Restaurant,I bucked the romantic dinner two weeks before I came and in the day we couldn't have a dinner over there because other costumer was there,then when I was there I booked again for the next day and once again some mistake happens, when we went for a dinner we couldn't stay there then we have a dinner on the other tend close to the bar, anyway it was a bit embarrassing cuz my Romantic dinner falls down.
For the last, in the reception, we took too long to do the check out. It was just one person to attempt four costumer, the process is long and I think that one more person should be great to get it done perfectly.

then for the rest of the points I have no words to say, everything was perfect, all the stuff was great and all the services was fabulous.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raffa_ribeiros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imam W, General Manager at Hotel Ombak Sunset, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear raffa_ribeiros,

Greetings from Gili Trawangan...

Thank you for your time to write a review about your recent experience with us.

It has and always be our pleasure to make sure that all of our guest stay is a memorable one like yours.

Please do accept our apologies for the missed handled of your romantic dinner reservation. It is not in our standard to have the missed communication like that. We already inform our concerned department for their immediate review and improvement.

Hopefully, you would be coming back again on your next holiday.

Regards,

Management of Hotel Ombak Sunset
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in July 2014 on our honeymoon. Our room was spacious and had a fantastic bathroom/wetroom. The staff, especially the waiter named Izzi, were superb and couldn't do enough to help. There were times when we had to wait a short while for drinks but it didn't make much of a difference. We were only waiting a few minutes. The breakfast which was included was very nice and we ate in the restaurant all 3 nights with no complaints whatsoever. Our Wifi was fairly slow and incocsistent but what would you expect on such a small island. I was just happy to have any wifi at all.

We also made use of the spa and had a couple of massages which were excellent and incredibly cheap.

All in all we had a fantastic time at the hotel and would happily recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imam W, General Manager at Hotel Ombak Sunset, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Dominic S,

Greetings from Gili Trawangan...

Thank you for your time to write a positive review about your previous experience.

Indeed our property is a very suitable place for honeymooners or those who wants peaceful during their holiday.

Hopefully, we would be able to welcome you again on your anniversaries or on your next holiday.

We definitely are ready to serve you much better.

Regards,

Management of Hotel Ombak Sunset
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Overall the hotel looks good. However, for the price we paid, the service was terrible. Cleaning of coffee cups/cups is not included in housekeeping. Staff tend to say yes, without being sure or fully understand the question. We made arrangement for airport transfer prior to our arrival and they didn't have the transport ready for us when we landed. We wasted time calling and searching for the person in-charge at the airport. On the day we left, again they did not have the transport ready though we have been reminding them twice the day before and first thing in the morning before we check out. Our departure was delayed for 45mins. Restaurant food at the hotel is expensive and tasteless. It was so bad that we left the food unfinished. We didn't have a pleasant stay as we were constantly unhappy with the service. I would not stay at this hotel again and would definitely recommend against it to family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Beelin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imam W, General Manager at Hotel Ombak Sunset, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Beelin O,

Greetings from Gili Trawangan...

First of all, we would like to thank you for your time to write a review about your experience with us.

We also would like to apologies for the inconvenience you had during your stay. It is not in our standard to treat our valuable guest like yours like that. Rest assure that we already forward your review to our concerned department for their immediate improvement, so that the same things didn't happened again in the future.

Hopefully, the next time you come to Gili Trawangan, we would still be able to welcome you again and experience the true Hotel Ombak Sunset hospitality.

Regards,


Management of Hotel Ombak Sunset
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Ombak Sunset is a paradise in paradise! Very nice hotel in the quiet side of GiliT. You can still reach the village in 15 minutes with bike since the island is very small.
Staff was very friendly and smiling all the time. They arranged what we wanted.
There is a lot of room in bungalows so you have plenty of space to spread your baggages. In bungalow we especially loved that our toilet was half outside! You could hear the birds and other sounds from the jungle (no worries you're still safe inside the walls). We will definitely come back to this lovely hotel next time in GiliT!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaanakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imam W, General Manager at Hotel Ombak Sunset, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Jaanakk,

Greetings from Gili Trawangan...

Allow us to thank you for your time to write a review about your previous experience.

It is a positive feedback to our team and for sure they are really happy to hear it. This also for them to improve their hospitality skills to serve our guest more better. And our rooms are specially designed for a different experience too our guest.

We are looking forward to welcome you again on your next holiday in Gili Trawangan.

Regards,

Management of Hotel Ombak Sunset
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#8 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#4 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.8 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#1 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
#2 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#19 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.5 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#5 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ombak Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ombak Sunset

Property: Hotel Ombak Sunset
Address: Gili Trawangan, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#5 Spa Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ombak Sunset 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ombak Sunset is the sister hotel to the popular Hotel Vila Ombak and a new addition to the Island inspired hotel group, The Ombak Group. This idyllic beachfront, garden resort features 152 rooms in 6 categories each with it's own mixture of Indonesian flavors fusing traditional Balinese, Javanese and Lombok Sasak architecture and crafts with modern western facilities. It's fusion concept that makes the Island of Gili Trawangan and the Hotel Ombak Sunset such a unique and refreshing experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ombak Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ombak Sunset Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing