We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel but bad location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ombak Sunset

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good hotel but bad location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

On the one hand, we had a good time at the hotel since it"s new, modern and very clean, all the staff was friendly and it includes a very good spa with massages.

However, we were disappointed by it"s quite dirty pool and its location: it"s at the dead west coast of the island and you need to walk 40minutes to reach the main strip with the habor, restaurants and all activities. Since there are no vehicles on the island, this was quite annoying. They do not rent bikes, so the only solution is to take a horse carriage...

Moreover the hotel restaurant is not that delicious, but luckily the only other option (5 minutes walk up north) is much better.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JosefWeber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imam W, General Manager at Hotel Ombak Sunset, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear JosefWeber,

Greetings from Gili Trawangan...

Thank you very much for your time to write a review about your recent experience with us.

We are very sorry to learned that your stay was not as expected.

Our property indeed is located in the west part of the island which is more quite, more tranquil, and meant for those who seeks for relax without any disturbance from neighboring properties. Actually we do renting a bike for our guest to use, and you may ask for our staff assistance to get one if we ran out of bicycle due to the limitation.

However, we do thank you again for your review and this will be passed on the our concerned department for their immediate follow up and improvement.

Hopefully, we will still be able to welcome you again on your next holiday to Gili Trawangan.

Regards,

Management of Hotel Ombak Sunset
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    354
    185
    94
    80
See reviews for
153
504
29
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

I miss my laptop and several travel tickets when I was check out.
Lucky me, I still on Gili Trawangan when I realize that I left my laptop on hotel.
I contact the hotel staff and she arranged to deliver my laptop to me.
Although I waited a little bit long time, but I'm happy I can get my laptop back.

Several hours later, my mother said that she lost her handphone in Villa Ombak (one management with Ombak Sunset) when she and me waiting for my laptop from Ombak Sunset. Unfortunately I already left Gili and heading to Mataram. I was panic and try to contact hotel management.
Hotel management told that they found my mom handphone and want to deliver it to my hotel in Mataram. What a service !!!
And the hotel manager itself who delivered my mom handphone to Mataram. After they found the handpone, he directly delivered it to my hotel. I was amazed !

I'm really grateful I can got my things back and I will recomended this place to everyone :)

Other things, this place was good. Great room and facilities, nice staff (although there is one staff named Herman was unkindly to me but overall the staff was good).

If you go to Gili Trawangan, I think Villa Ombak or Ombak Sunset is the best choice for stay :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sugiarto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imam W, General Manager at Hotel Ombak Sunset, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Sugiarto S,

Greetings from Gili Trawangan...

Thank you very much for your time to write a positive review about your previous experience.

It is and always been our pleasure to make sure that all of our guest stay is a safest and memorable one.

This is also to inform you that our properties are safe for everyone to enjoy.

Hopefully, we would be able to welcome you again on your next holiday to Gili Trawangan, either with your family or friends.

See you again on your next holiday.

Our regards to you and to your family,

Management of Hotel Ombak Sunset & Hotel Vila Ombak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

1) breakfast was too busy, too many people and not enough food. All tables were dirty and no one asked if we wanted coffee or tea. We had to hunt down a waiter ourselves and beg for tea.
2) claims to be an upmarket resort but it really isn't
3) service is quite shocking and unbelievably inefficient
4) aircon did cool down the room a little but not enough
5) the resort is massive but doesn't seem to have enough sun beds for everybody nor enough tables at breakfast
6) really far away from town
7) not good if you're Vegetarian or vegan
8) sun umbrellas by the pool are fixed to the ground so no shade for most of the day. I am blonde so I could not stay by the pool for long
9) room is very bbasic and the bathroom looks unfinished without a proper shower.
10) Wifiis real bad. You can load a page with a bit of patience but forget about loading a vid, attachments or play online

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Simonetta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imam W, General Manager at Hotel Ombak Sunset, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Simonetta H,

Greetings from Gili Trawangan...

Thank you very much for your time to write a review about your recent experience.

It is very sad for us to learned that your stay was not as you expected.

Kindly be inform that it was not in our standard to serve our valuable guest like that.

Rest assured that our concerned department has been inform about this, and will do the improvement and follow up so that it will not happened again in the future.

We do hope that we will still be able to welcome you again on your next holiday in Gili Trawangan.

Regards,

Management of Hotel Ombak Sunset
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gili Trawangan hotels

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Fantastic! A beautiful hotel, a 10 minutes biking (you should rent a bike on Gili Trawangan!) away from the bustling village you find the tranquility of this great hotel, very good breakfast, large rooms, clean, great swimming pool and indeed, every evening a wonderful sunset!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maaike v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imam W, General Manager at Hotel Ombak Sunset, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Maaike v,

Greetings from Gili Trawangan...

Thank you very much for your time to make a review about your previous experience.

We are very happy to learned that your stay was a memorable one.

Our property is indeed a very tranquil for those who seeks peaceful, comfort, away from the hip area and a romantic one.

We hope that we will still be able to welcome you again on your next holiday with your family.

Regards,

Management of Hotel Ombak Sunset
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

This hotel really needs improving quickly as we had a terrible experience here. The staff are unhelpful and room service takes numerous phone calls before you get anywhere ( and then your request is incomplete!) Breakfast time was a complete nightmare. The buffet was never stocked properly and it turned into a mission to get an egg prepared often queuing for more than 15 mins. To toast a piece of bread took 5 attempts of sliding it though to get anywhere near brown. You were never greeted by the staff on arrival to breakfast and often no tables were available or clean. Cocktails by the pool were appalling and took far too long to be prepared. This hotel needs to look at its staff and train them properly as customer service is not obviously a priority. We never ate dinner here and always travelled to the other side of the island where the choice of restaurants is abundant and delicious. We will not be staying here again in the dark rooms ( no natural light comes in!) and be warned- if you wish to swim in the sea outside hotel you can't. The coral makes it too dangerous. The photos on the website are deceiving and look like you can just step in the sea. The sunsets are amazing but thats not surprising as the hotel are not controlling this. Very very disappointing.

Room Tip: all rooms are dark but if you insist on going then book a bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heather m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imam W, General Manager at Hotel Ombak Sunset, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear heather m,

Greetings from Gili Trawangan...

Thank you very much for your time to write a review regarding your experience.

We are very sorry for the inconveniences you had during your stay. Kindly be inform that it is not in our standard to serve our guest like that. Rest assured that our concerned department has been inform and will do the necessary for the improvement.

Again, thank you very much and wish you would still consider our property is the preferred accommodation for your holiday in Gili Trawangan.

Regards,

Management of Hotel Ombak Sunset
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Ombak sunset hotel is well located on Gili Trawangan island except the fact that it s far from the harbour. We stayed in a bungalow very confortable.

Staff attention is good but far from being exceptional.

Breakfast is a mess when you arrive around 9:00AM, all table are occupied and if not are not prepared. Food is not well presented and various items are missing.

Seats around the pool are not sufficient and frequently you won t find any space to stay there.

To summarize, taking into consideration the offer on Gili Trawangan, Ombak sunset is probably one of the best choice but is far from the other hotels in the same category in Bali.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ludovic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imam W, General Manager at Hotel Ombak Sunset, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Ludovic M,

Greetings from Gili Trawangan...

Thank you very much for your time to write a review about your recent stay.

We are truly sorry to learn that your stay was not as you expected it would be. Please do accept our sincere apology for that matter.

Kindly be inform that it is not in our standard to serve our valuable guest like that.

Rest be assure that we have passed the information to our concerned department for their immediate improvement.

We do hope to be able to welcome you again on your next holiday in Gili Trawangan.

Regards,

Management of Hotel Ombak Sunset
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The environment and the service are all so perfect ! This is the best hotel we ever lived ! really thoughtful via many details and everyday sweet surprise !

The view of sun set are soooo marvelous that we will never forget !

Thanks for all the help from Ombak Sunset Hotel, deep in heart .

Elle and Jason

Room Tip: rooms in bungalow are quite comfortable and quiet. the bath room .... is a nice surprise !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imam W, General Manager at Hotel Ombak Sunset, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Elle C,

Greetings from Gili Trawangan...

Thank you very much for your time to write a review about your recent experience with us.

It is and has been our pleasure to make sure that all of our guest stay is a memorable one.

Hopefully, we will still be able to welcome you again on your next holiday to Gili Trawangan.

Regards,

Management of Hotel Ombak Sunset
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#8 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,584 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#4 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.7 mi away
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
#2 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#1 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#18 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.5 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#5 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ombak Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ombak Sunset

Property: Hotel Ombak Sunset
Address: Gili Trawangan, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#5 Spa Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ombak Sunset 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ombak Sunset is the sister hotel to the popular Hotel Vila Ombak and a new addition to the Island inspired hotel group, The Ombak Group. This idyllic beachfront, garden resort features 152 rooms in 6 categories each with it's own mixture of Indonesian flavors fusing traditional Balinese, Javanese and Lombok Sasak architecture and crafts with modern western facilities. It's fusion concept that makes the Island of Gili Trawangan and the Hotel Ombak Sunset such a unique and refreshing experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Hotel Ombak Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ombak Sunset Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing