We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach”
Review of Pondok Windy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pondok Windy
Tehran
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great beach”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

As the result of walking around the whole island to find a place to stay, we came to this conclusion that GIli T's best beach is right here! tranquil water with beautiful calm sandy beach far form noisy market areas (though there are tons of dead corals on the beach but this spot is much better than other ones). we stayed in one the bungalows located at the back, it's equipped with a nice bed and Air conditioning splits. the bathroom and toilets are outdoor and you'll face at least 2 roaches per day/ night. no amenities are in the room except for two towels and one toilet roll, the breakfast can be served on the beach and they also have a very nice diving/ snorkeling school.

Room Tip: Do not forget your earplugs... you'll find them one of your most valuable belongings during your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amiralij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    8
    7
    9
    2
See reviews for
1
26
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

You still have a bit of a precarious walk at night as the road isn't finished but these bungalows are good value. Cold showers in an oddly open bathroom. Lovely stilted place for breakfast in the morning or beer in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redpaice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Pondok Windy is a great choice if you prefer to get some chill time when you want to get away from the 'busy' side of the island. The staff here were relaxed but always so helpful with any requests, they even sleep out in the reception area should anyone need them!

Breakfast is served in huts out the front RIGHT on the water with epic views, breakfast is a decent serve definitely try the banana pancakes! Be sure to thank the women slaving in the kitchen to make your breakfast as it's easy to forget they are even there as they are tucked away!

Pondok windy offers free training for a scuba dive in the pool to see if you like it and they have a bar with basics so you can enjoy watching the sun go down.

The rooms are basic but all that you need, buy mozzy spray there not from home as the sprays are made stronger for tropical weather! Most bathrooms on the island have open roof style which allows mozzy to come in so keep your bathroom door shut. Their is a safe in the room to protect your passport and such ..

The only downfall would have been that the bikes Pondok rented were in pretty bad shape, I would recommend renting them from next door so you can ride to town with ease not with a flat tyre and gyrating seat!

We are a gay couple and weren't completely sure about how that would go down with local lombok people as they are muslim but at this location people were fine with it. We would definitely stay here again though next time will just rock up rather than pre-book to save more dosh!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I have been to Pondok on 2 occasions now and I am about to go on my 3rd.

I go to the Gilis mainly for the fantastic diving but also for the friendly locals, brilliant food and relaxed atmosphere.

The Dive Centre is brilliant. The guys can speak brilliant English, some French and also some Spanish. The courses throughout the island are all priced the same (to keep competition fair). Pondok also run Snorkelling tours and these are also great.

I would recommend this place to anyone.

If you are looking for 5 star accommodation then obviously this isn't for you, but if you are looking for a clean, neat, friendly place to stay on a budget then look no further.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2013

...rustic looking on arrival, Pondok Windy we soon learn is the only locally owned hotel/lodge with PADI dive centre on Gili T. The hospitable owner will happily arrange your diving or snorkelling trips and courses as will he a boat to take you to the other Gili islands or over to Lombok. In fact, I would recommend asking for the speedboat back to lombok on your departure ; it's affordable, very fast and very fun! Our bungalow was cleaned each day; after a long day in the sun and bustling of the horses and carts in town, we were always charmed to find fresh petals scattered on our bed alongside clean towels. The private shower room always had running water. The team at Pondok serve great coffee and fruit salads for brekkie (inclusive and available until past 11am which for us hungover non divers was a welcome treat!). These guys look after you and arrange everything from bike hire to lend of adapters and phone chargers. They also like a sing song with the guitar on the beach over sunset..I only wish Id known more songs to contribute to their catalogue of Marley etc! A truly special place away from the crowds and right on the beach. Far enough for a romantic and peaceful time but close enough go join in the crazy party time at Blue Marlin, the Irish Bar or Sama Sama. Enjoy! Lisa & Andy

Room Tip: Room 1 is bungalow at front with its own bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

In the beginning of our stay on Gili T we stayed more south of the island. Because it is super busy there we decided to move to the north.

The Pondok Windy Bungalows are very nice, they have a small and very nice pool (more like a hot spring there ;) )..it is directly in front of a more relaxed beachside, you can rent snorkeling equipment and just 100m to swim and you find nice coralls and even turtles :) The atmosphere there was very nice and relaxing. Also the staff was very friendly and nice.

The bathroom is outside, so you have to deal with some mosquitos..

To the busy area you can walk around 15minutes..or you rent a bike and you´ll be there in less than 10minutes. Another good thing is, it is not that close to the Mosque, means, you wont be waken up by prayers.

We would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schnicktrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Great restaurant; great place to snorkel; not too far from main area but nice and quiet.

The grilled chicken was great. I wasn't a fan of the barracuda though. Solid service; and great location right on the beach. You have two ride your bicycle about 15 minutes from the main beach area to get here and walk it through sand for a short bit; but it's well worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omarmasry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.1 mi away
Danima Resort & Restaurant
Danima Resort & Restaurant
#9 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alam Gili
Alam Gili
#10 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gili Divers Hotel
Gili Divers Hotel
#66 of 159 in Gili Trawangan
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Coral Beach 2 Bungalow
Coral Beach 2 Bungalow
#115 of 159 in Gili Trawangan
44 reviews
0.3 mi away
Windy Bungalows
Windy Bungalows
#120 of 159 in Gili Trawangan
19 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ozzy Cottages and Bungalows
Ozzy Cottages and Bungalows
#77 of 242 in Gili Trawangan
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pondok Windy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Windy

Property: Pondok Windy
Address: Gili Trawangan, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 242 Speciality Lodging in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pondok Windy 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pondok Windy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pondok Windy Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing