We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location directly at a more relaxed beachside, nice staff, great snorkeling place in front”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pondok Windy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pondok Windy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location directly at a more relaxed beachside, nice staff, great snorkeling place in front”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

In the beginning of our stay on Gili T we stayed more south of the island. Because it is super busy there we decided to move to the north.

The Pondok Windy Bungalows are very nice, they have a small and very nice pool (more like a hot spring there ;) )..it is directly in front of a more relaxed beachside, you can rent snorkeling equipment and just 100m to swim and you find nice coralls and even turtles :) The atmosphere there was very nice and relaxing. Also the staff was very friendly and nice.

The bathroom is outside, so you have to deal with some mosquitos..

To the busy area you can walk around 15minutes..or you rent a bike and you´ll be there in less than 10minutes. Another good thing is, it is not that close to the Mosque, means, you wont be waken up by prayers.

We would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schnicktrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    8
    7
    9
    2
See reviews for
1
25
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

Great restaurant; great place to snorkel; not too far from main area but nice and quiet.

The grilled chicken was great. I wasn't a fan of the barracuda though. Solid service; and great location right on the beach. You have two ride your bicycle about 15 minutes from the main beach area to get here and walk it through sand for a short bit; but it's well worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omarmasry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Our first night we stayed in a place called Lizzard Bungalow. It was cheap and towards the northend of the island. We ventured out more north to see if we could find something for a little more money but with an AC. We came across Pondok Windy, right next to Coral Beach Pizza. Their rooms during high season is 450,000-550,0000 rupiahs, about 45-55 USD. They have a swimming pool, wifi, AC, fresh water shower, and includes breakfast. The staff were all so friendly and the vibe around that bend was the best, especially for sunsets. They have wooden chairs and huts set up outside for you to enjoy your breakfast and sunsets. Every morning i Facetimed my family while breakfast and they could see the beach right there with me. The cocktails are slightly cheaper than most of the other places on the island. We loved our stay there and wanted to stay longer. Unfortunately, they double booked our room and asked us to leave a day early. It kind of sucked because we were not expecting it so when we were told at 5pm we had no plans for the next day and we didnt want to waste our evening looking for a new place to stay or booking boats to another island. Luckily, they were helpful. Eddie, one of the staff helped us find a boat to Lombok and called one of his friends to drive us to Kuta, Lombok. We actually got to leave whenever we wanted and got to Kuta pretty fast. It cost us 400,000, so 200,000 each person. Twice, during our stay at Pondok Windy the water stopped running. Once it was around midnight so I had to wash my face and brush my teeth with bottled water. Another time i was ib the middle of a shower and the water stopped so again i used bottled water. Luckily, I had a lot of water in my room. We assumed since the island runs off of generators and has limited fresh water that maybe a lot of people had used the water then. If we waited the water might have come back on but we wanted to be out in the sun so we just went with a bottled water shower. Even still, I loved staying at Pondok Windy. The location is great for sunsets, if you dont mind walking 15 minutes you can get to the louder more party side in no time. The staff were all so friendly. Even the convenience store on that end is slightly cheaper than the harbour.

Pros: Quiet, nice sunset view, cheaper than near the harbour, friendly staff, breakfast view is amazing and peaceful

Cons: double booked, water didnt run

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sstellar87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanur, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

Could not be more happy with pondok windy and I cannot believe we are the first to write a review.

My partner and I arrived on Gili Trarwangan without having booked anywhere to stay first. When we got off the fast boat in the harbor we were instantly bombarded by people convincing us to stay in their hotels and ended up making a poor choice for a first night. After being awoken several times in the morning by the morning prayers services (these can be heard very loudly from anywhere near the front of the island) we decided to spend the morning looking for accommodation elsewhere.

We stumbled upon Pondok Windy when we ate dinner at their beachfront restaraunt and enquired about available bungalows. Eddie, one of the servers and bartenders, was immensely helpful and booked us in for three nights in bungalow #1, looking directly across the pool at the ocean. The Bungalow was simple and cozy, with AMAZING aircon, and an outdoor bathroom with a freshwater shower. Located on the quiet side of the island we were able to truly relax without the bustle of horse carts and young tourists constantly passing by.

Also we induged in a magic mushroom milkshake, compliments of Eddie, and spent one interesting, and laugh filled night on the quiet beaches located out front.

Upon leaving our horse cart drive accidentally left one of our bags in front of the hotel and when we returned to get it the staff stored it safe and sound behind the front desk for us. Could not be more happy with our experience here

Room Tip: Bungalows out front have great A/C, and look out at the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenjensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.1 mi away
Danima Resort & Restaurant
Danima Resort & Restaurant
#7 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.3 mi away
Karma Kayak
Karma Kayak
#22 of 232 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gili Divers Hotel
Gili Divers Hotel
#67 of 147 in Gili Trawangan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gili Eco Villas
Gili Eco Villas
#6 of 232 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.2 mi away
H Rooms @ Horizontal
H Rooms @ Horizontal
#177 of 232 in Gili Trawangan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Grasia Resort & Spa
Villa Grasia Resort & Spa
#22 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pondok Windy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Windy

Property: Pondok Windy
Address: Gili Trawangan, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 232 Speciality Lodging in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pondok Windy 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pondok Windy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pondok Windy Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing