We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hope to visit again soon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gili Joglo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gili Joglo
Karachi
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hope to visit again soon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

It was our second trip to Bali and first one to Gili, and I must say that it was a phenomenal decision to visit Gili Islands and a fantastic decision to get a villa instead of staying at a hotel. In that respect, I doubt if any accommodation could beat Villa Joglo in terms of its location which is central and yet quiet, since the villa is located in a quieter lane parallel to the main (noisy and crowded) beach road, a mere two minute walk from the main beach and near all the shops and restaurants. The owners, Alina and Didier are really friendly and very hospitable, and their staff (Yudi and the boys) who look after the property really looked after us and were available 24/7 with a smile. The villa itself is gorgeous!! it's spacious, elegant, clean and comfortable and a great place to hang out after a day out at the beach. We loved Joglo's version of "room service" as most nights we dined in and Yudi and the boys were always ready and willing to bike out to a favorite restaurant (great Thai and Italian) and bring take-away for us. We stayed 10 nights at the Joglo and look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shomaila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    8
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

When we first decided to stay at the Gili Joglo the positive reviews were a bit of an influence - overly, as were the pictures which make everything look much better than reality, the positives are that it is just off the quiet end of the the main bit of Trawangan which means it's a bit of a walk to all the main action but that's good not bad, the staff are really friendly and helpful and always ready to assist. For what you pay its not the greatest value, breakfasts although adequate were a bit miserly, the family area really needs some air-conditioning as it was oppressively hot and the fans didn't help a hell of a lot, I might be picky but there's a lot on offering in Trawangan in a very competitive, the other side of the island is much quieter and there's quite a bit to chose from, with a bike everything is accessible.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alina c, Owner at Gili Joglo, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Dear Anthony T,

First of all thank you for reviewing Gili Joglo in Trip Advisor, We are grateful for your feed back even though we are not used to "average" rating review from our guests .
So as you would guess your review has been taken quite seriously by my partner and myself.
Specifically when it comes to cleanliness, sleep quality, rooms, and service of course. As for the location there is nothing we can do about (and we do advertise our location exactly the way it is).

Concerning the family area (the living room i guess), like many other villa in Gili Trawangan and Indonesia it is an open living space design, and unlike the Bedrooms, it means no Air conditioning possible in that area. This is why there are 2 big ceiling fans (in working order)... we are here in a Tropical country and it can be pretty hot, but we believe that confiding our guests in an enclosed space in order to put AC is not the right image for a tropical holiday (and a ecological aberration).

You Also mentioned that breakfast was "a bit miserly" - there again important issue for us as the breakfast is usually considered quite generous and subject to compliment... further more it is never a problem if our guests ask for some extra (free of charge) or have any special request.. this is a matter that we will be following up with our supervisor and staff members.
Would you kindly let me know when was your stay with at Gili Joglo (check in date) and in which villa you were staying in (Villa "the Joglo" or Villa "the Gladaks") as we would like to inquiry what went wrong during your stay, and work on the areas which need improvement.

looking forward hearing back from you.

Kind regards
Didier (co-owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

I almost couldn't believe how charming our place was the minute we walked in. We had a 2 bedroom bungalow and the staff welcomed us in by saying "Welcome to your home" which was really an understatement. It's stunningly beautiful, extremely clean, the service was fantastic and they would serve us an outstanding breakfast every morning. The place really speaks to your heart. It was absolutely magnificent and we can't wait to go back. Joglo is a 2 minute walk to the beach and all the restaurants and diving centers.The staff are super helpful and the smiles they put on our face was priceless. The minute you meet Nudi you would agree.. Very reasonably priced and an amazing experience! Do try to book in advance as it usually tends to get fully booked.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Inad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

I cant say enoough about Joglo, the villa was spacious and clean, and luxurious with just the right amount of rustic. We felt so welcome from the minute we arrived until we left. We initially booked a one night stay but wanted to extend for more nights but there wasnt availability (thats how much we loved it!) and the owner Alina was calling up her contacts and recommeding places for us to stay which was very helpful. Yudi was a joy to see everyday and was super helpful, all the other staff are wonderful as well.

This has been one of our most memorable stays and I recommend Joglo to everyone, we certainly can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SaraElhawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed in the back villa with two rooms, and it is by far one of the nicest most special places I have seen anywhere. one of the bedrooms had a roofless toilet which was awseome and so refreshing! the staff were great and helpful, Nudy in specific was awseome. The entire villa was clean and air conditioned. Breakfast was brought to our kitchen table every morning and words can not describe how simple and great it was. we extended our stay in Gili T but Joglo was overbooked for us to stay there, that broke our heart a little but the staff helped us find another hotel nearby which was nothing compared to Joglo. I dont think there is anything like it on the entire island. would definatly come back and I highly highly recommend this to anyone visiting Gili T. Will definatly stay there the next time I visit.

Room Tip: Choose the villa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Radwashehab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

This was a wonderful place to stay for a few days – perfect for a group of friends on holiday. The staff were very friendly and attentive, whilst just leaving us to our own devices. Breakfast was good. The whole place was very well air-conditioned. Loads of books and boardgames too. Clean sheets everyday and the place was spotless. This place was a winner, and my favourite point: absolutely fantastic value. A bargain.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zerovolume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

I am a bit reluctant to advise others to stay at the Gili Joglo because I don't want it to become too popular and have no room left for us! We absoulutely adored everything about the Gili Joglo. Alina & Didier made us feel so welcome & organised Horse riding on the beach for us at the very last minute one afternoon. The boys Yudi and co won our hearts and became our friends, always going above and beyond for us. The Gladaks itself was clean and tidy with massive bathrooms and DVD players in each room that play CD's also. The beds are firm but comfortable and the aircon is perfect. The oustide bathroom is divine (my friend had the outside one) but the inside one is equally as nice. We loved brakfast with the banana smoothies, omelettes and jam on toast our favourites. The WIFI never let us down and they replace water everyday for you. I did not hear the Muslim Prayer early in the morning once.. (although we did have alot of late nights which could have contributed to our deafness so early in the morning!) We did hear roosters on occasion but that's everywhere on the island. The little shop close by is awesome with everyone super friendly there to pick up supplies. Our favourite part of the day was trekking up to the night markets of an afternoon grabbing a bottle of Chilean Wine and sitting on our bean bag chairs on the veranda of the Gladaks, listening to music and chatting as the sun went down. All in all Joglo is luxurious, practical and just like home. I Wouldn't hesitate to reccommend the Gladaks to anyone whether it's families, couples, friends or Solo travellers. And don't forget to sign the Guest Book ! Solo Vivimos Una Vez! Casey - Australia.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Casey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Bella
Villa Bella
#48 of 232 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ozzy Cottages and Bungalows
Ozzy Cottages and Bungalows
#75 of 232 in Gili Trawangan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelapa Kecil
Kelapa Kecil
#68 of 232 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Samba Villas
Samba Villas
#27 of 232 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gili Breeze Tropical Bungalows
Gili Breeze Tropical Bungalows
#37 of 232 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ricel Homestay
Ricel Homestay
#34 of 147 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gili Joglo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gili Joglo

Property: Gili Joglo
Address: Jalan Ikan Hiu | East Beach, West Nusa Tenggara 80862, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 232 Speciality Lodging in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 100 meters from Gili Trawangan’s top snorkeling/swimming beach and a short walk along the shoreline to the best bars and restaurants, you will find Gili Joglo, tropical villas. Villa 'The Joglo' and villa'The Gladaks' are antique teak wooden houses from Java with a brilliant character; restored and modernized to today’s luxury and comfort.The two villas are a unique mix of heritage and modern convenience. Beautiful tropical gardens, fresh water showers under the stars and huge comfortable lounging areas. Each villa comes with large living spaces, 2 master bedrooms, a fully eguipped kitchen and private verandas overlooking the tropical gardens. The property offers free Wi-Fi, book and DVD library, private boat charters and a variety of recreational choices. Guests can go diving, snorkeling, horseback riding, golfing or just relax and have an in house body massage.Gili Joglo staff will attend to your needs with friendly, efficient and graceful service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Gili Joglo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gili Joglo Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing