We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't honour our bookings, seemed rather arrogant. Avoid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Black Sand Homestay
Ranked #46 of 159 Gili Trawangan B&B and Inns
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Didn't honour our bookings, seemed rather arrogant. Avoid”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Black Sand homestay put me off from the moment I interacted with them.
I mailed all my hotels in Bali / Gili to ensure they were booked. Black Sand never mailed back. Three calls later, they finally said something to the effect of the booking being confirmed. Shady.

We landed up there - and they didn't honour our booking, saying that the rooms were full. We argued that the booking was done months in advance (although we didn't pay online, it was just a booking) - they refused.

What was more pissing off, was the fact that when we came in, they were actively soliciting visitors. I wonder where they expected to put them up.

At the end, we ended up staying at a dump nearby, Pondok Sederhana, which is another place you should avoid - a total craphole for the price you pay (200k per night).

So : Avoid Black Sand, avoid booking.com as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChuckOfAllTrades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    13
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
11
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Black is a nice host who has a nice homestay a little in the back of where al the partying is going on. So you are close to the beach and party action but you get a good rest at this place, it even has a nice garden to enjoy when sitting on your porch.
Affordable clean rooms that come with a nice small breakfast in the morning.
The owner made us feel like we were relatives, we even went out fishing and went to Lombok where we picked up some groceries and he took us to an ancient royal swimming pool where we had a nice refreshing swim.
Whenever i would go back to Trawangan this will be my place. Thanks for the good times Black, we will never forget!!
Didier & An
Belgium

Room Tip: Whe had the newer rooms with AC but all the rooms looked nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradt1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We've stayed at black sand homestay for one week
and had a really great time there.
Every room (tidy and clean) has a terrasse with a view to the pretty and colourful garden.
The morning starts with a "special and excellent" breakfast - and sometimes even with a good morning song by "black" the owner of the place.
The homestay is located in a quiet area, only a 10min walk to the beach!!
If you stay at Black Sand you can be sure that from the first day on you are treated like a "member of the black sand family"!!
Black and his team are the friendliest, open-hearted and most caring people you can imagine.thanks a lot for making our stay on gili t that special and unforgettable!!!
Judith and Carina

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caribeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Lovely room at a family's homestay. Nice and clean with a/c and small breakie served on the veranda. The family who owns it is very friendly and relaxed. It's only 7 min away from the nearest beach and the mainroad with lots of restaurants and bars. About 15 min from the peer.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louisepiilgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We booked through Booking.com and unfortunately when we arrived, they didn't have vacancy for the type of room we booked. We paid extra for a room with AC and there was only a room with a fan available.
I would highly recommend contacting the hotel directly to make sure your booking is confirmed and to arrange a pick up from the harbour. The map on Booking.com was way off, so we ended up walking around for a long time in the heat asking locals for help. No one had heard of the hotel (including the horse carriages), so we ended up going back to the harbour and having the boat company call them.
We found that a number of hotels were not even close to where the booking websites have them listed on their maps.

The Manager who met us at the Harbour was extremely nice and helped us find another room for the same price. Too bad the place he found us was a dump....

I would highly recommend that you find one nights accommodation and get a feel for where you want to be on the island.
We found a much better place to stay with better amenities for $5USD more than we paid to stay here. Prices seem to be cheaper in person because you can haggle.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JeffPatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We stayed here with our 2 children in August and a wonderful time. The rooms are spacious and even with an extra mattress for the children there was still plenty of room. The fresh water showers were great and the Ac worked well. However the real stars of the show are Black and his wonderful team jaka, jaki and melan who are the friendliest and most caring people you could meet. We were treated like part of the family and our children made lots of friends with the local children. Its a taste of how gili trawangan used to be before the over pampered and over privileged tourist hordes arrived. Thank you Blacksand we can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clairelhamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

I have just spent a week at Black Sand Homestay, the latest in many stays here. Living in Bali, I often take a short break over on Gili Trawangan to get away from the hustle and bustle of here.

My previous review stated that the rooms had salt water showers, but i am delighted to advise that the showers are now all fresh water, which is great after a day at the beach!

The owner and staff are always very welcoming, and this trip did not disappoint. My room was clean and very comfortable (I took an air con room) and great for sleeping in due to it being so quiet.

Breakfast cooked by the lovely Jaka was excellent, and i was also invited to join the staff from time to time for meals, which was very kind of them.

Another great stay at Black Sand Homestay and it definitely wont be my last.

Room Tip: Rooms 4 and 5 have air conditioning and are cooler than 1 and 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaM1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gili Trawangan
0.4 mi away
MAHAMAYA Gili Meno
MAHAMAYA Gili Meno
#1 of 11 in Gili Meno
678 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#3 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
536 reviews
0.6 mi away
Little Woodstock Homestay
Little Woodstock Homestay
#30 of 242 in Gili Trawangan
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Beach House Resort
The Beach House Resort
#15 of 159 in Gili Trawangan
440 reviews
0.7 mi away
Scallywags Resort
Scallywags Resort
#3 of 159 in Gili Trawangan
737 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#7 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Sand Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Sand Homestay

Property: Black Sand Homestay
Address: Gili Trawangan, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Black Sand Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Sand Homestay Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing