We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing homestay close to everything”
Review of Rumah Kundun

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gili Trawangan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rumah Kundun
Ranked #30 of 170 Gili Trawangan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The most homely and nice atmosphere, all thanks to Kade, owner of the place. Great breakfast, great location, great garden. The bungalows are basic but clean, only cold water but not really a problem. So great stay :)

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank MariaPhiPhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2012

Really great little place with the friendliest owner- Dian, who really puts the effort in to making everyone feel at home. Delicious breakfasts (the best in Indonesia) and nice, spacious rooms close to the main street but set back enough to create a peaceful atmosphere.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank annahutnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

What happens when you find a little piece of Heaven in Paradise ??? It simply means that as Dian, the owner of the " Rumah Kundun " told me over a nice cup of tea :" It must be Karma." And in that case, trust me, the Karma was Fabulous ! The Rumah Kundun is situated in the centre of the Island- not too far from the main " Avenue " where you will find the Night market, best restos, bars and of course the beach, shops and the Nightlife- but a nice walk to feel the great vibes of the locals, always smiling playing cards while the kids are riding their bikes ( which is one of the way used for transportation in the island) . Kade ( Dian's wife ) has turned this lovely Guest House into a " Mini Hindu Temple " with a slight Buddhist touch( Beautiful colors and the scent of encens ) which reminded me of my many trips in India. The room was spacious and clean and the breakfast ( banana pancake) in my case, so delicious that it alone- could be a justification to return next year !
All together- staying at the Rumah Kundun was THE best experience I had during my journey in Indonesia as the price ( around $15 US/per room ) was more than a bargain considering the outstanding beauty of Gili Trawangan. A Must for the Cool-Trendy " Who's been around......"

Room Tip: Air Con also Available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I booked this place because of the review on tripadvisor. I sent email with Kade, the owner, and she gave really fast and well respond. She even helped me book fast boat from Bali to Gili.
I used Sea Marlin fast boat for 600.000 rupiah return ticket.
Rumah kundun is easy to find, just a short walk from the dock. Just ask for Budha dive and make a turn there.
The place is small, only 4 guest rooms. The bed is basic but clean. The water power is not strong but enough for me and the bathroom is quite clean. They served really nice banana pancake in the morning. Unfortunately i didn't have the opportunity to meet with Kade or Dian myself.
You cant compare this place with other resort around Gili T, but with the same price range, Rumah Kundun is worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Mrvahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We chose this place because of all the great reviews on trip advisor and we were disapointed after arrival. The welcoming reception can not make up for the lack of attention to the room. We where informed the toilet is not properly functional. But we could not take a shower because there was absolutly no water. Not a drop so we need to brush our teeth with bottle water.
The bed linen had a bad mouldy smell. We have the impression the place lacks a bit of tender loving care and perhaps a fresh coat of paint. We feel sorry for the host or the manager, they can certanly not change this things on short notice. We hope the owner will.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Itchyfeetandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I had a very positive experience at this lovely guesthouse. On my arrival I was welcomed by Dian, while i did not have the chance to meet with Kadi as she was in Bali. He gave me useful information about the island while sipping tea in the peaceful, lush garden. The room was simple but surely adequate, equipped with a comfortable double bed, fan, airco and a bamboo shelf big enough to fit all my stuff. The bathroom was well-lit and very clean. As for breakfast, this is served in the little porch outside each room where there are chairs and a coffee table. the breakfast items can be selected out of a small menu: i found the food to be fresh and well prepared.
I really appreciated the position of the guesthouse: a short walk down the street and you're on the mainroad, however, still far enough to be spared of noise and loud music.
The only slightly annoying thing i can think of is that the water pressure of the sink was practically inexistant and i ended up using only the shower, but it was not a problem at all.

I can surely recommend this guesthouse to anybody and i'm really thankful to Dian for his hospitality and kindness and wish them both very good luck!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Raging_Hamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

The sincere smile of Dian and his faithful bike lead us a block inland from the main strip of Gili Trawangan to his family's peaceful b&b in 'The Village' . Rumah Kundun barely needs introduction, you walk into the peaceful courtyard full of lush plants and homely trinkets and you feel like you've found home. However, It is not the walls or the mortar that make this place, but the honest and sincere hospitality of Dian (unfortunately we did not meet his wife Kade or his son Kundun who were away). My partner and I stayed at Rumah Kundun for 4 nights, each morning a fruit salad and the best 'secret recpie' banana pancake you will taste in Indonesia made their way to our verandah, as well as the smooth notes of Dian's steaming coffee.The (4) concrete rooms themselves are roomy, homely, clean and a cool escape in the heat of the day. Each is slightly different to the next (bright coloured walls and wall hangings), and all share a thatched roof tiled verandah. Stay here if you are after a place away from the constant beats of the main strip of Gili T (yet still 2 mins walk away!), a host whose smile makes you feel like family, and rooms which are humble and un-selfconscious. Overall, Rumah Kundun was the highlight of the places we stayed on our month trip in Indonesa (its amazing what a difference a sincere host can make). P.s look out for 'Cheeky' a most affectionate and pregnant specimine of feline who we had the privelage of helping to name, and who decided to adopt Dian and Rumah Kundun prior to our arrival... she also enjoys adopting peoples breakfasts...you have been warned! To Dian, thankyou again, Rumah Kundun is a little gem, thankyou for sharing your home, smile and persepctives with us, x Skye and Rhys (Tasmania, Australia)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Ciel90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gili Trawangan
0.2 mi away
Gili Nyepi
Gili Nyepi
#3 of 170 in Gili Trawangan
230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gili Orchid Guesthouse
Gili Orchid Guesthouse
#57 of 170 in Gili Trawangan
35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Daily Gili
Daily Gili
#23 of 170 in Gili Trawangan
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Favela
La Favela
#8 of 256 in Gili Trawangan
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Kanaka Gili
#289 of 744 in Lombok
1 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mbah Mek Trawangan Homestay
Mbah Mek Trawangan Homestay
#13 of 170 in Gili Trawangan
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumah Kundun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumah Kundun

Address: Kundun Road | the Village, behind Budha Dive & Martas, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Trawangan
Price Range: £15 - £15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumah Kundun is a small, family-run guesthouse on Gili Trawangan, off the coast of Lombok, Indonesia.We offer clean, homely, tastefully-furnished rooms in a quiet backstreet two minutes walk away from the restaurants, bars and dive shops in the village.If you're looking for a friendly, comfortable and quiet place to call home during your stay on this "magic" island, come and talk to us! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rumah Kundun Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing